HitmanPro.ALERT Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by erikloman, May 25, 2012.

  1. GES/POR

    GES/POR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,490
    Location:
    Armacham
    Same here, guess i´m not active enough. Ahhh well.
     
  2. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    I tried after a long time HitMan Pro Alert but I got disappointed.

    I forgot to disable/uninstall EMET and what can I say one problem after another, Winrar not opened anymore, Thunderbird got startup crash. The scanning always crashed because the executed Hitman Pro x64 somehow crashed asfter xyz minutes.

    I know that EMET is normally not necessary but I expected that it somehow work together but this is what I get. Pretty strange. The test system was Ent. x64 Win 10 LTSB N.
     
  3. ropchain

    ropchain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Posts:
    335
    Or just don't use EMET and HMPA together. That is something that has been said many times in the past.
     
  4. Azure Phoenix

    Azure Phoenix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,259
    But it's important to remember that long ago it was stated in the HMP.A webpage that it was compatible with other anti-exploit solutions, though this was removed a couple of months ago. So, it is understandable if back then people attempted to use both.
     
  5. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    :thumb:
     
  6. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,649
    I personally will not ask for a free license, reason being is that I would rather support the developers, seems like solid extra protection along side the rest of my setup. Paid for a year and if all go's well I'll pay for another year, 25 bucks is not going to make me or break me.
     
  7. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    847
    Location:
    USA
    I believe that this Wilders community provides an awesome resource for all security minded folks, their friends, and family. In addition, this community provides an intangible asset http://www.valuadder.com/glossary/business-goodwill.html for the SurfRight developers, their security products and business, as well as their new owners, Sophos http://www.londonstockexchange.com/exchange/news/market-news/market-news-detail/SOPH/12622551.html. Mark and Erik's presence and interaction with their users is above and beyond what I have seen and experienced elsewhere.

    Congratulations on what you have accomplished, Mark and Erik, and thanks for a great product that makes us all safer on the web! Looking forward to the next step in this evolutionary product :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  8. peterk62

    peterk62 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Posts:
    51
    Why am I getting a "This computer already had a free trial" message when I try to get the 30-day trial license for HMPA on a machine which never had HMPA installed? I have used the free versions of HMP and HMPA 2 on other PCs but as far as I know I never activated any licenses; regardless, the machine where I am trying to get the HMPA trial is a relatively new Windows 10 box which was a clean install that never had any other HMP product on it.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,529
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I believe licenses are now tied to the machines hardware where before it was tied to the Operating System installation.
     
  10. hotlips69

    hotlips69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Sussex. UK
    I'm still getting this frustrating message when trying to use PDF XChange Viewer 2.5.318 to simply view .pdf documents.

    It's been perfect until this latest release.

    "Mitigation Lockdown

    Platform 6.3.9600/x64 06_3c
    PID 11552
    Application C:\Program Files\Tracker Software\PDF Viewer\PDFXCview.exe
    Description PDF-XChange Viewer 2.5

    Filename C:\Program Files\Tracker Software\PDF Viewer\PDFXCview.exe
    Created By C:\Users\Peaches\AppData\Local\Temp\is-836TP.tmp\PDFXVwer_2317.tmp


    Process Trace
    1 C:\Program Files\Tracker Software\PDF Viewer\PDFXCview.exe [11552]
    2 C:\Windows\explorer.exe [4364]
    3 C:\Windows\System32\userinit.exe [4296]"
     
  11. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Please see post: #8636
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2016
  12. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    466
    I was going to post something but then I read the post quoted above, which expresses exactly what I was going to say! :thumb:
     
  13. escalibur

    escalibur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Posts:
    118
    Huge respect for this! I think it's a win-win situation for both sides. Thank you for that.

    ps. Let's just hope that this thread wont turn into request spam flood.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  14. hmpa111

    hmpa111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Posts:
    11
    Is there any chance I could get one too please? :p
     
  15. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I understood that the general rule is: "being an active forum member for at least a couple of months"
     
  16. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,529
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Morally, if you provide useful logs while you test a beta to improve the program for others, then perhaps you earn your free licence... Just a thought. ;)
     
  17. test

    test Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Posts:
    492
    Location:
    italy
    Anyway stop please flooding the thread!
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  18. solitarios

    solitarios Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Posts:
    168


    Okay. The program does not support licenses for life, but you can create a valid license for more than 100,000 days ... and give it to me ... heh heh heh :ninja::isay::thumb:;):)
     
  19. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I just downloaded and installed the latest version I could get: 2.5.317 and run it without any issue.
    It was a clean install on my office machine (see signature)

    Where can I get V2.5.318 ? It seems not to exist..
     
  20. Armadax

    Armadax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Posts:
    19
    Location:
    Zuid-Holland
    How active is active? I do test every beta release posted here, but only report when there is something not working...
     
  21. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    W7-x64 with hmp.alert build 361:

    For test purpose I downloaded both files V2.5.317.0.zip and V2.5.317.0.exe(installer). There is NO V2.5.318!
    Installation with the .exe file goes fine and the program runs without issues after installation.

    However the .zip file runs into an hmp.alert 'mitigation lockdown' issue during the installation process.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  22. L10090

    L10090 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    Netherlands
    At the release of every new hmp.alert beta the developer asks: "Please let me know how this version runs on your computer"
    Reporting that there are NO problems/issues in your environment is also important news for the developer!
     
  23. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    @L10090 : Good find!

    So HMP.A does it's job well and stops executables in temp folder from creating new executables and run them.

    Although I could not reproduce your finding....

    For @hotlips69 the solution is easy:
    Download exe installer, or unzip downloaded file and install from unzipped folder.
     
  24. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    I uninstalled EMET and my Thunderbird/Winrar problem seems now gone, strange anyway.

    Everything seems to work now, except that I get exception code: 0xc0000005 and offset 0x0000000000176472 (0xf40) after ca 29% of scanning via hitmanpro_x64 (exactly on C:\Windows\Fronts\DeJaVuSerif.ttf). Possible this have something to do with that I set Fronts to audit (via EMET) but even with this it should not get such violation exception.

    Is there any workaround? I'm unsure because I'm not really into HitManPro Alert (free version). :isay:
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
  25. Timok

    Timok Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    Germany
    @erikloman

    What kind of ... is this? I had the old version 2 days on the computer an saw in your signature the "HitmanPro.Alert 3.1.8 Build 360 with CryptoGuard" and tried an update but the answer is

    HitmanAlert Update.jpg

    so my trail period was 2 days?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.