Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. Cruise

    Cruise Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Posts:
    1,232
    Location:
    USA
    As much as I wanted to avoid doing that, I've now come to the realization that it is the cleanest and most reliable approach!
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2020
  2. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
  3. jimminy

    jimminy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    USA
    In macrium, you can configure update checks to be done hourly in the background, and also there is a checkbox to receive an email when update are available. Wouldn't this work?

    I've never used this, just noticed it. Look at the help menu >configure update check.
     
  4. Spartan

    Spartan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    1,045
    Location:
    Dubai
    So I asked Macrium support why is it even when I uncheck the include WiFi Drivers in the Macrium Reflect Rescue disk when I am booting off it, it is very slow and still says loading drivers. They advised me to create the Macrium Reflect Rescue Disk using WinPE 10 not the standard option as that doesn't support WiFi so do that if you want a faster boot.
     
  5. layman

    layman Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Posts:
    280
    PC Mover works very well for porting apps that aren't hand-installed. You might run into some issues porting 32-bit apps to a 64-bit machine, however. And for any software that is licensed such that it associates to a hardware fingerprint, it's necessary to remove the license from the source machine and reinstall on the target machine by hand.

    Whether or not you want to pay for automatic porting software depends on how much work it would be to reinstall everything by hand. I believe there may be an express version of PC Mover that is free for personal use, however.
     
  6. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    756
    Location:
    US
    I knew I forgot to mention something in my earlier reply about these apps. I remember on the Macrium forums somebody used one of these migration apps to move from a 32-bit Windows installation to a 64-bit installation. That included migrating 32-bit Reflect onto 64-bit Windows. They ended up in a position where Reflect wouldn't launch, reinstall, or uninstall. I don't remember exactly how they fixed that (I recommended the Windows Installer database cleanup tool), but it did jam them up for a while.
     
  7. XIII

    XIII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    1,109
    That might work using Fastmail's Sieve scripts!

    Will have a look. Thanks.
     
  8. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you

    old 200gB reformat and running Ubuntu

    So in a few words next time, I want to move my data to another HDD, BOTH HDD's have to have the same capacity?

    I do not have any disk manager :'(:'(

    Thanks to all
    Camelia
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2020
  9. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,475
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Not at all. If the TARGET disk has more OR less storage than the SOURCE disk, you may use REFLECT options during the restore to utilize the newer, larger space or shrink the current partition to the newer smaller space. There are some limitations to the shrinking process. though... as long as there's room to make everything fit properly.

    ...and you do have a DISK MGMT option available for expanding if you're a Windows user (it's part of the Windows System). It's easier, though, to use the Macrium REFLECT options to do that during the restoration.
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,964
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2020
  11. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    4,475
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    @camelia - if you're running Windows 10, see HERE for your Disk Manager.
     
  12. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    879
    Location:
    Lunar module
    Best&super software for disk and partition management, all from China: AOMEI Partition Assistant, EASEUS Partition Master, MiniTool Partition Wizard. You can always find official giveaway with free licenses for this software on the Internet and make bootable CD оr bootable flashdrive.
     
  13. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thank you

    No software from China :argh::argh::argh:, please :p

    What about Acronis? or other partition management but payware that someone can suggest me? ;)

    Thanks
    Camelia
     
  14. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Camelia:
    As this is a Macrium Reflect thread I don't know if I'm permitted to recommend another utility.
    Also, I may have misunderstood your RFI as to what you need.

    However, having said that:

    May I recommend a highly respected utility called Parted Magic (run as a live Linux distro, that is entered by booting into the environment once the ISO has been burnt to DVD). See here. [https://partedmagic.com]

    Parted Magic does cost US $11, but its well worth it, as it contains both G-Parted (partition tool) and Clonezilla (cloning tool) in one convenient package.

    For the cloning you need to buy a suitable cable (as both origin and destination HDD's need to be connected), say from StarTech.com [USB312SATA3CB]

    At one end, the cable has a SATA Data & power combo (7+15 pin receptacle)
    At the other end, the cable has a male USB 3.1 USB Type A (9 pin; Gen 2; 10Gbps)

    I have used it on Windows 7 and windows 10 successfully - mainly to transfer a 250G HDD to a 500G SSD drive.

    cheers,
     
  15. aldist

    aldist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2017
    Posts:
    879
    Location:
    Lunar module
    I'm very sorry, but this only says that you do not understand well in this matter. These Chinese programs are among the best of all partition managers, they can perform the operation even when Paragon cannot.
    Ok, take a program from Germany, Paragon Hard Disk Manager. Do you want a monster-like Acronis? Nobody minds, use.
     
  16. jimminy

    jimminy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2020
    Posts:
    50
    Location:
    USA
    You should be able to do anything with the built in windows disk manager, plus macrium reflect. Read the manual and see how you can resize each partition by dragging it onto the destination disk and then clicking properties.

    It's the easiest way.
     
  17. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    Thanks to all, I will follow @jimminy suggestion

    Camelia
     
  18. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,286
    well, cami, you know that shadow defender is a chinese sw, don't you. and i see that you're very active in sd's thread. apparently you have it on your rig(s). well how do you like that!
     
  19. camelia

    camelia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Posts:
    344
    Location:
    Mexico City
    You hate me right? :mad:

    If I use SD is because there is no other option for me... I know Tony is a Chinese developer..

    And don't call me Cami, I am Came or Camelia :mad::mad::mad:

    Camelia
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2020
  20. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    3,286
    easy now. hate you? why would i hate someone i don't even know? what do you think i am? a misogynist? i respect you. :thumb:
     
  21. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,743
    Location:
    USA
    I agree that all of these products are good at what they do. I have used all of them and have found no reason not to. If anyone is concerned about where they come from that is up to them. I am not worried about it.
     
  22. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    496
    Location:
    italy
  23. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    5,374
    Location:
    Milan and Seoul
  24. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    USA
    I got a couple of BSODs with Bugcheck "0x50" while running a Macrium Reflect image job. Tried with a former version of 7.2, as well as the latest v7.3.5289. Same error, so I don't think the problem is with Macrium, although it seems to trigger it.

    This started right after I removed Avira Pro (rebooted), and let Windows Defender take over as AV. So after investigating the BSODs, I re-installed Avira Pro, and the next try with Macrium Reflect ran to completion. So I'm pretty convinced that this was a conflict with Defender.

    The crashing module was "cng.sys", Microsoft Corporation, Kernel Cryptography, Next Generation.

    The drive that was being imaged was the C: system volume and it was fully encrypted with Bitlocker:
    Percentage Encrypted: 100.0%
    Encryption Method: XTS-AES 128
    Protection Status: Protection On
    Lock Status: Unlocked


    On Tue 11/3/2020 6:50:43 PM your computer crashed or a problem was reported
    crash dump file: C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\110320-7796-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: cng.sys (0xFFFFF8063F6F4713)
    Bugcheck code: 0x50 (0xFFFFF8069D4D4400, 0x10, 0xFFFFF8063F6F4713, 0x2)
    Error: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\cng.sys
    product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
    company: Microsoft Corporation
    description: Kernel Cryptography, Next Generation
    Bug check description: This indicates that invalid system memory has been referenced.
    This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    The crash took place in a Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver on your system that cannot be identified at this time.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2020
  25. jphughan

    jphughan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2018
    Posts:
    756
    Location:
    US
    Just as a data point, my own OS partition is using BitLocker with XTS-AES 128 and I've been imaging for months without issues. I've kept current with the latest releases of Reflect and Windows. My last backup was using Reflect 7.3.5289 on Win10 20H2.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.