Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    @ Cmhelper,
    Stefan it was working till yesterday =
    so how the "used encryption method and operating system setting" changed from the one day to another?
     
  2. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    225
    Thanks. I will check on these things tonight.
     
  3. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,157
    Installed Avira Pro this morning. It has been awhile, so forgive my ignorance. I thought the version was up to 19? Yet, this is what I see.

    Please let me know.

    Capture.PNG
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
  5. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,157
  6. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    225
    Well, I came home from work just a bit ago and my Avira Pro auto updated to the latest version during the day and now the launcher works. Since the update, I am now running product version 15.0.19.164. My launcher now looks like the screen shot below. So, I guess the update fixed it. I don't know how to tell what version of the launcher I have, but it looks different than it did before.

    upload_2016-8-25_19-32-37.png
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    Go to Windows "Control Panel" > "Add/Remove Programs". You will find the Launcher version there.
    Or go to "C" > "Program Files"/"Program Files (x86)" > "Avira" > "Launcher" and right click on "Avira.Systray" file.
    From drop-down menu select "Properties" > "Details".
    The previous version it was the 1.2.68.19138, the current is 1.2.69.16114.

    Avira Launcher v1.1.67.18988
    Avira Launcher v1.2.68.19138
    Avira Launcher v1.2.69.16114
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2016
  8. hamlet

    hamlet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Posts:
    225
    Thanks, anon. I now have the latest version of the Launcher, 1.2.69.16114. I will watch it for the next few weeks and see if the Launcher window goes blank again.
     
  9. Drew99GT

    Drew99GT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Posts:
    340
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    So will there ever be the option to drop the auto quarantine? That is the main reason I have always used Avira. The way it works now is stupid; if you restore a file, it gets detected again, put in quarantine, and becomes a viscous loop that apparently can't be stopped without a whitelist.

    STUPID STUPID STUPID.
     
  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    =
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-176#post-2611337
     
  11. JohnnyStecchino

    JohnnyStecchino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Hi, I want to install Avira free on my notebook with windows10 pro. I have downloaded the full installer.
    When I start it, I have this option window:
    https://s12.postimg.org/wdb9i2nm1/Cattura.jpg

    Email protection and web protection are not only for avira pro?

    What do I have to select?
    Thanks :)
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,791
    If you continue with the installation right at the end of the process you will be asked for a key for the pro edition without which the installer will proceed with the installation of Avira free.
     
  13. JohnnyStecchino

    JohnnyStecchino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks for reply
    So if I install Avira free can I untick email protection and web protection?

    While Rootkits protection and shell extension also working on avira free?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,791
    Leaving everything checked is valid with the pro version, because you have chosen 'custom install', the installer at this stage does not know if you have a key or you want the free version. I can only say that you won't get the mail and web protection with the free version, but the real time protection is the same for the pro and free.

    I don't know about rootkits and shell extension but I would be inclined to think that they are included, you can check after the installation.
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    (You mean to skip the 1 month trial of Avira Pro and go straight to Avira Free modules). Yes
    Yes
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2016
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    The installer is one for both Avira Free and Pro since=
     
  17. JohnnyStecchino

    JohnnyStecchino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    Thanks
     
  18. Fekter

    Fekter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Posts:
    2
    Location:
    Apatin, Serbija
    What's up with avira pro 15.20....beta. DE/EN are suggested but not installed?
     
  19. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,837
    Avira beta 15.0.20.59 / 14.0.20.33 is out since Monday, Aug 29.
     
  20. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    I think it is important to say a few things about the discussed change. Why did we changed the default action in first place? We know that an user defined action for detections and changes through Windows Updates have quit an impact on the Antivirus experience - usability and security. As a result the user experience improved significantly with the auto quarantine.
    The feedback related to the auto quarantine and missing interactive mode have been heard by the product manager. The usability for actions after detections will be improved with the redesign of the scanner feature. This will take some time and you can follow the progress in our beta center anytime if you like.
     
  21. Telos

    Telos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Posts:
    171
    Location:
    Baana
    What on earth does this mean?

    Are you stepping back from what Stefan Kurtzhals said here:
    So this is NOW not a bug? And that through some scanner shenanigans you will "improve" detections? Because we don't need "improved detections". We need a means of interacting with detections is a useful, in the moment, manner.

    And why
    .
    Already we have seen releases 19 & 20 since Stefan's post and no improvement has been made.

    Your post sounds like Avira is back-tracking. Please be clear. Will users have the option to interact with detections in real time, and will that interaction permit an IGNORE classification which will remain in force until the user elects to change it?
     
  22. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi Telos,
    There was no step back from what Stefan Kurtzhals said. Actions after detections include automatic actions and interactive mode.

    The usability for actions after detections will be improved with the redesign of the scanner feature.
     
  23. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,157
    I assume there is no timeframe yet for the redesign of the scanner feature correct?
     
  24. Mops21

    Mops21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Posts:
    2,108
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi

    Can you check my Log File please

    With best Regards
    Mops21
     

    Attached Files:

  25. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    Hi, I can confirm you that the redesign is in progress and it will take more months. This is all I can say at this point of time.
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.