BlackFog Privacy

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by liba, Feb 2, 2018.

  1. JEAM

    JEAM Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Posts:
    485
    Thanks, Darren. At your suggestion, I uninstalled and then reinstalled. The BFP icon is back.

    It was good to see that the previous program settings persisted through the reinstallation. :thumb:
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    https://www.blackfog.com/changelog-privacy-win/
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    @Darren Williams ,

    The Enterprise Console shows I have 4.8.0 on this machine but Help > About still shows 4.7.4 (b800).

    I shall see if a system restart changes anything.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    After a system restart I'm good with 4.8.0 showing. I suspect VoodooShield may have blocked part of the installation. No problems on my other machine after disabling VS, then checking for updates to BF.
     
  5. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Never understood how this or what this program is?
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I gave you links to the product's website. Not much more I can do for you.
     
  7. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Here's a reminder:

    #1080

    #1087
     
  8. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    Difficult to understand
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    ;)
     
  11. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Privacy.exe running quite high CPU this morning and taskbar icon wouldn't open ... restart fixed it up to v4.8 (b830).
     
  12. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    688
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    is monthly licensing, (or subscription based monthly payment) preferably via paypal or similar third-party a thing today? When it's going to happen approx
     
  13. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    California
    We will be launching it this year. We expect it to be Q2 after the infrastructure in all agents has been updated for it.
     
  14. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    @Darren Williams: Still, View>Events>Threat Detection>Anonymous Network detected x 4 in a row ... (see posts #1092-1094).

    Unsafe connection to 37.252.188.16. Blocking. Process -> filecoauth.exe Port -> 22067 PID -> 9624
    Unsafe connection to 122.199.59.154. Blocking. Process -> filecoauth.exe Port -> 22067 PID -> 9624
    Unsafe connection to 85.214.100.39. Blocking. Process -> filecoauth.exe Port -> 22067 PID -> 9624
    Unsafe connection to 80.127.118.58. Blocking. Process -> filecoauth.exe Port -> 443 PID -> 9624

    Via Ultrasearch, Containing path seems to be:
    FileCoAuth.exe C:\Users\pauld\AppData\Local\Microsoft\OneDrive\20.201.1005.0009\ 521.37 KB 2020-12-15 8:01 AM
    No threats found via VT.

    As mentioned previously, I am in South Africa.

    Is it OK to whitelist this, as per post #1055 (Enterprise Console)? https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/blackfog-privacy.400343/page-43#post-2966177
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2021
  15. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    California
    If you are confident the path is not in c:\Windows or System32 then you can whitelist it. One Drive seems to use a lot of directIP's in countries like South Africa for some reason. We are mapping these in the next few releases so it wont popup in the future.
     
  16. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    688
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    in device access (microphone, camera etc), by ticking the boxes you give or deny access, its not clear, also whats new in 2021?
     
  17. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    California
    By checking the boxes in Privacy you are making these devices "private" by blocking access and preventing information being collected about them, usually that means blocking information being sent to third parties, most often Microsoft in the device access area.

    We will be announcing some new features in the next month or so. Mostly this will involve new ransomware prevention capabilities and significant features to the Enterprise edition. But we will announce them on this forum soon.
     
  18. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    688
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    give home users some love too
     
  19. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    California
    All features go into the same code base regardless, so there will plenty of new goodies....
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Both installed now.
    Confirmed - they can't run together ... one disables the other, so one has to decide.
    Will have to try each and decide which one to use.
    So far I think AdGuard ad blocking is more elegant.
    Not sure if BFP 'Profiling' blocks exactly equate to AdGuard 'Trackers blocked' ...
     
  21. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    ... But BF does a lot more than just block ads. ;)
     
  22. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,420
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Sure Krusty, so far BFP profiling is very active - hence my last statement in the comment above.

    Of course BFP also has other categories (all 0 at this point) - but then AdGuard also blocks 'threats'.
    Difficult to compare without more info, so really a question of user experience on Android (Nokia 5.3, Android One) for me at this point.
     
  23. Darren Williams

    Darren Williams Developer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2018
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    California
    Unfortunately Android does not allow multiple VPN's and this is the only way we can do what we need to do, hence why ad guard does this too. As pointed out if all you want is Ad blocking then the choice is easy. We focus on threats and privacy in addition to Ads, and a future version will do a lot more than that as you will see. So for now it's a choice you will need to make. Google is cracking down more and more on Ad blocking as well so they are doing everything they can to protect their revenue.
     
  24. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    688
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    adguard desktop version is better at ads but it slows down internet, bf should be good as antihacking by blocking anonymous and suspicious ips but I am sure you can easily disable black fog (bf) with admin rights. Hint: make it harder to switch off black fog please, if I was a hacker I would focus on disabling bf by registry entry and by elevating privileges.I know it denies entry point but its enough you install/execute 1 wrong program

    Adduard + blackfog work on windows does obviously not work on android together by android design
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2021
  25. lucd

    lucd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2018
    Posts:
    688
    Location:
    Island of Woman
    every time I open app in android black fog is switched off, I know of battery optimization and stuff but black fog should not be so silent about being disabled
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.