Can This Be Done?!?!?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by aapriest, Jan 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aapriest

    aapriest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    I wanted to migrate from a single partiton 20GB laptop hard drive to a 100GB Hard Drive of two partitions. I had hoped, with True Image 8, to save the backup image on "Drive E" (second partition of the new hard drive), then restore the image to "Drive D" (first partition of the new hard drive), then swap in the new hard drive and image what would now become Drive C (first partition in the new HD) to Drive D (2nd partition of that same drive) as part of a regular backup ritual. BUT, while I am able to save backup files to Drive E, and even though True Image sees my Drive D, I am not able to restore the image from E to D, only from E to C. What am I doing wrong, and if version 8 does not permit this, does version 9 do so?
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello aapriest,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    The most probable reason for the problem you have encountered is that you are actually trying to restore the image of the entire hard drive (consisting of the single system partition) which apparently can not be done when this image archive resides on the second partition of the destination hard drive. To avoid this problem you should select single partition instead of the entire disk on the respective screen of the Recovery Wizard (see chapter 5 of Acronis True Image 9.0 User's Guide). This will allow you to restore the system partition separately without overwriting the entire hard drive.

    Please be aware that if you follow the above described approach then your "new" hard drive might not boot, because only the image of the entire hard drive contains MBR which is "responsible" for your hard drive to be bootable. If you face such a problem then please fix your hard drive's MBR in one of the following ways (depending on the operating system you use):

    - Boot the computer from Windows 95/98/ME Startup Disk and run "fdisk /mbr" command;

    - Boot the computer from Windows 2000/XP Installation CD and run "fixmbr" command in Recovery Console;

    If you do not have Windows Installation CD for some reason then please fix your hard drive's MBR using on of the methods described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also note that you should unplug the original hard drive prior to booting into Windows for the first time, since keeping both drives connected might cause different boot or drive letter assignment problems.

    You may also find these previous threads interesting: auto logoff problem, Re: Mr.

    If my assumption is not correct then please provide us with the more detailed information on the problem:

    - Create Acronis Report as it is described in Acronis Help Post;

    Please keep both drives connected while creating Acronis Report;

    - What exactly do you mean when saying that you are "not able to restore the image from E to D"?

    - Have you received any error messages? What exact error messages? When exactly have you received them?

    - What operating system you use?

    - What exact version and build number of Acronis True Image you use?

    You can find the full version name and build number by going to Help -> About... menu in the main program window;

    - Have you tried to restore the image when Acronis True Image was running from under Windows or when your PC was booted from Acronis True Image Bootable Rescue CD?

    - Describe actions taken before the problem appears step-by-step.

    Please submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with the solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Alexey Popov
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2006
  3. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello aapriest,

    I'm not sure but it could be something to do with the fact that you are try to restore an image of the Primary/Active C: partition to your D: partition. It's possible that this isn't allowed because you already have a Primary/Active partition on your C: drive.

    Regard
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.