Free Firewall (EVORIM)

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by ichito, Apr 26, 2016.

  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    guest

    I was just looking at Wireshark and do not see anything suspicious. although I do at present have it installed in shadow mode.
     
  2. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    Southern California
    Great.

    Keep us informed.
     
  3. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    is there anyway to look at site visited in real time with this app? it doesn't seem to log anything.

    that said it is a super easy to use firewall.
     
  4. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    Southern California
    I found
    EVORIM
    Looking thru the registry.

    Can't remember what is will but I will check again

    Thanks guys.:)
     
  5. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    885
    Location:
    Southern California
    Must check it out.

    Thanks
     
  6. bORN2BWILD

    bORN2BWILD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Greece
    Just did a few hours test of this firewall, on my W10-64bit.

    In paranoid mode, i saw programs to be able to connect to the Internet while they showed BLOCKED. For example my FlashFXP 5 ftp client.

    So i had to actually uninstall the firewall, maybe not ready yet.
     
  7. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Do any of you use your routers firewall along side Windows Firewall? they usually come shipped with it off like mine. mine has these settings off, low, medium, high.
     
  8. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    here is an example of my router firewall settings.
    the second screen shot is only about one third of the settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. bORN2BWILD

    bORN2BWILD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Location:
    Greece

    No nothing. I uninstalled WFC, rebooted and instaled this. Nothing else.
     
  10. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Yup, same experience here.
     
  11. co22

    co22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    router
  12. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    6,345
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Is anyone still using / testing this firewall?

    Any thoughts about stability and performance?
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    11,365
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Based on what I've read, it did have potential but seems like it's simply not good enough, and has some serious bugs/flaws.
     
  14. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    829
    I thought i could give it a go.
    Big mistake.

    The configuration seemed simplistic, perhaps I overestimated my skills having used extensively OA, PV.

    The point is, i installed that gizmo on my wife's laptop and now commands copy/ paste, drag n drop no longer work.

    I uninstalled the firewall - nothing has changed.
    I installed it again, set all the rules to ALLOW, disabled the firewall [evorim], used Revo to uninstall it - still no go.


    Any type of assistance will be grately appreciated, gents.
    Or else my wife is gonna kill me for making her laptop unusable.
     
  15. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    11,453
    Location:
    UK
    Have you tried running an elevated SFC ? (system File Check)
     
  16. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    829
    Have started running of the sfc as we speak...

    will report back when it is done

    //edit
    no errors found

    any other suggestions?

    Just found out this: when I use RM and choose the proper command - move/ copy - it works just fine.

    I guess I won't bother you with this issue.

    Will finish backing up files and restore the system for my wife and never look at evorim's product again.

    peace
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2017
  17. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    3,094
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I doubt that issue was caused by this firewall, though it blocks telemetry, so it might have blocked Windows keylogger, I disable it and it prevents typing/copy/paste in store apps, Start, Edge.
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,379
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    :eek: I hope rather SFC is still running ...

    Edit: Oops, looks like that didn't help.
     
  19. korben

    korben Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    829
    What's more a day later, not having noticed the aforementioned issue, I installed crystalsecurity, then uninstalled both being 100% one of the must be the culprit.

    Am I mistaken?
     
  20. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    You can always do a CTL C to copy highlighted material and use CTL V to paste it.
     
  21. imuade

    imuade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Italy
  22. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,403
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone have any other words about Evoim Free Firewall? I have been playing with it and seems to be OK.
     
  23. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    800
    Hi @ Rainwalker

    Tried this some time ago but I and others found problems with programs being able to connect to the internet when they were supposed to be blocked. I just checked on Evorims web site and looked at recent changelogs. There is no mention of correcting this problem.

    If you do a search you will find a fair critique along the lines of mine across a number of web sites. Hope this helps

    Terry
     
  24. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,403
    Location:
    USA
    OK, thanks Terry. I just started using it and noticed that programs running as a service had to be addressed not only under ALL but also under SERVICES. I'll keep an eye on it and maybe contact the dev.
    Can't write rules. Dropped it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2018
  25. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,920
    I've been looking for an easy to use/configure etc FW on this Win 8.1 as i Really miss the early version of ZA i had on XP. I tried the current free ZA on here, but it's NOT anywhere as friendy etc as the XP one i had. Plus, you can't full screen the program either as you could before !

    So installed this briefly in Shadow Defender mode to evaluate it, & it didn't require a reboot which is nice.

    I already have TinyWall controlling the inbuilt Win FW, & i operated these in tandem as it says we can, which is also nice.

    On launching, i liked the fact it had already highlighted several Programs & Services & OS files etc for my attention. I was then free to allow/deny whichever i wanted to have access out.
    I had no issues connecting or using the www.

    Even though i had several other Telemetry blockers in place, i enabled the option as any possible extra are welcome.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.