I built a PC and...

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ratchet, May 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,910
    Haven't installed a FW yet. What ever Windows 7 has is what is enabled and have yet to hear a peep from it. I haven't even tried to open/adjust it either.
    Years and years ago (like eight or more) I used ZoneAlarm, then used Online Armor and Comodo for several years. Lately I've been using PFW on the retired desktop and Comodo on the laptop.
    I am behind a router and thinking of just sticking with Windows. What do you think? Thank you!
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    It seems we are in similar situations. I've used LnS for years, but have become weary that there have been no updates (that and Phantom's set doesn't play nice with KiTTY). I've been looking for something else. The only firewalls that are out now include HIPS components, which isn't something I need with Shadow Defender and SBIE. There are a lot of discussions here about the Windows 7 firewall (see here) and the general recommendation seems to be that it is very good for a pure firewall. But I would couple that with a gui that was mentioned in the thread I linked to.
     
  3. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Why using third-party firewalls when there's already a extremely decent one embedded in Windows (Windows Firewall with Advanced Security) ? If you find it hard to make adequate inbound & outbound rules, you can always try Windows Firewall Notifier (freeware: http://wokhan.online.fr/progs.php?sec=WFN).
     
  4. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    One thing that I noticed, that I don't like, is that these guis for the windows 7 firewall take up sooo much RAM. Why should I firewall that's built in to the OS require a giu that uses 180 megs of RAM? I understand this is because they (mostly) all use.NET framework. Still...that's insane.
     
  5. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    We live in a strange world :) Can you believe that this PC demo is only 64k in size? : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y3n3c_8Nn2Y :)
     
  6. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    Wish Shadow Defender works with SSDs, it would be really nice!

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  7. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Yes, me too. Luckily, on the rig I just built I chose 2 2tb drives over 1tb drive + SSD. So that's not an issue for me anymore. SSDs are a problem with any light virtuation program.
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    how much security is needed or wanted?
    are stupids at work? or more experienced user(s)?
    in fact a good backup solution is all one need and a box for testing purposes,
    any on-demand can assist.

    you can install tons of software but it didnt helped with the latest infections.

    behavior blocker? cut mouse cable!
    if you had xp you can drop most experience - win7 is complete different.

    every solution is specific - not in general.
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,284
    Location:
    England
    Brummelchen member rachet is asking about a firewall.

    He is not stupid.
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Please stick to email support. This is not helpful at all. There's nothing wrong with asking for help and/or suggestions, and a response like "just don't use your pc" is not going to help anyone. Meaningless post.
     
  11. ams963

    ams963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    Posts:
    5,965
    Location:
    Parallel Universe
    I absolutely agree. :thumb:
     
  12. aladdin

    aladdin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    2,986
    Location:
    Oman
    I am now testing my SSD computers with Faronics DeepFreeze and it is working perfectly so far.

    Best regards,

    KOR!
     
  13. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    ZoneAlarm, Online Armor and Comodo are not only Firewalls, they offer more.
    and read again - i dont wrote hes an idiot - but ratchet didnt mentioned
    if he want to use that pc alone. so he need to tell more about his (and others)
    behavior to get best help.

    ZoneAlarm is still designed to fail. and comodo is still no go here (same reasons
    as ever - they dazzle too much.

    best way ever is to start with nothing - simple answer for him with present facts.

    with my exprience here i can say for me that any new system gets this firewall
    i use now (w7fc). that meets my needs.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,284
    Location:
    England
    You asked if the machine was to be used by stupid people or experienced people.

    Why call people stupid?
     
  15. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I think we should all restrict further posts to something that will help answer the original question.

    That being said, I think there's something that hasn't been considered yet. Yes, you can use the windows 7 firewall without a third party gui. Yes, those guis do use a lot of ram (thank you .NET). But, they add more features than are going to be there without them. Also the windows 7 firewall, third party gui or not, is bound to be more stable than any other firewall since it's built in to the OS itself and uses no external drivers.
     
  16. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Brummelchen is a german and has major issues finding the right synonym. Also, he tries so hard to look smart and knowledgable, which in combination with his language troubles makes all his posts look rather rude.
    Though I don't doubt his good intentions.
     
  17. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1,230
    Location:
    Romania
    This comment was very funny. :thumb:
     
  18. mack_guy911

    mack_guy911 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    2,677
    well windows firewall is enough

    all firewalls are pretty same just extra features make little diffrence but more diffrence

    is our surfing habbits thats our best security :)
     
  19. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Once native Windows Firewall lacks outbound protection, I like to use a simple firewall that allows to have outbound control and info.

    It's the reason I use:
    - Win XP: Windows 7 Firewall Control Free (Sphinx)
    - Win 7: Windows Firewall Control (Binisoft)

    And to avoid .NET'RAM issues I use CleanMem that allows to keep RAM in a clean state; however I noticed that WFC uses too RAM when starts and if their GUI is used; if not, there aren't RAM issues with it in normal running.

    I don't use HIPS's based firewall also; using SandboxIE and Toolwiz Time Freeze is being an excellent combination with both Win XP and Win 7. With these app. my system is in a clean state always.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. jadinolf
    Replies:
    19
    Views:
    1,126
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.