LibreOffice

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Jan 29, 2015.

  1. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    I ended up biting the bullet and going for Microsoft Office 365 ;)

    Unfortunately I've had a lot of material that LibreOffice just didn't like. I also got sick of LibreOffice always doing the cleanup routine, instead of opening things the first time.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hmmm, that doesn't sound too good. And I'm also not exactly a fan of MS Office, I hate the ribbon based GUI.
     
  3. Reality

    Reality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,198
    2 Questions:
    1/ Can Calc open 2002 excel files?
    2/ Can Calc open password protected files of the said version?
    NOTE: Yes I have the password so this is not a PW cracking venture. My computer bit the dust, but HDD is OK and I've pulled the files from there.
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    I know I have opened very old Office files, created in the 90s, using Libres Calc. You should be able to use Calc for running Excel files from 2002.
    Hi RJK3. Can you tell me, What is the cleanup routine? Whenever I run something, the file runs immediately. Perhaps a little slower than Office but other than that, all else seems the same.

    Bo
     
  5. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,374
    Greetings, Bo!

    Maybe the poster means the "recover this document" screen that comes up after LibreOffice has crashed and the user restarts the program.
    LibreOffice offers to recover the last saved version. I see that very, very rarely. Fortunately, LibreOffice works for me.
     
  6. chrisretusn

    chrisretusn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Posts:
    1,477
    Location:
    Philippines
    Yes to both. I have done it.
     
  7. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Hi Vasa. Libre has never crashed on me. Works fine for me too.:)


    Bo
     
  8. Reality

    Reality Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Posts:
    1,198
    Thanks. Downloaded portable version, ran in SBXE, was presented with a PW box. All good.
     
  9. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    The dialogue box is something like: "LibreOffice wasn't shut down properly on the last run, doing clean-up" with the only option to press "OK" and reselect the document.

    Edit: It's actually related to the PortableApps launcher.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,982
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    RJK3, I use Libres portable version, never seen that message. I don't have the PortableApps launcher. Anyway, Libre works great in my W7 and runs very nice under SBIE.

    Bo
     
  11. RJK3

    RJK3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    862
    Seems to happen mainly if that laptop runs out of battery.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
  13. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
  14. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
    The Document Foundation announces LibreOffice 4.4.5 [Fresh]
    https://blog.documentfoundation.org/2015/07/30/the-document-foundation-announces-libreoffice-4-4-5/

    ---------
    Release Notes:
    http://www.libreoffice.org/download/release-notes/
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
    LibreOffice 5.0 released today. :thumb:
    New Features:
    http://www.libreoffice.org/discover/new-features/

    LibreOffice under the hood: progress to 5.0
    http://users.freedesktop.org/~michael/under-the-hood-5-0.html

    .
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2015
  17. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,738
    64-bit LibreOffice, here I come!
     
  18. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    I had Office 2007 at home and finally dumped it for Libre. The only issues I expect I may have is from PowerPoint stuff from work. I refuse to go with 365 for personal use (kinda makes some sense for business because of all the things it can do for collaboration.) I'll go without any office suite before that happens!
     
  19. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,374
    FWIW, -h t t p : / / fullcirclemagazine.org/2015/08/08/libreoffice-golden-anniversary-special-edition/- points to a 45MB pdf file "pulling together the first fifty articles into one bumper issue."
     
  20. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,540
    Location:
    Outer space
    There is a new modern looking icon set, Breeze. (not default), though I'm more a fan of Oxygen and Sifr.

    64 bit running great over here :)
     
  21. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've installed LibreOffice, so far it's looking good. It seems to open MS Office files correctly, and it also runs just fine with Sandboxie.
     
  22. Amanda

    Amanda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,101
    Location:
    Brasil
    What version of "MS Office files"?
     
  23. vasa1

    vasa1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Posts:
    4,374
    Does LibreOffice 5 Calc have a keyboard shortcut to access the "sum" function? In 4.4.5, there's no such shortcut. I had to make my own using xdotool but that requires that I always need to use Calc maximized.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    14,422
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I haven't really tested it extensively, but looks like it can open MS Office 2013 files. Does anyone know how to navigate (browse) with the keyboard in Impress?
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,753
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.