NOD32 2.12.2 Update-Can't connect to a Website

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Hochie, Sep 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hochie

    Hochie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI
    I have installed the NOD32 2.12.2 update and seems to be working well except I can't connect to one website I was able to connect to before....
    www.myway.com any suggestions as to what I might do or how do I enable this website...? Could not find a place to add it to allow it to open...any help will be greatly appreciated...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2004
  2. snapdragin

    snapdragin Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    8,415
    Location:
    Southern Ont., Canada
    Hi Hochie,

    Welcome to Wilders.

    Can you read through this sticky thread and see if anything mentioned there might be helpful, specifically regarding the Higher Compatibility mode/Higher Efficiency mode in IMON HTTP settings and if changing those settings have helped at all:

    Websites not opening correctly in higher efficiency mode

    You can also add a reply to the above thread if after reading through it you are still not able to resolve the problem.

    Regards,

    snap
     
  3. Hochie

    Hochie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI
    If I disable HTTP checking the site works fine.....? How can I tell what port it might be using so that I can add it....?
     
  4. jayt

    jayt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    PA - USA
    I have just downloaded the 2.12.2 update on my computer. I have no problem connecting to www.myway.com. In fact I have it set as one of my email addresses. Strangely, I cannot open the page using the address in your post, but I have no problem opening in from my links page or by typing it in the address bar.
    My IMON HTTP is set (by default) to higher compatibility. But even in higher efficiency I have no problem accessing the page.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2004
  5. Hochie

    Hochie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI
    Well I've tried everything here that I can think of and still no go....cleaned out all the cache, temp. files etc. rebooted and still can't get myway.com...only if I disable HTTP in IMON does this site work....thanks for all your help....
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please send an email to support@nod32.com and place a link to this thread. If you do not hear from Eset within 3 days (allows for weekends), please advise us here...

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  7. Nirvy

    Nirvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    Yup same problem here.

    For 5 days i have been trying to figure out why i am suddenly getting this problem with so many sites. This morning i removed NOD and magically i can now access all of them. I re-installed, and once again half my bookmarks stop working.

    I mailed the support email address 5 days back to see if NOD might be the cause, but like my other email request, i have had no reply.

    Im off back to using Kapersky for the time being. Shame :| NOD is really excellelent expect the odd stupid bug here and there.
     
  8. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Who did you email? I see, like me, you are in the UK. I emailed support in the UK - provided by Aspect Systems - a question late on a Friday night and received a reply, that correctly identified the source of my problem, on the following Sunday. I was most impressed. I used the form from here:
    http://www.nod32uk.com/support/support.htm
     
  9. Nirvy

    Nirvy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Location:
    Leeds, England
    Not sure, i didnt know there was a nod32uk.com site. I submitted something from the nod32.com site, which is the one i bought nod from.

    I'll try the uk site then see if they reply.

    Ta
     
  10. Howard

    Howard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    313
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Ah, I see. I bought NOD32 from Aspect Systems via the UK site. You might not have much luck with them, given you purchased NOD32 elsewhere
     
  11. Hochie

    Hochie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    24
    Location:
    Sheboygan, WI
    Update, for some strange reason all of a sudden myway.com decided to start working :D ....didn't do anything else other than what I stated above...go figure...we'll see how long I'll be lucky....will let you all know if anything changes here....
     
  12. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I know this has been discussed, but it is really annoying that nod blocks quite a few web sites and pages from opening. With the other problems I have had with nod that I have not discussed I am loosing what respect I had for this program. I deleted nod again and I have access to all of the web sites that were block by nod :mad:
     
  13. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    I agree bigc, sometimes I love NOD, sometimes I think Eset views it's customers as one large beta group. It would be nice if they would not release such buggy software.
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    For those having a problem with a website, there is a specific thread that has been started here

    For Eset support, please use one of the following email addresses, these are in order of preference:

    support@nod32.com

    support@eset.com

    support@nod32.sk

    support@eset.sk

    These email addresses are checked by Eset in Slovakia.

    If you do not hear from Eset within 3 days please let us know.

    24 hour x 7 days per week support is coming, staff are being trained, it will happen in time…

    Cheers :D
     
  15. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    To bigc and flyrfan111, well stated, I couldn't have said it better myself.
    Cheers :)
     
  16. dvk01

    dvk01 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Posts:
    3,131
    Location:
    Loughton, Essex. UK
    I am also getting very annoyed with NOD, since the update to 2.12.2 it won't allow me to go to EBAY.DE well it gets to the main page but all internal pages are blocked, which is more than annoying when you are searching for or bidding on something

    Turn off HTTP checking and it all works

    I really cannot understand why other ebay sites work with NOD except germany.

    It can't be language because the Austrian site works

    My main comp with KAV works well so what on earth have NOD done with HTTP checking to block so many sites

    I really can't see why an antivirus should block access to pages on a site and that site then give either a 400 bad request error message or 404 page not found. I can understand it if NOD was a firewall & incorrect settings block, so I'm assuming that when HTTP check settings in NOD are turned on then it is using NOD as a proxy & that acting as a proxy blocks the pages
     
  17. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    You may want to re-download and install NOD32 since the 2.12.3 (at least for English and German) components are there. I tested all sites listed in "Higher efficiency" mode and they work. I did not uninstall NOD32 before I installed the newer components.

     
  18. forgetit

    forgetit Guest

    FWIW - I am probably a little behind the action here - but I experience problems with Ebay.au - getting 400 Bad Request.
    All the latest Nod components - New clean, fully updated XP pro SP1(not happy about SP2 yet). Opera 7.54u
    Imon running in higher compatability mode. Turn off HTTP monitoring and no problems.
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,737
    Location:
    Texas
    Just tried that url in higher efficiency using Firefox. Works here.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. forgetit

    forgetit Guest

    Perhaps I need to elaborate - I can bring up the website, "my ebay" and a number of different pages - however clicking links within pages eg "next" for next page, or heading links to change categories or various other links can (not will) evoke the "400 Bad request" - disabling HTTP checking resolves the issue without reloading cache, page or any other tinkering.
    Experienced this previously on a much less pristine install and just put it down to a much upgraded/degraded OS and used the disable workaround and left it at that.
    Interesting - took time out to try clearing out all Opera cache and cookies and restarting program. Re-enabled Imon and no further problems.
    Looks like a combination of Imon and cached pages may be the issue here.
    Will post again if I find out any more.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.