Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    Belgium
    Avira free antivirus beta cannot be installed with that little installation package (5mb) its only O.E. with an install size 11mb and no AV installed ...
     
  2. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
  3. Toni R

    Toni R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Hi Spokesman,

    if you are registered to the Avira BetaCenter, please us the bug report form in there and supply us with additional information like the Avira Support Collector so we can investigate into this issue.

    Thank you!

    Kind regards,
    Toni R.
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
    @ Toni R,
    ETA for stable v14.0.6.5xx (Update 6)?
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,748
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I have Avira Pro version Version :464 so why does Avira download centre say the version available is Version: 14.0.5.450?
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
    Because nobody cares to correct it.
    It's not the first time, always the same story again and again.

    Avira download centre say the version available is Version: 14.0.5.450, but actually is the latest version (another day / build number / MB size).

    Also in installer, there is no any indication re the version.
    You have to run the installer (version unknown) first and you can see the version later on, only via the UI. :thumbd:
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  7. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
  9. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
    Don't ask me, you better ask Avira.
    Avira has the ....... answers :rolleyes:
     
  11. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hello malware1,
    The forum is within the migration process to Avira Answers.
    Important forum threads will be migrated, and the community and moderators will be merged as well.
     
  12. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Could you take a look at the topic if possible? This issue remains non fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2014
  13. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi malware1,
    Sure, i'm checking that topic and keep you informed!
     
  14. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Thanks.
     
  15. Pat MacKnife

    Pat MacKnife Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    562
    Location:
    Belgium
  16. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    924
    Location:
    india
    Well thats something...so is avira free now fully implemented with APC since the blog shows me something green?
     
  17. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
  18. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    It seems so, but I still have to see one single upload and detection via cloud by Avira free...
     
  19. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Good news: We fixed that email message and created for you an own account to upload suspicious files. Thus it is easier for you to handle uploads.
    I give you the details over PM.
     
  20. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    924
    Location:
    india
    Well I guess Avira team should tell us about APC status in free?
     
  21. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
    Thanks, received.
     
  22. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Yes, APC is fully available in Avira Free:

    http://blog.avira.com/free-antivirus-protection/
    "July 24, 2014 - Our free product now has the same Avira Protection Cloud (APC) technology that was introduced in 2012 for our paid products."

    I think you are more interested to see an file upload. This happens only for files that are not known to our cloud. If it is known as malware, you will see a message like "HEUR/APC". You can guess that we collected a lot of files and trained our APC well since the introduction :)
     
  23. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,638
    Stable v.14.0.6.552 (Update 6) released today:
    Edit:
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2014
  24. garrett76

    garrett76 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Posts:
    221
    Thanks for the explanation. So every unknown files are submitted to Avira, regardless they look suspicious or not?
     
  25. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi garrett76,

    Exactly. But the logic is more complex:

    Source: http://techblog.avira.com/2013/10/14/advanced-real-time-protection-with-avira-protection-cloud/en/
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.