Macrium Reflect

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Stigg, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. JoWazzoo

    JoWazzoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    Ether
    Attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,615
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    Thanks,

    Easy. Do you have a recent backup image to restore to the SSD or would you prefer to do a Clone? It doesn't matter either way.
     
  3. JoWazzoo

    JoWazzoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Posts:
    241
    Location:
    Ether
    I have not purchased the SSD yet so I am a week or so away. I will post back when I receive the SSD. Thanks. Glad to hear it will be easy. :)
     
  4. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    9,615
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I think cloning will be the easier option. As Rico did in this thread. You will need a Macrium boot disk, USB or CD.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,635
    Location:
    USA
    When I did mine I just restored a backup image to the SSD and it was pretty simple and worked just fine. Can't go wrong either way.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    9,395
    Location:
    Slovenia
    If there was data on SSD before cloning (or restoring) also make sure to enable option "Enable SSD trim" in advanced options as described here: https://knowledgebase.macrium.com/display/KNOW/Cloning a disk

    Edit: also make sure that Windows recognizes new SSD ( I would run Windows Experience Index reassessment) and that TRIM is enabled after restore.
     
  7. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,122
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 7.1.2917...
    Homepage
    Download Page
    Release Notes
     
  8. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    467
    Location:
    italy
    txs as usual, :)
     
  9. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,122
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello @test,

    You are most welcome ;) (as usual :thumb:)...
     
  10. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    858
    So, did this break anything or is it safe to update? :)
     
  11. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    9,395
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I updated my installation using built-in update option (14.4 MB) with no problems. I also recreated boot media for my Windows 7, again with no problems.
     
  12. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    858
    OK...worked OK here on 64 bit Win 10 Pro.
     
  13. AlphaOne

    AlphaOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks Puff - helpful and appreciated.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    903
    Does Reflect use the last image when it does an automatic restore?
     
  15. kronckew

    kronckew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Posts:
    254
    Location:
    CSA Consulate, Glos., UK
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Posts:
    903
  17. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Australia
    @TheRollbackFrog

    I decided not to buy Macrium as I wanted something that just worked. Just mentioning the other programs below in case anybody else has issue's.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/macrium-reflect.356309/page-251#post-2730456
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/macrium-reflect.356309/page-251#post-2730517
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/macrium-reflect.356309/page-251#post-2731234
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/macrium-reflect.356309/page-251#post-2731282

    I have tried a few different backup program's and the three I'm mentioning do work with the both system's before and after compression and see the correct partition size. (IFW, Drive Snapshot and MiniToolShadowMaker Beta 3) and restore.

    Regards.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  18. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,905
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    Of the (3) you mention above, IFW offers the most features as it relates to Macrium Reflect. Although to use this rich feature set to its fullest, the UI may be considered a little cryptic. Basic backups run cryptic-free when using its standard UI, only when using some of its advanced DELTA restoration features will the "crypticity" (is that a real word :D ) come into play. You should also understand that things like the DELTA Restoration mode require clear view of the complete NTFS FileSystem... that may not be available when you are compressing that Volume (I do not know, personally, what ZipMagic does during its compression/decompression process). Standard backup/restoration only needs File Allocation (used sectors) information to work properly.

    Many users on this Forum either use IFW as their main imaging solution or as their #1 backup solution.
     
  19. TheRollbackFrog

    TheRollbackFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Posts:
    3,905
    Location:
    The Pond - USA
    The other thing I noticed in the ZipMagic Forum... this note from the ADMIN...

    As you can see, Macrium Reflect (which we are rather fond of here, not in the least because they `borrowed` our rebooting technology) does correctly display your GPT drive partitions, just as Windows Disk Management does - although, hmm, Macrium does seem to have a bug with displaying your used space on your C: drive, perhaps due to the Bitlocker encryption.

    This shows that, internally at least, the ZM developers do use Macrium Reflect but apparently do not use BitLockered drives in the process as you do or if they do, they don't use their own ZipMagic product along with that System configuration. If there was an issue in that area, I'm sure they would have mentioned it.

    Reflect has supported BitLockered drives for quite a while now and I haven't heard any major issues associated with them (I do not use BitLocker). I believe you'll find many Reflect users here on the Forum that do use BitLockered drives (chime up if you do) but have no display issues with their structure or space allocation. This appears to be purely a BitLocker/ZipMagic issue I believe.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  20. ronald739

    ronald739 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Australia
    Speaking of Bitlockered Drives to my knowledge (Maybe Wrong) I thought this was only for Pro editions of Win and not Home.

    Did not think to look till you mentioned this. Note at the moment mine is disabled and I will turn this off and try again.

    Thanks

    Bit.PNG
     
  21. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,156
    Just reading another prompt to upgrade to the latest Version 7.1 - I am still on 6 though I did pay for the upgrade when it first came out. At that time I did not actually see any advantages for me with the rapid restore and given some initial niggles others reported, I waited. The feature I am interested in is Vboot but I vaguely remember that there were some system requirements (like can't run on Win 7?). Can someone please chime in if a) Vboot is possible for me on Win 7/64 bit and b) all the initial hiccups have been sorted?
     
  22. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,122
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    A new update has been released, version 7.1.2963...
    Homepage
    Download Page
    Release Notes
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5,964
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I'm not being offered that version here. I'm using the free version.

    Oh, I see. I'm on a 64-bit machine.
     
  24. MPSAN

    MPSAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Posts:
    858
    I, too, am on a 64 bit machine and it says that my 2917 is the latest, but I am not using FREE.
     
  25. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    756
    Hi @ Wilders

    A new update has been released, version 7.1.2963

    "We recommend that 32 bit installations of Macrium Reflect on XP, Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 10 upgraded from Windows 7, 32 bit operating systems update to this release."

    Not apply to x64?

    Terry
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.