CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,027
    Location:
    At the door ...
    Yes I meant CCleaner from PortableApps ... I realise that is not Piriform directly.
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
    Piriform.com now re-directs to CCleaner.com (HTTPS)

    Thought I'd mention it in case folk thought it had been hacked :D
     
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,587
    you dont need PA for a portable build - go "builds" -> ZIP
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds

    to notice - "portablecrap.com" is futile from my view - its code and scripts and too common - and in most cases it need admin rights to perfom. that is NOT the definition of "portable".
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,027
    Location:
    At the door ...
    Sure, always used this before. I use many portables, and PA just makes updating of included apps more convenient.
    Not seen that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    Btw.: the slim version is available.
    They need to optimize it a little bit :D
    It is shown as "not secure" (because one image is still linking to "http://"):
    CCleaner_not_secure_https.png
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,587
    its because of http://s2.pir.fm/pf/install_48_grey.gif
    (firefox use ctrl+shift+k > network analyzer > reload)

    but i dont like the cert
    https://www.bloomberg.com/research/stocks/private/snapshot.asp?privcapId=144816347
    https://www.fastly.com/
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
    Smart Screen filter blocks the 5.39 slim build :)
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,587
    windows smart screen is blocking anything here from the web when executed in explorer - or do you speak about edge and download?
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
    It was when downloading through Edge. It may have been because at that time the Slim Build had only been released a few hours so SmartScreen may have not had much info on it.

    Cannot check it again at the moment... I'm on a different machine using different security software.
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
    CCleaner 5.40 released

    https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/builds
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,951
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Mexico
    Ah! Portable is back again at release time! :thumb:
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
  14. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    So this is something I only just started to notice, I'm wondering if it's always been the case though, and do others also have this "problem" as me?

    So every time I run CCleaner, in the Event Viewer it shows;

    "CCleaner64 (3988,G,0) The beta feature EseDiskFlushConsistency is enabled in ESENT due to the beta site mode settings 0x800000."
     
  15. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    705
    I've been using the portable version of CCleaner for a couple of months. I have not encountered this "problem" yet.
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
  17. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
    Well it is CCleaner64 related somewhat, since it's literally mentioned in the Event log, not that the Event ID is unique or anything, I always keep an eye on Event Viewer stuff and it's the first time I've seen this with CCleaner mentioned.
     
  18. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
  19. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
  20. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Canada
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    10,267
    Location:
    UK
    Slim build is there too.:)
     
  22. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,961
    I have opened 5 different browsers and they are showing the same, only installer + portable are available.
    Weird :cautious:
     
  23. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,027
    Location:
    At the door ...
    Same here (in Firefox, Chromium, Brave).
     
  24. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,223
    Location:
    Mexico
    Me too. I've opened 4 different browsers including Tor and Opera (VPN), no Slim. Maybe they just pulled it out.

    Even this always working direct download link is not right now:
    https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download/slim/downloadfile
     
  25. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,370
    I second it. :thumb:
    Code:
    www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/download/slim
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.