LibreOffice

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Jan 29, 2015.

  1. wasgij6

    wasgij6 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Posts:
    321
    Yes this is how I always upgrade.
     
  2. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Canada
    ok thanks, will give it a try.
     
  3. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
    You can always download and install the latest version manually (on top).
    I always uninstall the old version before installing a newer one.
    If you do this though, you will need to backup any custom dictionaries or settings you have defined in your user profile (if you wish to retain these).

    Folder path: C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming|LibreOffice\4\user
     
  4. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,315
    I unchecked AA as well. No noticeable degradation at least for my system and my usage.
     
  5. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,315
    Aha, so it's not just me or a Linux thing: I'm referring to the 4 in your path. I saw
    Code:
    /home/vasa1/.config/libreoffice/4
    and had a mild panic attack.

    BTW, there's a way to have more than one version of LibreOffice installed (with a bit of caution and common sense): https://wiki.documentfoundation.org/Installing_in_parallel
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
    Since the first installation of v5 ( Aug 5, 2015 ), I noticed that too.
    In that time v5 uninstalled, LibreOffice folder deleted (C:\Users\USER\AppData\Roaming|LibreOffice),
    a clean install performed.
    To my surprise, when the new LibreOfice folder checked, found again "4" instead of the expected "5". o_O

    OS: Windows 10 Pro x64, Version 1511-Build 10586.104
    LibreOffice 5.1.0.3 (x64)
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2016
  7. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,235
    Location:
    Outer space
    Just updated to LibreOffice 5.1 (from 5.0.4), very quick test, Writer starts about 30% faster.
    (Windows, and I don't use the preload at boot option btw)

    In the Graphics output settings, both hardware accelleration and AA were enabled by default in 5.0.4, both OpenGL options disabled, upgrading to 5.1 did not change any of this.
     
  8. digmor crusher

    digmor crusher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2012
    Posts:
    633
    Location:
    Canada
    Updated over top, no problems.
     
  9. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    I can confirm anon's mention thing, even with 5.1.1.1 RC1

    http://fs5.directupload.net/images/160216/igejhh5p.png


    Maybe some#1 knows but I often get strange behaviors/results if I try to open .pdf files (maybe I doing it wrong?) but almost every .pdf I want to open looks incorrect. Is there a switch/option I need to look at or a trick or something. I usually use Libre more to write stuff and not often open some .pdf files but well it looks awful.

    Overall the new 5.x Version works very fast for me and did a wonderful job. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2016
  10. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    I had been using the 32-bit version. Decided to uninstall it and switch to 64-bit. This time, all is good! Not sure if it's much faster but it's fast enough for me. :)
     
  11. SnowWalker

    SnowWalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Posts:
    279
    Location:
    USA
    The last time I looked at a pdf with it at all was some time ago and as I remember it was slow and not pretty, but I thought that was because it was meant to edit pdf's, and not to be a viewer. I haven't looked again as I haven't had a need to edit a pdf.
     
  12. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,315
    I wouldn't use LibreOffice as a pdf viewer or pdf editor. I'm not sure why anyone would. I use it to generate pdf files from LibreOffice files and that it does decently.
     
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
    LibreOffice 5.0.5 “still” released
    February 15, 2016
    https://blog.documentfoundation.org/blog/2016/02/15/libreoffice-5-0-5-still-released/
    --------------------------------------------
     
  14. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    So any recommendation under windows to just view pdf files? Foxit seems peace of bloatware, was once good but now... :(

    I somehow not get the point why I can edit/create pdf files but not showing them correctly, even if I created it with Libre, sometimes it looks that there is something wrong o_O
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    75,808
    Location:
    Texas
    Edge works well.
     
  16. rpsgc

    rpsgc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Posts:
    311
    Location:
    Portugal
    Have you tried SumatraPDF?
     
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,580
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    or PDF-XChange Editor?
    Edit: Now back to LibreOffice :)
     
  18. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,546
    I use PDF-XChange Editor. After the latest updates, Windows seems to be respecting the association and not trying to impose Edge.
     
  19. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    I tried 64-bit 5.1 on my home Win 7 PC. Bad news! As I experienced on the 32-bit 5.1 earlier in this thread, (when running the all-in-one launcher), a missing in action sidebar and the options screen is completely non-functional. So I moved back to 5.05 64-bit and all is again well. My home PC and work PC have nothing in common except for both being 64-bit Win 7 (work is Pro and home is Home). Work has Office 2013 also installed and home has only Libre...
     
  20. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    The only problem I suffer in the x64 version are macros but this is well known because microsoft also recommended x86 if you need such 'advanced' gimmicks. But I guess soon or later this is maybe fixable because it mostly affects the performance and not the function itself.
     
  21. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
  22. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    New LibreOffice 5.1.1. Stable

    ftp5.gwdg.de/pub/tdf/libreoffice/stable/5.1.1/win/x86_64/
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,864
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.