CCleaner v5

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by anon, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,815
    Location:
    One of Trump's sh*thole countries
    Yes I meant CCleaner from PortableApps ... I realise that is not Piriform directly.
     
  2. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,656
    Location:
    England
    Piriform.com now re-directs to CCleaner.com (HTTPS)

    Thought I'd mention it in case folk thought it had been hacked :D
     
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,424
    you dont need PA for a portable build - go "builds" -> ZIP
    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds

    to notice - "portablecrap.com" is futile from my view - its code and scripts and too common - and in most cases it need admin rights to perfom. that is NOT the definition of "portable".
     
  4. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,815
    Location:
    One of Trump's sh*thole countries
    Sure, always used this before. I use many portables, and PA just makes updating of included apps more convenient.
    Not seen that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2018
  5. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,704
    Btw.: the slim version is available.
    They need to optimize it a little bit :D
    It is shown as "not secure" (because one image is still linking to "http://"):
    CCleaner_not_secure_https.png
     
  6. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,424
    its because of http://s2.pir.fm/pf/install_48_grey.gif
    (firefox use ctrl+shift+k > network analyzer > reload)

    but i dont like the cert
    https://www.bloomberg.com/research/stocks/private/snapshot.asp?privcapId=144816347
    https://www.fastly.com/
     
  7. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,656
    Location:
    England
    Smart Screen filter blocks the 5.39 slim build :)
     
  8. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,424
    windows smart screen is blocking anything here from the web when executed in explorer - or do you speak about edge and download?
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,656
    Location:
    England
    It was when downloading through Edge. It may have been because at that time the Slim Build had only been released a few hours so SmartScreen may have not had much info on it.

    Cannot check it again at the moment... I'm on a different machine using different security software.
     
  10. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    9,656
    Location:
    England
    CCleaner 5.40 released

    https://www.ccleaner.com/ccleaner/builds
     
  11. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    3,806
  12. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,072
    Location:
    Mexico
    Ah! Portable is back again at release time! :thumb:
     
  13. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,704
  14. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    71
    Location:
    Canada
    So this is something I only just started to notice, I'm wondering if it's always been the case though, and do others also have this "problem" as me?

    So every time I run CCleaner, in the Event Viewer it shows;

    "CCleaner64 (3988,G,0) The beta feature EseDiskFlushConsistency is enabled in ESENT due to the beta site mode settings 0x800000."
     
  15. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    613
    I've been using the portable version of CCleaner for a couple of months. I have not encountered this "problem" yet.
     
  16. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    3,704
  17. Special

    Special Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Posts:
    71
    Location:
    Canada
    Well it is CCleaner64 related somewhat, since it's literally mentioned in the Event log, not that the Event ID is unique or anything, I always keep an eye on Event Viewer stuff and it's the first time I've seen this with CCleaner mentioned.
     
Loading...