HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,507
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Scan fixed now.
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,297
    I can confirm the scan is fixed. Tested on both VM's and uninstalled HMP on desktop to test there. Worked 100%. Well done.
     
  3. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,892
    Location:
    USA
    Working here now too :thumb:
     
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,218
    Location:
    Outer space
  5. Sand

    Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2016
    Posts:
    24
    Happens only on execution of the installer, so is probably installer releated,

    Regards. :)
     
  6. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    The same PC blue-screened again today, immediately after running an HMP.A manual scan and just prior to (or during) deletion of some detected items.

    So it looks like a real, recurrent issue. Not fixing it would render HMP.A manual scans unusable:

    BSOD HMPA 20190508.jpg
     
  7. RonnyT

    RonnyT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Can you provide us the memory dump(s) so we can analyze what's going on?
     
  8. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    Sure, no problem. :thumb: Just let me know where I should look for the memory dumps and how to get them over to you. PM is OK.
     
  9. dios

    dios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Posts:
    13
    It seems HMPA (including build 779) is interfering with the Uplay overlay in Windows 10 version 1809. An exception for the game executable in Exploit Mitigation usually makes the overlay work again (but not always!).
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2019
  10. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    :thumbd:

    SurfRight support have gone down hill since Sophos bought them out. Pity.
     
  11. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    email: support@hitmanpro.com
     
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Been there for the last 10 days and done that. I'm over it.
     
  13. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    717
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry to hear that! What was the issue?

    I have never needed tech support for HMPA, other than a licensing question, so I have nothing to compare their response level with...
     
  14. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    It wasn't tech support. It was a simple license request which has taken 10 days out of my life. The details aren't relevant to this thread, I was just venting.
     
  15. focus

    focus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    416
    Location:
    USA
    I emailed to have a license reset (for a new machine). I never received a reply but the license activated the next day so they fixed it. This was months ago so the situation may be different now.
     
  16. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    398
    I'm wondering if maybe the business side of things has been taken over by Sophos and it's out of the hands of the HMP.A team.
     
  17. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,136
    I'm not sure when this happened, either after my HMPA license expired or after the 779 update, but HMPA is interfering with activation renewal on my W10 LTSB. test system and throwing eventid 6229 every time a renewal is attempted.
    Code:
    The rules engine failed to perform one or more scheduled actions.
    Error Code:0x80080005
    Path:C:\Windows\System32\SLUI.exe
    Arguments:"C:\Windows\System32\SLUI.exe" RuleId=502ff3ba-669a-4674-bbb1-601f34a3b968;Action=AutoActivateSilent;AppId=55c92734-d682-4d71-983e-d6ec3f16059f;SkuId=2d5a5a60-3040-48bf-beb0-fcd770c20ce0;NotificationInterval=1440;Trigger=TimerEvent
    
    The rules engine failed to perform one or more scheduled actions.
    Error Code:0x80080005
    Path:<none>
    Arguments:<none>
    
    I had to uninstall HMPA to get activation working again. Reinstalled and getting the same problem. No messages from HMPA in the event log.

    I also keep getting a DCOM error eventid 10010 which in this case has to do with %SystemRoot%\system32\SppExtComObj.exe whenever the above happens.
    Code:
    The server {3C296D07-90AE-4FAC-86F9-65EAA8B82D22} did not register with DCOM within the required timeout.
    
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2019
  18. CeeBee

    CeeBee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Posts:
    50
    Does HMPA 2.6.5.77 do anything good under Windows 10 Pro? It seems to work fine, installed in the x86 folder, although the program itself show 64-bit during installation and on the shield screen.

    Please, no questions why not use the current 3.x version (I have a license, but, use only HitmanPro 3.8.14). Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  19. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Clean install of Win10 x64 1903. All was going well until I installed HMP.A Build 779. First restart and my machine booted to a black screen.
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,507
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I don't have a problem with HmP.A v3.8.0 build 839 CTP1. May be a specific setting ... ?

    Hope you have an image just prior to that install.
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,791
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know, Paul. I used the same settings as I had on Build 839 on Win10 1809.
    Yep, MR saved my bacon once again.
     
  22. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,136
    Just noticed another error caused by HMPA v779 on W7 x64. MMC.exe crash when checking custom view in Event Viewer. Probably related to the HMPA log entries. 2nd system where I had to uninstall HMPA. The quality control seems to be going down hill. :(

    MMC_Crash.jpg

    Beta shows the same problem. This may have started after applying this month's June W7 Rollup. Will check W7-x32 which I haven't updated yet.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  23. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    14,897
    Probably caused by recently installed windows upates, not HMP.A. The same error can be seen in a screenshot in the following article:
     
  24. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,136
    I only get the problem with HMPA installed because windows gets access denied trying to accesss the hmpalert.xml. Not sure why the OS needs access to the file since it was created by HMPA. The 32-bit Win7 is now doing the same thing after the update, so the update may be buggy as you say..

    I deleted the hmpalert.xml in C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Event Viewer\Views and the event viewer doesn't crash anymore, but there is no longer a category to view hmpa alerts. The problem is that HMPA recreates the xml on reboot and you are back to the original problem.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  25. HempOil

    HempOil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    Canada
    I am experiencing the same issue. I tried the MS script linked in the ghacks article, but it had no effect. The xml file workaround gets the Event Viewer working again, but as you experienced, does not allow access to HMP.A events.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.