Can't block some of the Coinmining scripts

Discussion in 'SpywareBlaster & Other Forum' started by Steven Antoch, Dec 15, 2020.

  1. Steven Antoch

    Steven Antoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Latest Spyware Blaster. Chrome browser enabled. When I download and update the latest, a set of Coinmining(131) through Coinmining(150) are not enabled. If I go in and enable them manually and hit the protect button, it first looks like it fixed it but then the check marks go away and they turn red again.

    How do I fix this? Norton and Malwarebytes scans are clean.
    Thanks
     
  2. trattner

    trattner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Exact same issue here ...

    A solution to it will be much appreciated.

    Keep all safe,

    Eric
     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,073
  4. trattner

    trattner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks JavaCool for the reply, but I really don't see the connection between the issue reported and the solution suggested ...

    The Users who found this solution effective encountered completely different problems (some of which prevented access to the software altogether).

    In this case, as reported by both Steven and yours truly, the software behaves just fine and updates restrictions as they become available, with the exception of those 20 entries.

    If the solution you suggested is somehow related, kindly explain; otherwise, please point us into the right direction.

    Thanks again,

    Best wishes for a Happy, Prosperous and -- mainly -- HEALTHY New Year 2021,

    Eric
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    4,073
    Apologies for the brevity in my initial response.

    Despite the distinction between the symptoms, we'd like to rule out a similar issue that centers on the Group Policy "Registry.pol" files. Thus, we'd like you to follow similar steps to rename (or move) the Registry.pol in both C:\Windows\System32\GroupPolicy\Machine and \User. In a handful of reports (that we've thus far been unable to reproduce locally, so we suspect some other software may be the culprit) renaming / moving those files and letting fresh ones be recreated by the system seems to completely resolve issues.
     
  6. trattner

    trattner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for the clarification.

    The registry.pol file however, by definition, keeps templated info pertaining to plenty of other software (security included) which might or might not be related to the issue, but which is essential for the PC's "wellbeing") - among others: Firewall, AppLocker, DiskQuota, ...

    Removing this file and letting it be recreated with default values, nullifies long-term legit customizations that found their way in it.

    Surely, rather than "a blow in the wind" (with a good dose of prayer), in the hope that it just might help, a more granular debugging means might be found to pin-point the issue at hand (possibly a Log created by the software?).

    At any rate, the sole Regitry.pol file on my System is located at < C:\Windows\System32\GroupPolicy\Machine > and a copy of it is hereby uploaded in a ZIP archive (just remove the ".txt" suffix and unpack the archive) for your inspection.

    Thanks again,

    Eric
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Steven Antoch

    Steven Antoch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks. The answer for me was to disable then re-enable all protections.
     
  8. trattner

    trattner Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks Steven,

    Regretfully, for me this didn't work ... After reenabling all protections, the same Coinmining scripts remained in the red ...
     
  9. IRONY

    IRONY Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    40
    I disabled all protections, then uninstalled the app, then restarted. Then after the restart reinstalled the app, ran update several times, rebooted again, then ran as admin and it worked just fine.
     
  10. QuantumHawk

    QuantumHawk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hello: I tried IRONY's solution and it didn't work for me. I'm using version 6.0 of SpywareBlaster with all the current updates enabled. My protection is enabled 100% for all browsers, but Chrome. The message I receive concerning Chrome says "Protection Partially Enabled 111 items have protection disabled." The disabled items include: CoinMining (7:cool: through CoinMining (18:cool:. How can I enable protection for those sites? Am I infected? All replies are appreciated and thank you in advance.

    Peter
     
  11. QuantumHawk

    QuantumHawk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Sorry for the glitch. My disabled sites include CoinMining 78 - CoinMining 188.

    Thanks again,
    Peter aka "QuantumHawk"
     
  12. kermuffle

    kermuffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi, having the same problem with blocking the CoinMining scripts. Any news guys?
     
  13. kermuffle

    kermuffle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Australia
    For some reason the problem has resolved itself. Thanks if you guys did something..?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.