How To Remove Remote Registry

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Rainwalker, Jul 9, 2020.

  1. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    Win10 Home.......I have disabled Remote Registry numerous times only to have it revert to Automatic. I am in need of a registry tweak to permanently disable it or will this have a negative affect on Win Updates?
     
  2. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,171
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    That's weird. Shouldn't Windows 10 Remote Registry service be disabled by default? I wonder what is setting it to automatic and why.
     
  3. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    Weird is right! Scans are not showing any problem. I sure need to shut it off or maybe better it completely remove it. Anyone know how?
     
  4. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,171
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Could it be that some third party software is setting your Windows 10 Remote Registry service to Automatic? For instance, some antivirus/ antimalware software that demands Windows 10 Remote Registry service to be enabled, for some (weird) reason?
    Searching the web, I find a few similar cases, but only speculation, no cause and no solution. I hope someone can help you find the cause of your issue and a solution.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    5,631
    Location:
    USA
    I was about to suggest the same. Check for any 3rd party software you have that may be doing this.
     
  6. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    @ Stupendous and Jack....I was thinking the same and have been testing. Nothing so far. Should I discover something I will post it. Thanks
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,295
  8. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,171
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  9. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
  10. Rules

    Rules Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Posts:
    589
    Location:
    Lugdunum
    @Rainwalker
    Try this :

    open regedit
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Remote Assistance

    on the right pane create a new 32-bit DWORD (even if you use 64 bit OS)
    fAllowToGetHelp, set it to 0, restart Windows 10

    Rules.
     
  11. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Rules, but I have Win10 Home and no \Remote Assistance.
     
  12. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,958
  13. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
  14. Krabbath

    Krabbath Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2020
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    Earth
    FWIW: I am also running Windows 10 Home (x64), and I have the registry branch in question:

    Win10 Home Remote Assistance.png

    The Remote Registry service is disabled on my computer.
     
  15. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    UGH....I was afraid of that.Thanks
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    7,952
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  17. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Maybe you can track the issue using Process Monitor. Another thing that might worth a try is using NoVirusThanks Registry Guard to protect the Remote Registry key from manipulation (and to see which process is trying to modify it).
    VoodooShield may help as well. It could possibly intercept the changes (watching for Command Lines caused by suspicious activity). if nothing else helps, than it may worth a try to open a topic in Malware Removal forum to check your system even further.
     
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    3,295
    thank you, please note workarounds you have been tried some earlier, this would avoid answers like mine.

    similar problem
    https://www.tenforums.com/network-sharing/150505-cannot-disable-remote-assistance.html

    or here (5 years old)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/how-to-turn-off-remote-desktop-service-in-windows-10.379199/

    several notices for norton programs based on this service. so idd it could be your used security softare.
     
  19. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    @ itman...Thanks. That just might be helpful.
    @ Brummelchen...Thank you for your work.
    @ B-boy...Did not know of NoVirusThanks Registry Guard. Now installed. Thanks.
     
  20. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    Update: SpybotAntiBeacon took care of it. Thanks again to all.
     
  21. B-boy/StyLe/

    B-boy/StyLe/ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    That's interesting. Thanks for sharing.
     
  22. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,958
    took care of it how?
     
  23. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,515
    Location:
    USA
    Anti-Beacon Plus has option to turn off Remote Registry. It seems to have done that.
     
  24. imdb

    imdb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Posts:
    1,958
    ahh, i see. thanks.
     
  25. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,674
    On Windows 10 Pro x64 1909 I have the Remote assistance key but not all default data values are zero.
    Suggestions?
    RegRemoteAssistance.jpg
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.