Is V 5 a memory eater ?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Fidelius, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fidelius

    Fidelius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    146
    Hello,

    I have just switched to version 5.2.9.12 of Nod32 Antivirus. EKRN32.EXE uses 102 MB of Ram while version 4 it used 87 MB. No application is running except the same background usual services
    My OS is Windows xp pro X64.
     
  2. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    yeah and who cares about memory? :rolleyes: what do you have less than 2 GB of RAM??

    Nowadays I don't see a system with less than 4 GB RAM is very cheap

    Plus, a few MBs more won't change anything

    at the end of the day it's not how many MBs of RAM that the AV uses is which determines your system's performance, it's how the scanning engine handles on access scans for files which ESET excels in and remains the lightest AV in the world, even though v4 and v5 are much heavier than the older v2 version, still, when it comes to performance, they're the best. Just subpar scanning detection rate according to Virus testing labs

    kthxbye
     
  3. Fidelius

    Fidelius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    146
    I care about the usage of memory. Nowadays, programmers no longer seem interested by *optimization*. It is the same reasoning which leads people to use crapware OS like Windows 7 and 8, "I have a lot of memory so it does not matter".
    The AV tests suck and mean nothing.

    I am not interested by your answer and the features of your computer so next time... u know what to do.
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    Want me to donate you $15 bucks to buy an additional 4 GB of RAM? :rolleyes:
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Memory usage up to 120-150 MB by ekrn is relatively normal. On my home PC and v6, it's now consuming 98 MB, on my office computer with the latest Endpoint installed it's 59 MB. As files are being scanned, memory consumption can grow a bit. Enabling/disabling mail client integration also slightly affects memory consumption when you open the mail client.
    If memory consumption had to be very same at all times, we couldn't: add new signatures, add new features, scan files, unpack files, etc.
     
  6. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    The high RAM usage is one of the main reasons ESET runs so light on the system.
     
  7. Fidelius

    Fidelius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    146
    Thank you Marcos for answering my question. I shall take a closer look at the options I have chosen.
     
  8. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
  9. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    did you leave your home computer on for day's? and you told me that memory leak in v5 will be fixed in next version!!

    and what about v6 i reported for memory leak too and now in my post i talk to my self!! :(
     
  10. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    you have 16GB of ram so as you said who cares about memory, but what about people that have 1GB or less?! 1GB and 2GB not bad for some people that just need computer for simple jobs

    btw i have 12GB and yes i care about memory
     
  11. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    My users only got 2GB with WinXP with Dual core PCs. Who is going to pay and upgrade on this PC for additional RAM?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.