Drive SnapShot Restore MBR option greyed out

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by WSFfan, Sep 7, 2014.

  1. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    I have Restore MBR and Partition Boot Structure greyed out in Drive SnapShot options.Why?I would like to have Restore the MBR option when restoring the image,since RollBack Rx messes up with MBR.

    I am running Drive Snapshot64.exe located in Data Partition from Windows 7.

    Please note that i don't have RollBack Rx installed now.
    DS.PNG

    Options.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    WSFfan,

    Which partition(s) is backed up? Did the backup image Verify (Check) OK?

    I have a multi HD test computer. The HDs without a backup show the same menu you are seeing.
     
  3. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    I made a backup of Windows Partition only.I have found out the reason,i was trying to restore the backup image from Data Partition located in the same HDD as Windows Partition,that may have prompted DS to disallow such options.Then i tried to restore the backup image from External hard drive,now can i see/click those options
     
  4. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
  5. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    WSFfan,

    Great answer!!!!!!! I'll try the same.
     
  6. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    WSFfan,

    I can confirm your finding about having the backup image on the same HD. Nice finding.

    I moved the OS image to another HD, booted into WinPE and Restored Partition Structure from DS. Clicked Yes on the warning. Restarted computer and booted into Win8. All partitions and data was present.

    This is what I'd expect. You are just restoring the same partition table to the one already present. Nothing is changed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2014
  7. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    What about using 'Restoring Master Boot Record' option?Why does it give a warning like that for whole HDD instead of the Windows Partition only?
     
  8. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    OK. I just did that. Same result. No problems. You are just overwriting the MBR with the same data.
     
  9. WSFfan

    WSFfan Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Posts:
    374
    Location:
    The Earth
    Thank you for the confirmation.:thumb:
     
  10. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,647
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    I zeroed LBA-0, the MBR. No boot code, disk signature or partition table.

    Markymoo and I had done this in the past. Restore MBR and Restore Partition Structure do the same thing. They restore all bytes to LBA-0 and all is normal again.
     
  11. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Looks like an interesting program.

    Does it have any advantage to Macrium reflect free?
    I noticed it does have compression which is good.
     
  12. Atari800xl

    Atari800xl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    It's faster than Macrium free. It's very small (just a tiny .exe) and portable. Images are very compact (like Acronis). The gui is a bit "rough", that's all.
     
  13. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    Ok looks good so far.

    With the gui being rough do you mean its win2000 looks?
    or is it a difficult gui to understand?
     
  14. Atari800xl

    Atari800xl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Posts:
    36
    No, the gui's alright, don't know exactly how to explain it, maybe like this: DriveSnap is made by a small organisation, where 99% of the energy goes into programming and 1% into gui design etc.
    To me, that's a good thing, but some might find it a little awkward. Same thing for the website. Once again, I don't mind. I also love the fact that you can control it completey by command line, so you never even have to look at the gui :)
     
  15. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    830
    Location:
    UK
    eek 39 euros for a license

    Do they do offers at all?
    on a site like bitsdujour
     
Loading...