High Risk User

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Gargoyle, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gargoyle

Gargoyle Registered Member

A little background on myself, I use the internet quite liberally. Rapidshare, Megaupload, BitTorrent, and mIRC are used on any given day to get all kinds of software, movies, music, etc. My hard drive is constantly getting new content and deleting old stuff too. Because of such, I defrag often and consider getting PerfectDisk. I visit websites that I probably shouldn't be going to and do a bit of gaming on the side. If there is a brand new virus/trojan going around, I'll likely be one of the first people to be infected.

Based on my profile and subsequent discovery of this forum, I feel I need better protection for my computer. There is just an overload of available software and as a newbie, I have a tough time picking out which to get. There is a huge topic on everyone's computer setup but that left me more confused than enlightened. Furthermore, installing too many security software could do as much harm as the malware themselves.

The following are on my computer:

Powershadow
    Kaspersky Anti-Virus
    Comodo Firewall
    SuperAntiSpyware (free)
    Asquared (free)

I plan to re-format my hard drive and start from scratch. Speaking of which, whenever I re-format, I see a small partition on my hard drive that can't be touched. Is this normal or something I should look into further?

One software I'm not getting for sure is FD-ISR. In its place, I plan to use ERUNT and Bart's PE along with a backup image stored on a USB drive.

2. screamer

screamer Registered Member

You have all your basics covered. Only addition I'd suggest is perhaps "LinkScanner" from: http://linkscanner.com/ With this you may be alerted prior to getting infected when you visit a bad website.

If you have a box from one of the big boys: Dell, HP / Compaq... It's probably a restore partition.

hth,

...screamer