Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
    Sadly, but as I told you, Launcher is Avira's beloved app.
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Well, then I'll never be touching their crap. And neither I'll be recommending it to people. Because I just can't.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I just installed the latest version of Avira free and using IObit uninstaller I deleted the Launcher and the tray icon was replaced with Avira Antivirus icon. works perfectly. No more launcher.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    I've tried that and it breaks the program. Also, it tried to re-install it by itself.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,908
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    When you hit the delete button in IObit a popup says you can't uninstall launcher because some programs need it. Just close that box and hit delete in IObit and then the deep scan and when done just restart your comp and the icon in the task bar is for Avira free with no launcher. I have done this at least six times. and so far it has worked everytime. And so far the launcher has not come back. In the screen shot you can see that launcher is not installed.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. boland

    boland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    The firefox (Raymond Hill) ublock plugin is getting a false positive from Avira AV, probably because the plugin contains a filter list of http addresses of known malware sites. Could the Avira rep here bring it to the attention of the development team - filename - ublock0@raymondhill.net.xpi.

    https://github.com/gorhill/uBlock/wiki/Software-known-to-have-uninstalled-uBlock-Origin

    And I can't connect to forum.avira.com for some reason even though it seems to be alive.
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
  8. m0unds

    m0unds Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2015
    Posts:
    200
    https://analysis.avira.com/en/submit > Suspected False Positive (Not Malware) might get it sorted for you
     
  9. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
  10. Cmhelper

    Cmhelper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2014
    Posts:
    155
    Location:
    Tettnang
    We received also a report about ublock on twitter - the user is uploading the file to our protection lab for false positive check.
    Seems a modification after installation, the ublock installer itself is not detected and there is no detection on my computer for this plugin.
     
  11. mapsonx

    mapsonx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    Windows 10, Avira free, Firefox 44

    Perhaps my concerns have been mentioned here before, but a search here did not reveal a solution.

    On several occasions the Avira free pc protection has disabled itself. There is no obvious indication of this. Unless you open "Manage Antivirus" from the tray icon, you would never know. The internet protection (firewall) remains intact. I do not have the browser protection.

    When this occurs, I am unable to manually switch it back on. I must uninstall and reinstall to reenable.

    A search of "Avira Answers" brought up several similar inquiries to mine, but the only thing I could find that resulted in an actual discussion from the question suggested reinstall.

    My system is a clean fresh install.

    Previously, with Avira installed, Windows Defender became automatically and permanently disabled. Greyed out. I just discovered after the last reinstall of Avira that Windows Defender was simultaneously enabled

    So it seems that at least for the moment, I can have both working at the same time if I wish, but one suggestion elsewhere was to remove other scanners, etc, if this this situation of Avira disabling itself occurs.

    This behavior has occurred whether Windows Defender has been enabled or not, so at this point I'm hoping for advice here.

    thanks
     
  12. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi @mapsonx - Please take a look at you avguard.log file and post the error message. This could be one hint for this behavior.

    Best, Arthur
     
  13. mapsonx

    mapsonx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    Hello Arthur.

    Is this what you are looking for?

    2/4/2016,1:36:22 [WARNING] A suspicious attempt to access the registry was blocked!
    2/4/2016,1:38:52 [ERROR] Could not lock the binary before secure loading. File: C:\Program Files (x86)\Avira\Antivirus\AVWSC.EXE: no such file or directory
    2/4/2016,1:38:52 [INFO] Avira Free Antivirus service has been stopped!

    Also,

    2/3/2016,13:20:16 [INFO] Avira Free Antivirus service has been stopped!
    2/3/2016,17:37:36 [INFO] Avira Free Antivirus service has been stopped!
    2/4/2016,14:49:44 [INFO] Avira Free Antivirus service has been stopped!
     
  14. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Germany
    Well it seems that something is blocking Avira services. Do you have installed other security software? Threadfire, mbam, eg.?
     
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
    Previously, with Avira installed, Windows Defender became automatically and permanently disabled. Greyed out. I just discovered after the last reinstall of Avira that Windows Defender was simultaneously enabled

    So it seems that at least for the moment, I can have both working at the same time if I wish, but one suggestion elsewhere was to remove other scanners, etc, if this this situation of Avira disabling itself occurs.

    This behavior has occurred whether Windows Defender has been enabled or not, so at this point I'm hoping for advice here.

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avira.345492/page-162#post-2561858
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
  17. mapsonx

    mapsonx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Posts:
    44
    Only the built in Windows Defender.

    According to the web search results, there are reports of this type of behavior dating back to 2007.

    That link takes me to my original post o_O

    Sorry guys, forgive me but I'm confused by there responses. I have avira free.
     
  18. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    and i as well once they make the launcher mandatory in the paid versions will be moving on.
     
  19. LocoSec

    LocoSec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi @mapsonx - Please deactivate Windows Defender and perform a reinstall of Avira Free to see if issue still exists.

    Best,

    Arthur
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
  21. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,851
    I agree with all his suggestions, but i still like to run my computers as admin account...
     
  22. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    812
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    I dont know what iobit people are talking about.
    I just installed Avira Free. No iobit etc came. I skipped all it was trying to install it between.

    It came with launcher. Tried to uninstall but couldn't as it was required by AV. Google it and found a redit answer. So now NO Launcher with Av :) ... took just 30 sec max.

    Also, found a way to activate web protection in free version. I do have pro license anyway.
     
  23. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    725
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    I used the offline installer and blocked "set up" in my firewall and it has installed ok without the launcher.
     
  24. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962
    Avira wins two AV Test awards for its quiet approach to usability and repair
    http://blog.avira.com/av-test-awards/
    -------------------
    AV-TEST AWARD 2015
    ------------------
    https://www.av-test.org/en/award/2015/best-usability-avira/
    https://www.av-test.org/en/award/2015/best-repair-avira/
     
  25. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    5,962

    Attached Files:

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.