McAfee Firewall

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by awsomaha, Aug 19, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    McAfee Firewall... is it good?

    Hello Everyone!

    I never knew this, but my ISP (Comcast) has an offer going on and being that I am a subscriber, McAfee Firewall is free as long as I subscribe to Comcast. I've used McAfee before, liked it, but wanted to ask you all at Wilders if its a good product, and worth it to have or not really...

    And lastly, I am on a LAN with 5 other PCs in the house. We are all wireless except the main PC which is hard wired...

    Just wondering 1, is it a good or great product? And 2, does anyone know of any conflicts with it and a Linksys router... I use that as a hardware firewall.

    Thanks everyone, I hope everyone can give me their feedback :)
     
  2. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,917
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Re: McAfee Firewall... is it good?

    I have used McAfee with a linksys router and there are no conficts. Mcafee is a very good antivirus and firewall for free it is a great procuct. You can't go wrong with it especially for free.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2005
  3. Fedorov999

    Fedorov999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Posts:
    182
    Re: McAfee Firewall... is it good?

    I tried Mcafee firewall last night - it stayed on my machine for around 15 minutes - no immediate stability issues or anything and the interface is pretty, but it's got 4 or 5 processes running and that damn Security Center is just annoying, you double click the tray icon to quickly try and access the firewall settings but you HAVE to go through the security center front-end first which lists all their other products that you haven't even got installed.... bit too gimicky for me I'm afraid.

    I hear the firewall is pretty good, just not my bloated cup of tea I'm afraid :)

    Fedorov.
     
  4. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
  5. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Re: McAfee Firewall... is it good?

    Hey everyone, sorry I could not of replied sooner. This sounds really great about McAfee firewall.... and yes, it is the Plus version. :)
     
  6. yeuxbleus

    yeuxbleus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    90
    The Dell I recently bought came with both McAfee AV and Firewall installed for a 90-day trial. When they expired, I uninstalled them not because of the lack of quality (I thought both were very good), but because I didn't like the security center and the fact that you need ActiveX enabled. These reasons speak to personal preference and not to quality of the product. I will not state which products I chose beacuse in the original post the question is specifically about McAfee.
     
  7. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    Re: McAfee Firewall... is it good?

    I'm also a Comcast customer. I took advantage of their free offer of McAfee products, VS 10 and Personal Firewall Plus 7.

    When I first started using the firewall, I was a little worried about some things. It lets some apps, Internet Explorer, Win32 Services, Services And Controler, and all the McAfee apps, have full access. I tried to set those to outbound access only, but after restart, they were back to full access. Also, my AdSubtract Pro will not load without giving it full access.

    I have asked about this in the McAfee forum and also with Mcafee's Internet Chat tech support. I was told not to worry, that my computer is secure. I have tested PFP 7 at several tests sites, and all ports are stealth. All seems secure.

    PFP 7 does run lite on my old machine, 700Mh, 512 RAM. Give it a try, I think you'll like it.
     
  8. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Graystoke, that sounds good. I am using it now, and everything is running fine. The one thing I do recognize is that the CPU Usage in "Windows Task Manager" is quite high... 100% almost all the time. But I have enough RAM to not worry about that, 512MB I believe it is.

    Just curious everyone, is there any known problems in Version 7? I'd like to know if Version 6 or Version 7 of McAfee Personal Firewall Plus would be better to use.

    Thanks,

    Brian
     
  9. Tom772

    Tom772 Guest

    There has only been problems when McAfee Privacy conponent is installed as well, so if you have just the firewall and antivirus you shouldnt have any problems > T,
     
  10. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Hey T,

    Ok, thanks. I will feel safe then using version 7 :)
     
  11. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    I forgot to add this question in my last post, sorry.

    Does anyone know if Version 7 of McAfee Personal Firewall Plus is certified by ISCA Labs?
     
  12. tom772

    tom772 Guest

    Only other one apart from Norton, regards T
     
  13. Brian2005

    Brian2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Posts:
    65
    Location:
    USA
    Oh wow ok cool! Because I remember visiting Mcafee.com in the past when version 6 was out and it had that logo that said it was certified but now when I visited, if I am seeing right, it shows only one logo from ISCA Labs and I think it says "antivirus"...
     
  14. RAV

    RAV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    70
    I am also a Comcast customer and decided to give the McAfee programs a try on two of my home computers. The AV and firewall and fine, but the privacy service is just plain BAD! I need this service as parental controls and even on the older teenager setting it would block half of the web pages we tried to load for inappropriate content. In addition I didn't like the Security Center which seemed more like a way to get you to purchase or install Mcafee products (although they were free with Comcast).

    It's back to ZASS 6 which is much better even if I do need to fork out a few bucks every year.
     
  15. dread

    dread Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    195
    I don't like the privacy service either. I don't bother installing that anymore lol. Just the av firewall and spamkiller.
     
  16. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,565
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    My wife uses mcafee internet security suite 2005 and swears by the firewall and antivirus. I don't think she installed the privacy service. She has complained about the spamkiller being a pain to use.

    I'd consider running the antivirus part by itself, but I just don't like or want to deal with the security center.
     
  17. Graystoke

    Graystoke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,506
    Location:
    The San Joaquin Valley, California
    I opened the Security Center a few times when I first installed McAfee. Now I just right click on the M icon in the taskbar. It has all the options right there.
     
  18. RAV

    RAV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Posts:
    70
    Camcast doesn't supply the Mcafee Antispam so I have no experience with it. Their AV seems pretty good, the firewall OK, but ZA Security Suite is much better integrated and all of the functions (antispam, parental controls, AV, antispyware, etc.) all seem to work good on both of my home computers so free or not, Mcafee won't be used. Too bad cause I could have saved a few bucks, but in the end it cost me because I wasted my time trying the software that brought complaints from the entire family.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.