NOD and ZA causing startup problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Eliot, Feb 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    I had this pc running without a hitch since the format. I changed nothing except adding ZA free firewall and now I have a startup with NOD and svchost using up nearly all the cpu cycles for about 1.5 - 2 minutes. Is there a workaround for this? o_O
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  3. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    Thanks BS, er..Blackspear sounds better. :D :D I'll check that out after work tommorrow. Its off to bed for today. Your help and time is appreciated buddy. *puppy*
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
  5. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    445
    I was facing same problem.

    I removed ZAP and using Comodo and enjoying the actual speed of my notebook
     
  6. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    I did that a when I rebooted to add TCP/IP, it was already there and I could not repair IMON nor start it. I used system restore to revert back to before I had started this procedure and now its all fixed on its own. Not sure if my connection being wireless had anything to do with that, but I figured atleast I would post back and report my results. All is well that ends well. Thanks again Blackspear. ;)
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    With such an issue I would normally have suggested a fresh install of NOD32 to resolve IMON not repairing itself.

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    I just took ankupan's advice and swapped ZA for Comodo and all is well. I just needed outbound protection, not a fan of any firewall in particular. I may fresh install NOD32 if any hiccups occur after this, lol.
     
  9. ankupan

    ankupan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    445
    thanks

     
  10. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    925
    Location:
    Computer Chair
    No, thank you, :D :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.