Kaspersky Security Cloud Free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Romagnolo1973, Oct 13, 2019.

  1. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,351
    I see, well done Kaspersky Security Adware Free. :D
     
  2. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    382
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    the ghack news was about the cloud version I believe the journalist got confused ( the article was ambiguous to me) , thanks for clarification they work indeed, looks like Kaspersky cloud is one of the best free AVs and it is also much lighter than before
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2020
  3. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,763
    Is there are way to make this AV less verbose, while still allowing normally functioning? It seems to prompt a lot about programs like VPNs, bittorrent, etc.. Like I woke my PC this morning, and it asked if my ethernet adapter could be trusted. Just got another one regarding my wifi network.

    Over the weekend I install this on my parents PC, but they would have no idea how to answer some of these prompts. So I am starting to get concerned this will not be the right AV for them.
     
  4. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,285
    Location:
    USA,IA
    Use Bitdefender free.
     
  5. harlan4096

    harlan4096 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Posts:
    195
    Location:
    Almería (Spain)
    Just uninstall KSeC (VPN) if they are not going to use it...

    Did You set Interactive Mode or Auto Mode?

    bittorrent prompt? :confused: maybe not trusted... use qbittorrent better :)

    Set it as Trusted in FireWall -> Networks
     
  6. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,763
    I tried that last week. Not a big fan of it consistently using 1/2 GB of ram.
     
  7. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Belgium
    BD free uses max 300 -> 400 Mb so where do you get that 1 / 2 GB ram ? ...... i think you would say install size or is it 500 MB usage ?
     
  8. Bertazzone

    Bertazzone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2018
    Posts:
    326
    Location:
    Milan, Italia
    I believe you are correct, my friend. Even less than 300-400 RAM depending on machine.
     
  9. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,763
    It used more on mine. It uses more than just about any other AV I have tested in recent years.

    Anyway, this is getting off topic.
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2020
  10. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,351
    No problem with 16 GB ram. :cool:

    I don't like bloatware Kaspersky ... :thumbd:
     
  11. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    33,631
    Patch M for Kaspersky Security Cloud version 20.0.14.1085 Released (September 23, 2020)
    Release Notes
    Patch M
    Patch M for Kaspersky Security Cloud version 20.0.14.1085 was released on September 23, 2020.

    In patch M we have fixed some interface issues.

    To install the patch:
    1. Run the database update of Kaspersky Security Cloud. For instructions, see this article.
    2. When the update completes, restart your computer.
    To check if the patch was installed successfully, open the application and click Support in the lower-left corner. You will see the full version number of the application with letter m added at the end.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.