Dual Layer DVD Media

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Maxx, Apr 21, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maxx

    Maxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    I have been trying to use dual layer DVDs for images to avoid swapping media during restore and have run into a bit of a problem:

    Using Roxio Drag-to-Disk to format the DVD and Home Version 9, I have successfully created a good image of a little over 5GB.

    Using a bootable rescue CD to boot for a restore, when asked for the location of the image to restore, Acronis does not see anything on the DVD. I suspect this may be because, without Roxio, the dual layer media is not recognized.

    Additional stuff:
    Drive: Plextor PX-716AL
    Media: Verbatim DVD+R DL
    ATI: Home Version 9
    Operating System: XP Pro

    Does anyone have any solutions or suggestions on how to fix this problem?

    Thanks

    Maxx
     
  2. bVolk

    bVolk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2005
    Posts:
    954
    Hi Maxx,

    I don't remember seing any reports of imageing to dual layer DVD. I would suggest you try the 2-step method, to exclude the direct write issue. The 2-step method involves storing the image on HDD first and then copying it normally to DVD. If you don't have a second HD, you can store the image temporarily to the same HD you are imageing. You will get a warning, but since you will be moving the image to another locaton, there is no problem.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2006
  3. the_Wop

    the_Wop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    USA
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Maxx,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Actually, dual layer DVDs are supported and can be used in the same way as usual DVDs.

    First of all, please make sure that you use the latest build (3567) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home which is available at: http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/support/updates/

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window.

    To get access to updates you should create an account at:
    http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/my/
    then log in and use your serial number to register your software.

    Please uninstall any previously installed build by following Start -> Settings -> Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs -> Acronis True Image, prior to installing build 3567.

    Create new Bootable Rescue CD after installing the update, boot your computer from this CD and see if the problem still persists.

    If the problem still persists with Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (3567) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home then please also make sure that you format your dual layer DVDs into UDF version 2.1 or lower as UDF versions higher than 2.1 are not yet supported in Linux based Acronis Rescue Environment, i.e. when using Acronis Startup Recovery Manager or Bootable Rescue CD.

    If that does not help and images placed on DVD are still not recognized in Acronis Rescue Mode even in case of using UDF version 2.1 or lower then please provide us with the following information:

    - Create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    - Let us know the exact vendor and model of your DVD burner;

    - What type of dual layer DVDs did you use?

    - Can images saved to DVD(s) using two-step method mentioned above by bVolk (see the respective FAQ article for details) be recognized when your computer is booted from Bootable Rescue CD created using the latest build (3567) of Acronis True Image 9.0 Home?

    - Boot the computer from Acronis True Image 9.0 Home Bootable Rescue CD once more and create Linux system information (sysinfo.txt) as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please note that sometimes the sysinfo.txt file is not readable from under Windows. In this case please try entering the file name using capital letters (SYSINFO.TXT) or follow the instructions provided in this previous post of mine.

    If you do not have a floppy drive then please take a look at this previous post of mine explaining how to save the sysinfo.txt file to USB flash drive.

    Please also do the following:

    - Start command prompt (Start -> Run -> cmd);

    - Go to \Program Files\Common Files\Acronis\CDRecord folder;

    - Run "cdrecord –scanbus > scanbus.txt" command and collect the scanbus.txt file created.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello Maxx,

    I'm not familiar with Roxio Drag-to-Disk and dual layer DVDs although, as Acronis Support have indicated, the Linux based boot rescue environment does support dual layer disks. The only additional comment I have is that you should ensure the DVDs are "finalised" i.e. "Make compatible" after burning.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.