HELP! what is loadsvc.exe?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by James314, Aug 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. James314

    James314 Guest

    Outpost blocked loadsvc.exe at system startup today, what is it? Is it a worm or virus? I recently installed preempt, does it have anything to do with that?


    please help!

    James.
     
  2. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    8,723
    Location:
    The Big Smoke
  3. James314

    James314 Guest

    DAMN! i am protected by nod32, ewido, pg, spyware guard, adaware, spybot, microsoft antispyware and preempt as well as other hardening tools and i have bitdefender as an ondemand scanner, HOW DID THIS HAPPEN! can anyone please give me advice on how to get rid of it please?

    thanks,

    J.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2005
  5. James314

    James314 Guest

    I read that link but it doesnt really tell me how to deal with it. I found the process in task manager and stopped it and then Preempt stopped working. Does this therefore mean that it is legitimate or that it has attached itself onto Preempt somehow?

    thanks again,

    J.
     
  6. James314

    James314 Guest

    oh yeah and here is the hijack this log:

    Sorry for the confusion. Wilders no longer does hijack logs. I added the link in my post above to forums that do analyze logs.

    This link offers suggestions on how to get rid of trojans.
    If you are not comfortable doing anything related to cleaning your computer, don't do it. Post a log and get instructions.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2005
  7. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Hi I downloaded PreEmpt as well to give it a try,
    and I had a similar reaction from OutPostPro after
    reboot, doing search on my computer I found this
    C:\Program Files\PivX\PreEmpt\loadsvc.exe check
    to see if yours is the same.

    Regards,

    Wake
     
  8. James314

    James314 Guest

    yes thats the same one! So its legit right? Is there anyway of getting outpost to leave it alone?

    J.
     
  9. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Yes, that belongs to PreEmpt.. PreEmpt checks every 6 hours, and auto-updates it's protection settings when PivX finds new vulnerabilities. So yes, you want to allow it access. :)

    I'm happy to see someone else using hardening tools.. you've got a good setup! (similar to mine) :D :D
     
  10. James314

    James314 Guest

    well actually, its thanks to your web page that i have good hardening tools; you recommended some great software, software that id never even heard of! Lastly, do you know how i can get outpost to leave preempt alone?

    thanks,


    J.
     
  11. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    Portland, OR (USA)
    Haha, good deal! :D Glad people are getting something out of the pages. I'm just getting ready to update now.

    Unfortunately I don't have any real experience with Outpost, so mabye someone that uses it can jump in. However you should be able to go into the rules and allow it access.. once you have a rule to allow it in place, I would think it would leave it alone.
     
  12. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Hi James,

    I agree with you after reading some threads
    by Notok, and his links I to have been trying
    his recommended system hardening tools and so
    far no problems, thanks Notok for the links !!

    Far as PreEmpt and OPPro, it is my opinion that
    the Pivx program updates daily and OpPro notices
    the changes, so you receive these warnings, it is
    normal, and I find its one of the few programs I
    have on this computer that OpPro continues to throw
    up warnings about, and you could certainly post over
    at the Outpost forum see if any of the pro's have any
    advice about this, only work around I could see is to
    disable component control monitoring which I didnt do.


    Regards,

    Wake
     
  13. James314

    James314 Guest

    ok ill do that! Thanks for the help everyone!

    J.
     
  14. James314

    James314 Guest

    ahhh! ok, so its getting annoying now. Everytime i start up i get the message from outpost that loadsvc.exe is trying to alter physical memory (or somehting to that effect anyway). Surely there is some way to get outpost to leave it alone; disabling component control seems a bit drastic.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

    J.
     
  15. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Hi James,

    Go to options, application, PreEmpt, click
    component control, and disable was the
    only work around I found to all of the
    Outpost complaints about PreEmpt.

    Seemed a little drastic to me to and so
    I uninstalled it after that and am now
    trialing Online Armor.

    Good Luck to you,

    Wake
     
  16. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    James, I gave u incorrect advice, sry, the solution i found
    for OutPostPro is to go options, application, find LOADSVC.EXE,
    click process memory control, add, C:\ProgramFiles\Pivx\PreEmpt\
    LOADSVC.EXE. than click ok, apply, ok and reboot.

    Outpost will quiet down after that about PreEmpt.

    Regards,

    Wake
     
  17. James314

    James314 Guest

    excellant! thats just what i was looking for! Thanks for the help.

    J.
     
  18. Wake2

    Wake2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Posts:
    205
    Your welcome James, glad it worked.

    Wake
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.