HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,075
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I don't know how to find out without uninstalling Alert or Norton.
     
  2. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,185
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  3. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,805
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    A scan of FF 46 showed nothing, bit HMPA shuts down FF 46 because of "attack by malicious code."

    Win 8.1 64x
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,549
    Location:
    .
    Well, 45.0.2-x64 was okay. Then upon FF46 update. Firefox wheels went wobbly.
    I'm on FF45.0.2-32bit....for now.
     
  5. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,075
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I believe Alert is related to sloooow FF. I've just uninstalled Alert, restarted, and FF speed is back to normal.
     
  6. Stupendous Man

    Stupendous Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Posts:
    2,185
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    In my case, nothing really special, I think.
    See details as specified in my signature.
    No applications or mitigations manually added in HMP.A, only applications and mitigations as HMP.A added by default.
    So it was quite the surprise to me that several applications show as "not protected" in Running applications. :(
     
  7. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,549
    Location:
    .
    Okay, Thanks!!
     
  8. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,075
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Reinstalled Alert and FF is slooooow again. I'm using Cyberfox 45.0.3 x64 now and its running fine but have just been prompted to update it too. :doubt:

    Edit: Updated Cyberfox to 46 and it also appears to be running very slow.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  9. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    4,805
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Have scanned with HitMan Pro, EMIS 11. Watchdog Antimalware Premium (aka Zemana Antimalware Premium) they all show nothing but HMPA blocks operation of FireFox 46 32x on my Win 8.1 PC. Have disabled all components of HMPA except risk reduction. I'll take my chances until further notice from ericloman.
     
  10. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    918
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    Well,
    made a restore point, installed firefox 46 and did some testing....
    Didn't notice slow speed, but my XEON-Office machine isn't good for testing speed.
    Noticed occasionally crashes, maybe related to HMP.A, but not confirmed...

    Uninstalled Firefox, as I don't want to use it, and restored OS.

    The Brother will fix this, no doubt.
     
  11. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,751
    Off topic and just for your info:
    Tomorrow ( 27 April 2016 ) it is "King's Day" in The Netherlands. It is a national holiday; many companies and organisations are closed.
    Of course I cannot and will not speak for SurfRight, but anyways I thought I'd let you know.
    (And there will be more special days in the weeks coming; it is that time of the year)
     
  12. hotlips69

    hotlips69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Sussex. UK
    I've not had any issues recently until Firefox auto-updated itself to 46.0 (32-bit) from 45.0.2 and then at first it kept crashing every time I opened the browser, so I tried to disable all mitigations in HMP.A (b364) and it now opens, but VERY slowly indeed and uses at least 30% CPU compared to maybe 5% previously.

    There is seemingly something in Firefox 46.0 (32-bit) that doesn't like HMP.A and makes it crash/run very slowly.
    I'm running W8.1 (64-bit) with NOD32 antivirus.
     
  13. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Can you verify whether hmpalert.dll is injected in the process? Use Process Explorer to see if the DLL is listed.
     
  14. markloman

    markloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Hengelo
    HitmanPro.Alert 3.1.9 Build 368 Released

    Changelog
    • Improved compatibility with Firefox 46.
    • Improved SysCall mitigation (part of Control-Flow Integrity) on Windows 10 Redstone.
    • Improved Colored Window Border.
    • Improved hardware-assisted ROP mitigation performance.
    Download
    http://dl.surfright.nl/hmpalert31.exe

    Please let us know how this version runs on your computer :thumb:
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,075
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Yes, Firefox is running much better now, Mark.

    Thanks guys! :thumb:
     
  16. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    W7-x64 with hmp.alert build 368:
    The issue with FF46.0 seems to be solved indeed.

    Editted: the 'NOT PROTECTED' still exists running with only the default applications added by HMP.alert itself, nothing added manual by me!
    (Irfanview is not added to hmpa but used to capture the image)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  17. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,153
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    After updating to FF 46 x64 (Win 8.1 x64), it was unbearably slow, but no crashes as reported above. I did image restore back to FF 45.0.2 and speed was OK again.
    After reading above, it seems HMPA (367) and FF 46 did not like one another.
    Will test 368 with FF 46, but will image first. @Krusty13 gives me confidence :)
    Will report back.
     
  18. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    300
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Using Process Explorer (for the first time!): I do not see hmpalert.dll listed.
     

    Attached Files:

  19. eddiewood

    eddiewood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Posts:
    136

    Firefox 46 64bit on Windows 10 Pro 64bit is now running at a lower CPU usage.
     
  20. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    FF 46 has a new scripting engine which performs MASSIVE amount of allocations of executable heap memory. We ported back an improvement from version 3.5 (still in private beta) into 3.1 to solve the slowdown in FF 46.
     
  21. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    There should be an hmpalert.dll in both system32 and syswow64. Please check whether they exists, maybe your AV has removed one instance of hmpalert.dll.
     
  22. FleischmannTV

    FleischmannTV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Posts:
    1,094
    Location:
    Germany
    Do you know how to check with Process Explorer if a dll has been injected into a process? You need to press CTRL + F and search for hmpalert.dll. The protected application (Firefox or IrfanView, etc.) needs to be running as well.
     
  23. Valdez

    Valdez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    Location:
    ITALIA
    In Windows 7 64 bit patch KB3146706 prevents the correct operation of HitmanPro.Alert.
     
  24. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    490
    Location:
    italy
    (again), no problem to report so far (10 TH2, /overwrite):
    what should be shielded...is shielded, boot time is fast, CPU/RAM usage very light, ecc...
     

    Attached Files:

  25. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    By the looks of the KB article it is unlikely that this patch interferes with HMPA. That said, I will try to reproduce.

    UPDATE: I can confirm that 64-bit programs no longer get the hmpalert.dll on Windows 7 when KB3146706 is installed. 32-bit programs are unaffected. Expect update later today.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.