HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Tried this build on one machine so far.
    I'm not sure if this was related to my issue but after installing I restarted the machine straight away and it did start this time without issue. :thumb:
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Installed on three machines. For some reason I am not getting a fly-out when I open Firefox 68 but I do when other protected applications are started.
     
  3. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    USA
    I frequently have that same experience with an earlier version of Firefox on my XP machine.
     
  4. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    @markloman, do you know if this new build takes care of the Windows 7 BSOD issue that was reported here?
     
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,552
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    If you want to downgrade from build 839 CTP1 to this build 781, you need to uninstall build 839 first and remove this file: C:\ProgramData\HitmanPro.Alert\excalibur.db

    @markloman
    1. It is not clear to me: Is this recommended, or is it OK to leave build 839 CTP1 installed if it's not causing specific issues?
    2. Uninstalling / installing as above will retain all existing settings, right?
     
  6. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    That's related to HitmanPro, not Alert.
     
  7. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    It's ok to stay on 839 CTP1, we'll probably release an new CTP soon.
    Uninstalling never retain existing settings, you'll need to Export the config and later on Import it back (via gear icon).
     
  8. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    If you have started Firefox can you check the "Exploit mitigations" -> Running applications and check if it's under Protected?
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes, Firefox 68 is running as a protected application.

    Edit: Ronny, I am seeing the same behaviour on three Win10 x64 1903 machines.
     
  10. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    154
    Location:
    Canada
    Glad to hear it. I was planning to stick with the CTP since it seems to have cool, unique features. I'm also looking forward to the new CTP.
     
  11. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Just to double-check is your "Safety notification" set to "At application start" ?
     
  12. dios

    dios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    In build 781 the Uplay overlay still doesn't work in some games. With Heap Heap Protect disabled, it works (as far as I've tried).
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes.
     
  14. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    But it happens when I run a manual scan from within HMP.A, so right now, from my perspective HMP.A is operating on less than full functionality. Has the scan issue (whatever its origin) been resolved?

    EDIT: The issue has definitely not been resolved. I rebooted the Windows 7 PC to see if the announced build 781 fixed the problem, and after the automatic update I started a manual scan. Oddly, on the first try the Anti-Malware panel soon showed a message saying, "Scan cancelled" or something to that effect. On the next try, the scan seemed to run but there was no % indication of progress as it ran. Eventually the scan did finish and showed some cookies to delete. When I told HMP.A to delete the cookies, it seemed to work, but when I clicked on the "Next" button, the computer BSOD'd again:

    Code:
    Problem signature:
      Problem Event Name:    BlueScreen
      OS Version:    6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
      Locale ID:    1033
    
    Additional information about the problem:
      BCCode:    1000007e
      BCP1:    FFFFFFFFC0000005
      BCP2:    0000000000000000
      BCP3:    FFFFF880037D98E8
      BCP4:    FFFFF880037D9150
      OS Version:    6_1_7601
      Service Pack:    1_0
      Product:    768_1
    
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Hi @RonnyT ,

    FYI, I disabled Safe Browsing (Intruder Monitor and Keystroke Encryption) and I DO get a fly-out from FF68.

    Cheers.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,898
    Location:
    USA
    I believe HMPA calls HitmanPro. HitmanPro does the actual scan, not HMPA.
     
  17. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,059
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Even though the issue may be related to HitmanPro, not Alert, it was SurfRight/Sophos' choice to incorporate HMP anti-malware scanning in HMPA. Therefore, issues that arise by using this anti-malware scanning component in HMPA, cannot be dismissed as 'related to HitmanPro, not Alert', I would say. By incorporating HMP anti-malware scanning in HMPA, it was made part of it.
    I cannot imagine that such issue would not be addressed because it was posted in 'the wrong thread', HMPA instead of HMP.
    I really hope that SurfRight/Sophos will address the issue as reported by JEAM.
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2019
  18. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    Thank you @Stupendous Man .
     
  19. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Ok, in that case the fly-out is blue and not green I expect?
     
  20. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Of course this will be addressed and I never said anything about "wrong board" it's just that it are still 2 different products and different dev's on it so from our point of view the BSOD is caused by running HitmanPro (in the background in case of alert) hence my response like that, sorry if that caused confusion.
     
  21. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    Thanks @RonnyT , I appreciate your work as the nexus between the developers and the customers here at Wilders, including taking the time to write that explanation.
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes, a blue fly-out.
     
  23. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I think these are the requested screenshots you asked for. Normal members cannot upload screenshots in PMs.
     

    Attached Files:

  24. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,552
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Neither can abnormal members! :D
     
  25. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,920
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know what has changed but I just noticed I am getting a green fly-out with Firefox 68.0.1.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.