Heimdal Free and Pro

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by JEAM, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    Ok it's all new to me. Looks like I have some homework to do. :D
     
  2. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,057
    75% Discount - Heimdal Pro (4 PCs)
    (mentioned on the website of Heimdal)
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    Anyone here at Wilders still using this product by chance?
     
  4. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,313
    Location:
    France
    Yep (pro version) !
     
  5. kdcdq

    kdcdq Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2002
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Southwestern Massachusetts
    I am running the Pro version as well on several systems.
     
  6. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    Yes, I have Pro on one PC and Free on another PC.

    Pro version recently got a new feature, "VectorN Detection."
     
  7. pablozi

    pablozi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    Oudenbosch
    Pro version here.
     
  8. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    You think it would be ok to use with EIS or would that be overkill?
     
  9. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    I don't think that would be overkill, but rather an additional layer of defense.

    I don't use EIS, though, so I can't comment on it specifically.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,711
    Gotcha. Thanks man.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    yep, using it myself and the best version yet
     
  12. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I agree
     
  13. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Didn't know it was still part of your arsenal.

    I persisted with Pro for some time, but I had too many issues, DNS dropouts IIRC.

    Reluctant to fork out to try it again, too pricey.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    I've had problems in the past, but the latest version is playing nicely. I bought when I got the family plan for $17 US. Watch for a sale.
     
  15. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    I had problems like that back in the spring: all of a sudden, my PC running Heimdal Pro would lose Internet access.

    At first I thought the NIC was acting up, but after a lot of fiddling with settings, somehow I got the idea (can't remember how) that it might be related to Heimdal. So I disabled its Traffic Filtering, changed the IPv4 DNS server in my network adapter to OpenDNS, and the problem went away.

    But that's one of Heimdal's main features, so I contacted their tech support to report the issue and ask if they had any solutions. They were very helpful. They told me to put Heimdal on the Norton exclusions list; add certain IP addresses for Heimdal to the Norton Firewall; and re-enable Traffic Filtering. The problem hasn't come back. :thumb:
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
  17. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    321
    Just checked -- it's at 2.2.170.
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    :thumb:
     
  19. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,090
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2017
  21. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    +1. Playing nicely, as you say, with none of my previous issues.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Well I may have to unagree. I was seeing some strange things going on. Took off Pro and they have gone.
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    Will have to keep an eye on it then.

    Care to elaborate what 'strange things going on'?
     
  24. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    19,295
    Strange lags in internet behavior, problems with Outlook, etc.
     
  25. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,559
    Location:
    The etherlands
    I also have had to uninstall it. Appeared to have some confict with AppGuard, unless it was AppGuard was in 'Allow installs' mode! Adding Heimdal Pro .exes to AppGuard Power Applications didn't help.
     
Loading...