Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    HitmanPro build 312

    Changelog

    • FIXED: Security Issue.
    We fixed a security issue that could lead to a privilege escalation scenario. This means when another product is using HitmanPro and starts it with higher privileges than the logged in user, some features are no longer enabled, as they could be abused to manually launch a (malicious) application with those privileges.

    Download
    32-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro.exe
    64-bit https://dl.surfright.nl/HitmanPro_x64.exe
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2020
  2. plat1098

    plat1098 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Posts:
    747
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    Hello.

    What's the Security Issue? Thanks.
     
  3. deugniet

    deugniet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    954
    No problems upgrading/updating build 312.

    Win10 1909 build 18363.752 x64/Norton Security v22.20.1.69
     
  4. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Is there an uninstaller tool to flush out HMP, and HMPA?
     
  5. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    What's wrong with the regular uninstall options?
     
  6. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    It leaves Program Data folder, and a lot of registry entries.
     
  7. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    There is a reason that some files are left behind, but if you do a regular uninstall and take care of these 2 items you should be good to go.

    HMP
    C:\ProgramData\HitmanPro
    HKLM\Software\HitmanPro

    HMPA
    C:\ProgramData\HitmanPro.Alert
    HKLM\Software\HItmanPro.Alert
     
  8. Circuit

    Circuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Posts:
    939
    Location:
    Land o fruits and nuts, and more crime.
    Thanks!
     
  9. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    126
    Would it be possible if you could to notify Sophos that there page for release notes needs updating..(still shows build 310)...

    Thanks....https://www.hitmanpro.com/en-us/whatsnew.aspx
     
  10. RonnyT

    RonnyT QA Engineer

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Posts:
    293
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Thanks we are aware of this "issue".
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,616
  12. mrpink

    mrpink Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Posts:
    395
  13. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,478
    Location:
    Outer space
    No detections over here. If you don't attach the scan log or send it to support, it will be hard to get to the bottom of this.(You also probably need to let it complete the scan first before saving the log.)
     
  14. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,441
    Just did a full scan with HitManPro. No detection here, either. As mentioned above, do a full scan and send the scan log to support.
     
  15. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    126
  16. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,853
    The whole world is currently suffering the coronavirus. Let's give companies and their people some time, please.
     
  17. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    126
    Thats fine, BUT this is hardly a legitimate (cough) excuse....Have you not heard about people Working at home!!!!
    AND this is NOT something new for them..(being slack in not reporting updates)...has happened repeatedely before covid 19 was ever heard of...
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2020
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,616
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,616
    +1

    Hitman Pro -> Sophos -> Thoma Bravo ......
     
  20. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,307
    Location:
    Hawaii
    In some Hi-Tech companies, their *smart talent* has the job of keeping their products on the cutting edge of technology. They are well paid and have a loud voice in all the company meetings. The website maintenance crew is paid much much less. They are rarely invited to company meetings and they're expected to keep their mouths shut when the smart folks are talking. Maybe this is the case at HMP; maybe not.
     
  21. cyberlost24

    cyberlost24 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Posts:
    126
    Not to belabor a dead horse here,but I don,t understand your logic....Are you saying because the "website maintenance crew" are being paid much much less,they don,t want to do there job...for me, that doesn,t ring any bells...
     
  22. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,307
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Read my post again, especially the part that says, "They are rarely invited to company meetings and they're expected to keep their mouths shut when the smart folks are talking."

    Webmaster crews and PR folks and marketing folks are often not kept fully up-to-date as to the latest developments and initiatives, especially within high-tech companies. This often leads to poor communications between the company's hi-tech leaders and the company's PR & marketing worker bees. The website crews can't publish matters whereof they haven't been informed. In years of management consulting, I found this was a problem in many such organizations.
     
  23. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    6,638
    Location:
    USA
    Were there computers in those days? :gack:
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,616
    Off topic:
    It's a matter of communication or organization?
    In well organized companies, the above mentioned issue (release notes) is the exemption , not the rule.
    All the rest are excuses and if someone is looking for excuses always he can find a lot, imo.
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,307
    Location:
    Hawaii
    This is my final OT episode in this thread or the mods will clobber me.

    The IBM 650 RAMAC dominated in those days. It was a big mainframe computer with several tape drives and row upon row of flashing lights (right out of a Star Trek episode). Its environs had to be air-conditioned. Most stuff was in COBOL although I wrote a few linear programming programs in FORTRAN. I was privileged to shake hands (before COVID-19, of course) with R. Adm. Grace Hopper, one of COBOL's main progenitors. Adm Hopper gave all her students a nanosecond. I still have mine. It's a bit of copper wire that is 11.8" long (the distance that electricity travels in a nanosecond). There are many such "Hopper souvenirs" in existence -- she was a popular and totally amazing lecturer.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.