Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,638
    Location:
    USA
    3.8.20 Build 314
     
  2. Tinstaafl

    Tinstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    853
    Location:
    USA
    3.8.20 -Build 314 here. Updated today when I launched it.
     
  3. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
    Build 314 (2020-09-16)
    • IMPROVED: Updater
     
  4. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,366
    Scheduled task with /scanonly no longer runs in system tray. :ouch: Now it's in your face on the desktop. Previously the GUI would only appear if an alert occurred. /silent doesn't work either.

    That's an updater improvement?

    I haven't seen any posts from Mark or RonnyT in more than a month or so, whatever that means. :doubt:

    Anyone know if it's possible to disable the auto updater for HMP, so I can fall back to 312?
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2020
  5. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,306
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    I haven't noticed that with build 314? :doubt:
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,624
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    As per normal, when HMP updated the other day it stayed open after its daily scan. I found it open on both machines again today for some reason, although it looks to be the same build.
     
  7. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,306
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Yes you are right, just noticed it open, build 314.
     
  8. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,366
    I don't use the settings from HMP to schedule a scan. I created a task that runs using the Windows Task Scheduler. The point here is that the options /scanonly and /quiet have been deprecated in the last 314 release and HMP will no longer run silently from the system tray. If anyone is interested. the user manual describes how these 2 options should function. Both do the same thing except /quiet gives you a balloon message from the system tray telling you that it is scanning your computer whereas /scanonly is completely silent and only shows the icon until it ends and leaves silently if nothing is found.

    Rolled back to 312 and added reg entry below to try and keep it from updating. Not sure if it will work though. So far after running multiple times, it's still at 312.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\HitmanPro]
    "AutoUpdate"=dword:00000000
    
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2020
  9. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Nope, those are not deprecated, there must be something else at play here.
    Can you PM me the Task details so we can try to reproduce on our end?
     
  10. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,366
    just launch the installed 314 program with /scanonly or /quiet and it will open the GUI which it should not do.
     
  11. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,366
    @RonnyT
    314 is now behaving itself, so it may have been related to the infra structure downtime you mentioned having. Why that should affect the /scanonly or /quiet GUI behavior is beyond me.
     
  12. Sladen

    Sladen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    Germany
    Could someone tell me where I can find Early Warning Scoring in Hitman Pro Alert. I'm searching for this great feature that I still remember from a few years ago.
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    36,659
    Early Warning Scoring Feature (Hitman Pro Alert):
    HitmanPro_EWS_Gui.png
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,478
    Location:
    Outer space
  15. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,042
    Location:
    Slovenia
    I have one question.
    On their site they say: " Two heads are better than one. So we have four. HitmanPro leverages malware databases from four security labs, including SophosLabs, to be incredibly thorough when scanning for and cleaning up spyware and malware. More research means more powerful cleaning."

    Which other three databases are included?
     
  16. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    16,421
    Location:
    UK
    Perhaps this may help?

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thr...iscussion-thread.236732/page-333#post-2886492
     
  17. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,042
    Location:
    Slovenia
  18. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,868
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    How do I go about adding a permanent exclusion to HMP? I'm using the Sandboxie build 5.43.7, which has an unsigned certificate. Naturally, HMP flags with as being malware. But I want to add it as an exclusion but cannot. I've tried the "report that this file is safe" option but it fails to upload it every time. How can I make it so HMP doesn't detect this?
     
  19. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
    Within a week a signed version of Sandboxie Plus.

    See: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/sandboxie-plus-sbie-fork.427755/page-37#post-2971002
     
  20. Adric

    Adric Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,366
    Create a text file with the path and filename of the exe you want to exclude. When starting hmp use the additional option /excludelist=<path of text file>
     
  21. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    v. 3.8.20 build 314. Lately, like within the past week, the scan time has consistently increased from around 50 seconds to about 1 minute, 20 seconds +/-. Not shabby of itself but not typical for here either. I have not meaningfully increased the amt. of files and folders on here in this time frame. Direct disk access is enabled.

    Can anyone verify, and/or think of a reasonable explanation?
     
  22. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,441
    Scan time has also increased here from about 50 to 60 seconds to about 100 to 110 seconds. It's still prettty fast, but it used to be even faster.
     
  23. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Good, thank you for confirming and your observations match what I've been seeing. It seems some little things are slowing down here and there so it's good to get a second opinion at times. .
     
  24. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    535
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Yesterday I started a scan with HMP nad I noticed it waiting to upload a sticky note from my desktop. The note contained an email address and the password. It suddenly occured to me that possibly sensitive files could be uploaded to wherever. It was extremely naive of me not to think of this before. Does anyone know if these files can be seen or stored. I'm not making any aspersions just curious, thanks
     
  25. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Back down to a 44 sec.scan time again, hope it stays that way.

    Whatever it uploads, I trust SurfRight to do the right thing. Uploading a Sticky Note like that, that's kind of unusual. You can ask support@hitmanpro.com if you want :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.