AX64 - RollBack RX - HELP! & Questions ?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by MrWeary, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    I was wondering if AX64 will work with RollBack RX ?
    Can you use both at the same time ?


    I have had GOOD LUCK using RollBack RX ..

    It Has Saved My Butt more than a few times!
    I use it on MY computer all the time to test software .. drivers .. updates ..

    But I have had Really BAD LUCK With Rollback RX ..

    Lost snapshots :( Snapshots NOT being Made! Ect.
    Always seems to happen to friends and clients computer systems
    In-fact had this installed on a client's computer and this week the computer
    was crashing .. wasn't booting ect. he tried muti times to boot until he took it to a
    company to fix it. They did something and were unable to fix it! Said it was the hard drive!
    ( It was not ) when he finally called me! I looked at it and ALL but 2 snapshots were gone !
    The Installation Snapshot that was 1-YEAR OLD! and one that was 1-HOUR OLD also 1-YEAR OLD!

    Called Rollback Talked to tech support they sent me a program that was able to find lost snapshots!
    Ran the program and found they sent me the wrong one ! Called back they sent me the correct one this time ( I think )

    Ran The New program they gave me and it found " 0 " Snapshots ! Not even the two that rollback can find!

    Ok .. So ..I also at the time setup a Disk IMAGING Program!

    I think it was Malcolm Reflect ( Don't Quote me! ) And amazingly that also wasn't backing backups!
    It was set to make backups every day to an external hard drive .. But the newest image was 3 months old! I cannot get into windows to find out why! ;(

    To say the least he and I were very upset to find this out !

    Anyone have the correct program for Rollback RX to find lost Snapshots ?
    Or know how to use it ? Correctly ? Because the one I have isn't working!
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Unfortunately not surprised. To me, Rollback is designed for trouble as it doesn't store the data, in anything windows recognizes. And imaging program won't do any good unless you image every sector of the drive which means the image is the size of the drive.

    Would I try Rollback with AX64. Absolutely not. I would take of Rollback and get the paid version of Macrium so you have incrementals. And then thoroughly test AX64 Time Machine. It works and for some like me so far great, but for others, not so well, so test it thoroughly with something like Macrium behind you.

    Pete
     
  3. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
    AX64 will NOT work together with any snaphot or backup software which uses some kind of a tracking file. This includes Rollback RX, Farstone RestoreIT, Toolwiz Time Freeze, SystRestore, you name it. So Peter is absolutely right, don't try AX64 together with Rollback RX.

    This is only true if you require that the imaging program also backs up all of Rollback's snapshots. If you can live without imaging the snapshots, then Rollback does work together with most imaging software (tried it with Acronis, Aomei and Easeus Todo Backup). After restoring such a snapshot you will have to reinstall Rollback, and of course all snapshots will be gone. As an extra safeguard I would also keep a copy of the MBR in a safe place (use BootICE or a similar software).


    Cheers
    manolito
     
  4. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    I emailed AX64 ..
    I was wondering if AX64 will work with RollBack RX ?
    Can you use both at the same time ?

    Just got a note from AX64 ...

    Hi there
    Yes totally compatible
    Best regards, Nathan Vong AX64 - Time Machine Bluebird IT PTY LTD AX64.com
     
  5. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Question is why you would want to continue using Rollback when it has already hosed you, and then combine it with AX64 which while good, does give people problems. You are absolutely asking for trouble.
     
  6. manolito

    manolito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Posts:
    341
  7. warrior99

    warrior99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hi all
    Totally compatible (NO) they are compatible if using only the hot restore of AX64 - Time Machine
    Rollback Rx and AX64 can work together if a cold Restore is never done.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/thre...napshot-software.339999/page-378#post-2429469

    AX64 can not back up Rollback Rx snapshots.
    Drive Cloner Rx beta can .
     
  8. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    THANKS EVERYONE FOR THE INFO!

    like I said ..
    I personally have had great luck with rollback rx On my own computers!
    However bad luck with other peoples computers :( ( Not sure why )

    But also have had horrible luck with IMAGING programs ALSO !
    They seem to work for awhile .. then start not making backups! ( again mostly on clients computers!! )

    So .. I guess I am looking for a NEW program that can do BOTH Snapshots and Disk Imaging!
    I really like ROLLBACK RX .. Because of the Ease of use and the DOS - Boot Function no CD required!

    AX64 ?? or What program is better ?
     
  9. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    You spelled out the problem with rollback "luck"

    A program to do both. In theory AX64 does, but from my testing it's great for snapshots, but not as good for imaging. I would strongly recommend both, Macrium and Ax64. Those I think would serve you well.

    You might want to check a bit closer on what your clients are doing. For example with Macrium, I let it build a chain of about 10 incrementals then set the chain aside and start a new one. People get lazy and then it bites them.
     
  10. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Hmmmm, interesting. Has Rollback changed thru the years? I studied Rollback years ago, never tried it, but read the manual 2-3 times. Back in those days Rollback clearly stated that it was incompatible with any mirror-imaging program so it supplied its own, built-in. See, Rollback messes with the sectors in a way that I don't quite understand, but it is a very deep level. So imaging programs, at least in the early days of Rollback, did not work with it, you had to use its own built-in program. Defraggers also did not work and, someone correct me if I am wrong, I believe Rollback even supplied its own defragger? Why would anyone use such a program that messes with your system at so many levels and so deeply?

    I must confess that I have not studied Rollback for some years so perhaps things have changed.

    Acadia
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2014
  11. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Nothing has changed. It still hides data in sectors that windows doesn't know about, and can only be accessed thru it's filter. Rollback hiccups and your data is gone.

    Imaging programs do work, sorta, but no thanks for me.
     
  12. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    I believe that it all comes down to this: what do we want, speed or reliability? The selling point of the original Rollback (and present?) was its speed. I would not want to use a program what recovers me in seconds but leaves me white knuckled during the process. I prefer a program such as IR or Macrium or ShadowProtect or whatever, knowing that I can walk away from my system and get a cup of coffee, and when I get back, Voila!, my old system is back as if nothing ever happened.

    Acadia
     
  13. warrior99

    warrior99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Well I use Rollback for its speed I can Rollback 56 Gb in about one min
    AX64 takes 5 min with hot restore, I have used AX64 since the first beta
    none of version one worked for me and only the last version of version 2 the last beta has worked
    on my system,
    Drive Cloner Rx beta can restore my system plus snapshots in about 35 min.
    Macrium which I have used can restore my system without snapshots in about 30 min.
    AOMEI Backupper Professional which I also use can restore my system without snapshots in about 25 min.
    so it a choice for me to use Rollback and Drive Cloner Rx. if AX64 got its act together it would be my first choice.
    but I have had failure after failure with AX64. with both hot and cold restores.
    I have not yet had a Rollback failure of a Drive Cloner Rx failure but just in case AOMEI is waiting to step in .
     
  14. sam_horizondatasys

    sam_horizondatasys Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Hey folks,

    First off MrWeary, you've been given some great info here about compatibility with AX64 and RollBack Rx. The two programs, while certainly possible to make them semi-compatible, it really isn't the best option to run both at the same time. I would recommend choosing the one that suits your needs best.

    RollBack Rx will only create snapshots at present. You can opt-in to our Drive Cloner Rx beta which can backup the software onto an external drive with your data as well. But it's not fully released yet. Let me know if you would want to try it though. If Drive Cloner Rx isn't your cup of tea, you can still use backup/imaging programs with RollBack Rx installed, it's just that those softwares won't snag the RollBack Rx snapshots (although folks have reported some positive results with doing a sector-by-sector backup with imaging software that offers that function). But it will still capture your data successfully, you would just need to reinstall RollBack Rx if you needed to use it. I would recommend having RollBack Rx on for the speed, but an offsite backup as well. The more layers the better for any PC.

    Just to clarify a few points - RollBack Rx will work with defrag and backup images. It won't interrupt those functions. The issue with defrag comes from the way RollBack Rx keeps track of data. It maps out all the 0's and 1's on the sector-level of the harddrive and notes the locations. If those locations move or change, RollBack Rx will take note on the following snapshot. Since Windows defrag is about compartmentalizing data into a nice, clean format, this results in data/files being moved around. RollBack Rx will note the location changes, and therefore the next snapshot will be quite large in size since a lot of data has been shifted. But the software won't interrupt or try to control the process in any way. It's just sitting back and taking notes, and those notes can become quite large if a lot of data is moved around at once.

    Glad to hear with your own personal PC's everything has been running smooth with RollBack Rx. Sorry to hear about the troubles elsewhere though. If there's trouble in the future with you or your friends be sure to contact us at support.horizondatasys.com and we can help you out as best we can.

    Cheers!

    Sam
     
  15. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    WOW ..
    You guys are very nice around here!
    Have not been on this forum in years!
    ( Very bad mistake on my part! )

    Thank you all for the great information!

    sam_horizondatasys
    Yes I was VERY disappointed with Rollback Rx in this case.

    I think the "computer Person" He took his computer to did something and lost all the snapshots.
    ( Wish he had called me first ! ) But in this case the customer lost all his business data!
    As I said I did call .. And Chat With James Suen He Did try to help.
    But in this case and many .. there is not a thing you, me or god can do to fix the problem!

    Unfortunately.. This has happened to a few of my customers.
    And Over the years with my own computers also !

    But as I said . I have had VERY good luck with it for years on my own Computers.
    There are soooo many things that are great with Rollback Rx And Sooo Many things that are not !

    I have always thought you guys at horizon systems made a HUGE mistake not making a way to backup Snapshots!!!
    To an external drive ect. and from the DOS boot able to restore them !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sure I would love to test Drive Cloner Rx beta

    I think I will Give AX64 a try also!

    Again EVRYONE thank you for all the suggestions and information.
     
  16. warrior99

    warrior99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Hi Weary sent you private message with links for
    Drive Cloner Rx beta
    AX64.Time.Machine Stable release
    AX64.Time.Machine last beta
    Disclaimer (lease use all beta software with caution)
    Disclaimer ( Warrior99 is not associated with any of the above software companies)
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    I would say neither Rollback or AX64 are good choices for clients and certainly not together.
     
  18. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    What do you suggest ?
     
  19. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Macrium Reflect Std. Great for imaging, but would require a windows task to set it up to take a daily image
    Shadow Protect A bit more expensive but has a continuous incremental feature that takes incrementals automatically.

    Both of these extremely reliable

    For snapshots

    Raxco's Instant Recovery

    Requires the most disk space, but again highly reliable

    Pete
     
  21. MrWeary

    MrWeary Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Raxco's Instant Recovery ..
    Just talked to tech support about this program.
    They say wile yes you can "backup" the Snapshots to a drive.
    The snapshots are NOT avalible to the MBR program or the GPT Disk Support !

    Al useable snapshots are saved to the C:\
    The only way to access the SAVED snapshots is to import them within windows.

    So ... If you have a problem with the c:/ Drive you would have to reinstall windows ..
    Reinstall Raxco Then Import the Snapshot. Then Use the snapshot to recover.

    I guess .. It better then Rollback were you can not do this ..
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Mrweary

    Don't have time know, but will PM you later on.

    Pete
     
  23. warrior99

    warrior99 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    20
Loading...