Hitman Pro Support and Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by yashau, Mar 20, 2009.

  1. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Hitman Pro also has a Winsock Repair. If you run Hitman Pro then Hitman will offer to repair the Winsock LSP chain just like winsock fix does.
    Hitman Pro can be used without internet connection if you check EWS.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  2. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    I really think that hitman can't detect much of anything other than false positives:
    http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/processlibrary/digstream/

    Hitman was the only thing that I have ran on the pc other than running a winsock repair. No clean up utilities like crap cleaner, I have not manually gone through and deleted files in the temp folders, I have not performed any type of vacuum cleaning.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Hitman Pro found it suspicious enough to submit it to the scan cloud.
    Please expand the node so we can see which vendor marked this file as malware.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  4. Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Well i have found it to detect a lot of stuff other products do not. i use this on a daily basis along with other tools cleaning out clients machines I have found very little inclination of Hitman Pro being prone to false positives. Keep up the superb work erikloman
     
  5. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    here you go
     

    Attached Files:

  6. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    That is good, I used to do this on a daily basis (actually 3-5 pc's a day for a year and a half) and became too monotonous for me to keep my sane. Much rather build networks and support corporate users than deal with this crap on a daily basis. I can usually get a pc 100% clean within a 3 hr window.

    Trying this utility because it was recommended, posting here because the programmers frequent here. Otherwise this utility would have been tossed in the trash bin a week ago after I tried it the first time and saw the false positive results with no legit malware. I am not really trying to discredit this utility, I want to help make it better.
     
  7. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    So 2 of our partners marked this file malicious.

    I just checked on VirusTotal and this file is marked by 24 (out of 40 = 58%) vendors as malware.

    If you search for DIGstream on the internet, most of the things you'll find is about how to remove it.
     
  8. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    That's good o_O. ESPN is dishing out malware. Do you want to tell them or should I?

    Let me ask this, being that it is considered malware, why is it considered malware? Is it because it takes up system resources or is it because it communicates to the ESPN network? I am confused, please unconfuse me.

    It is part of ESPN Motion which is ESPN's video player, if you wanted to know what it was.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  9. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    I think it is possibly a PUA (potentially unwanted application).

    See also ~ Snipped VirusTotal Link per Policy ~.

    I will further look into this file tomorrow morning.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 22, 2009
  10. Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    greetings sc302, well all your info i'm sure will tighten up and make Hitman Pro better, and the funny thing i went back to doing disinfection I switched from doing networks, could not stand those pompus corporate types. Let me correct that a tad, some were pompus. I'd rather have a personal computer user think I am the best thing since sliced bread once their pc is clean and working. But your right it all gets a little old and boring.
     
  11. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    woo hoo, comres.dll is infected. great.
     
  12. erikloman

    erikloman Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Posts:
    3,152
    Location:
    Hengelo, The Netherlands
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    I need a bit more info than this as we have 200 different comres.dll files in our scan cloud. Which vendors classified it as malicious?
     
  13. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    don't worry about it, combofix deemed it as infected and removed the infection. Didn't say what it was infected with, just removed the file. I will attach a full combofix log if you wish. or if you want I can zip up the quarantine and log and mail it to you. whatever you need or prefer.
     
  14. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Heh, I agree wholeheartedly. I really enjoy the smile on the customers' face & payment for services rendered. Not to mention all of the referrals that go along with it. This has been my best year ever. :D
     
  15. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    73,065
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    sc302, FYI, please review this Wilders Policy. If you post that log, it will be removed.

    JR
     
  16. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Just for clarification, HJT and Combofix aren't even close to one in the same. sc302 is posting it to benefit erikoman and the HMP team. If that is also against forum rules so be it.
     
  17. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    73,065
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    EliteKiller, if you read that Policy, it states (blue highlight is mine):
    The only exception would be:
    Since erikloman is neither a moderator or specially titled forum expert, the log would be removed. Log sharing is best handled by PM, should both parties be willing to do so.

    JR
     
  18. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Duly noted. I completely skipped the small print disclaimer. :blink: :gack:
     
  19. JRViejo

    JRViejo Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    73,065
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    EliteKiller, no problem. Many members miss that disclaimer, and the Policy exception as well. Take care.

    JR
     
  20. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    not exactly asking for help with it, nor for it to be analyize for my benefit. I do not need help with it, nor am I asking for help with it. If you feel that you need to delete it because that I am asking for help with it that is fine, but I am not nor will I ever be asking for help with a combofix or hijackthis log here (I have never asked for help before to analyize one, I don't think I am going to start now) and I have not asked anyone here to analyize it for anything wilderssecurity related. But I thank you for the warning.

    To make it perfectly clear of what I am asking, I am trying to get a piece of software to function in a fashion that is usable and does not produce unwarranted or undesired results.

    To Erik:
    Again the option still stands if you want me to zip it and email it, I can (unless this is breaking some sort of other rule).
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  21. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    is ther an updated ETA for Build 79 and Build 80?
     
  22. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,068
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Yes I can't wait for the new features Quarantine is a must :thumb: keep up the good work SurfRight Team!

    TH
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    same :D
     
  24. sc302

    sc302 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    21
    Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    just scanned my work computer, and would you believe that it picked up combofix.exe as a spyware application, and part of symantec clean up (a clean up tool distributed by symantec to automatically remove symantec antivirus 10 without manually going through deleting registry keys and files) as malware.....screen shot available. At this point I have to lol, where ever you pull these software lists need to really be looked at for validity because some of this is really off the wall.

    You guys can pm me if you want to work with me offline. I will allow you to use my services for free in order to help iron some of this stuff out.

    I am glad that this product has worked great for others, however with the way most techs work (vacuum cleaning, running fast scanners followed by through long scanners (spybot and/or combofix would be considered light scanners, symantec antivirus and/or malwarebytes would be considers thorough scanners) this program isn't exactly feesable to use being that the files must remain resident for this software to get it all when the first step could get rid of enough of the infection to render hitman useless in complete cleansing of the system.....This product is lacking esp when you guys want to charge for use after 30 days.
     
  25. Re: Anyone tried out Hitman Pro?

    Agreed, i use multiple scanners MBAM, SAS, Hitman Pro, Avast, Norton and numerous online AV scanners and the others you mentioned, cannot rely on Hitman Pro saying its clean or infected need to rely on a thorough tool box. Hitman Pro is just part of the tool box. You made a great point if one thinks he's done cleaning out malware guess again start another scan.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.