GHOST CSS W2K INSTALLATION PROBS

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by Dieter Bressem, Dec 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all,

    Did a new installation on my old W2K-machine (latest SPs and Bugfixes).

    Before: Regdefend running (latest version without problems). Also Processguard 3.150.

    IMHO APPDEFEND is more userfriendly and hazzlefree, so I decided to deinstall PG and Regdefend and start with GSS from the ground up.

    a) Deinstallation ok, I also deleted the remaining folders, then did a reboot
    b) First installed Appdefend and registered --> ok
    c) Installed Regefend - Error writing to registry (RC=5), Regdefend available and working, but Appdefend disappeared from the GSS-GUI.
    d) powered down the machine, then both products are shown, registration ok.
    e) Updating all the time, downloading gss.exe. Message "Need to shutdown gss", but no restart again
    f) ok, uninstalled again, this time installing Regdefend first. But same as before
    installing the second product error writing to registry. After cold start ok.
    g) Now I always get the popup "Update available" "Downloading gss.exe" "Gss needs to restart". But it won't restart !.

    After rebooting everything ok again, but the annoying box "Updates available" will pop up a few minutes later, driving you mad.

    If you do an manual update then always downloading, restarting and nothing happens. Not able to recognize that you already have the latest version.
    Using my XP-machine I have no problems at all.

    Any solution ?

    Dieter
     
  2. nick s

    nick s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Posts:
    1,430
    Hi Dieter,

    RegDefend 2.001 is available as a standalone app. However, if you want to use AppDefend, you have to uninstall the original standalone RegDefend. AppDefend 1.000 and RegDefend 2.050 now are components of Ghost Security Suite 1.110. Installing the original GSS (RD only) along with the new (RD+AD), as you are doing, will create problems like the ones you are seeing.

    Nick
     
  3. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Nick,

    thanks for your answer, but I downloaded the latest versions and they are shown in the GSS-GUI as you mentioned.
    I think something is remaining in the registry from the first installation/deinstallation of the standalone Regdefend. That's why I always get an write error to the registry when installing the second program.
    Everything is working. I just need a registry fix preventing GSS always looking for updates and installing them.
    If I deinstall everything and try again I am sure that the same situation will occur. Maybe I will try again.

    Dieter
     
  4. gottadoit

    gottadoit Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Posts:
    601
    Location:
    Australia
    Dieter,
    I was wondering what you were meaning when you said
    Does that mean that you first installed GSS (which is both AppDefend and Regdefend) and then subsequently installed the standalone RegDefend ?
     
  5. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Did I miss something ?. You cannot download the whole package, or is Regdefend included in Appdefend o_O?

    I tried again:

    a) Deinstallation of Ghost Security Suite
    b) Cleaning the Registry with Registry First Aid and searched the registry for "Ghost"-Entries - nothing found.
    c) Powered down the machine then restart
    d) Deleting the remaining Gss- Folder
    e) downloaded Appdefend and Regdefend from the GSS-Website
    f) First installed Appdefend. The GUI shows Appdefend a n d Regdefend !!! both as unlimited registered version (that's ok)

    This time no write error to the registry but still updating again and again.
    After updating no restart of the application. cold- or warmstart same result
    Status "There are updates available" . If I do an update ,message shown "Last connection to server 1th january". 5 minutes later again:"There are updates available". Then every x minutes a box pops up that updates are available.

    Don't know what to do else.

    Dieter
     
  6. Disciple

    Disciple Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Posts:
    292
    Location:
    Ellijay, Georgia - USA
    What second program? When you install GSS you are installing both AppDefend and RegDefend at the same time. If you have purchased a license for either/both you only need to enter each programs appropriate serial number to have the full version.

    If I were having this problem and wanted to start with as "clean" a registry as possible, after uninstalling GSS I would open my registry editor and go to HKLM > Software > Ghost Security > GhostSecuritySuite and delete that key. Then look under HKU > for a similar entry and delete it as well. (note: backup/export these settings before deleting) Now I would reboot and reinstall GSS only and insert any license keys I own.
     
  7. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all,

    this is my 3. and last attempt to make it work.

    a) Deinstalled again

    b) rebooting --> deleting the folder and registry entries manually.

    c) Installed just Appdefend: looking good, because both products are installed and I have to enter the registration details.:rolleyes:

    d) Rebooting again --> checking for updates --> downloading and installing (3 files)

    e) Rebooting again --> checking again for update:

    STATUS: last checked for an update on 02 January 2006

    Then still the same: "There are updates available for download. Do you want to download them now ?"

    Again gss.exe is downloading, no restart coming up.

    Starting again " STATUS: There are updates available"

    ok, I have holiday and a Flat rate, no big problem for me: Downloading again, powered off, checking again: "There are updates available" ...:D

    Maybe it will stop one day .:D

    Using XP it is working STATUS: "Ghost Security Suite is currently up to date"

    Dieter
     
  8. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi Dieter, I'm using W2K-SP4 and when I installed GSS I didn't have to reboot, GSS was simply installed. I entered both serial numbers, checked for updates and did get one which simply asked me to close GSS, then reopen it, without requiring a reboot. I haven't tried uninstalling it though.

    It's working happily with Process Guard 3.20 and Online Armor 1.1.0.595.

    However, when I try a new program, I first install it in a 'test' snapshot in Raxcos's First Defense ISR so that if I have problems, I just copy the 'primary' snapshot to the 'test' snapshot which eliminates the need to go hunting for stray folders, registry entries, etc. to remove/delete. This is not a sales pitch, really, but FD-ISR is a great way to save time when testing, among other things.

    Jim
     
  9. jwcca

    jwcca Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    716
    Location:
    Toronto
    Hi Dieter,

    Open the Settings and uncheck the Autotomatically Check for Updates which will stop the annoying popups. But you're quite right that GSS isn't recognizing that it's been updated to the most recent level. I'll look for a thread on this and if none, I'll start one. After all, I'm on a dialup connections and don't want to download the same files over and over either...

    Cheers, Jim

    edit: see the thread in AppDefend with an explanation from Nick S
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=113927
    Jim
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2006
  10. Dieter Bressem

    Dieter Bressem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Jim,

    I already read your new thread this morning .
    Thanks alot !
    BTW: My W2K- machine is online now for 5 hours but didn't get the box up to now, though the "Automatic update-box" is enabled (o_O). Maybe Jason is already fixing the problem.:rolleyes:
    But clicking the "Checking for update button" same procedure as before.

    @ Admin: I think this thread can be closed, because just the "updating problem" is remaining

    Thanks again
    Dieter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.