Avira

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Apr 16, 2013.

  1. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    Have they fixed the boot up delay? Also, do any service test the free version? I only ever see the pro version tested.
     
  2. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Yep it starts up normal and fast.
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    if you had read what i said i agreed with you on the fact that kis slowed down everything. not sure what you mean. yes kis slows down opening and running of exe's for sure.
     
  4. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    oh I am just confirming what you said and also wondering why sites like AV-TEST claim that Kaspersky gets full rating on Performance! certainly not the case, that was my question actually. like based on what do they claim that Kaspersky gets a 5/5 in Performance but Eset gets 3.5? Doesn't make any sense
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    121,087
    Location:
    Texas
    This thread is about Avira. Limit the discussion to that topic.
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
    @ Avira team & Wilders users (Stefan B, Stefan K, Arthur H, Torsten F, etc),

    Since Friday I'm trying to download the installer for Winzip v19.0.11293 from the official webpage / from filehippo.
    Both pages detected as malware, FP reported to Avira Labs since Friday, the FP still is there.
    Is Avira Labs team on vacation?
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2014
  7. FreddyFreeloader

    FreddyFreeloader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Posts:
    527
    Location:
    Tejas
    Detection % is the same - Free or Paid version. Check out Malwaretips malwarehub section - hundreds of packs ran with exactly the same detection rate.
     
  8. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    yes boot up delay is fixed for sure.
     
  9. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,316
    Location:
    Earth
    oh for the love of god what is this pop up thing with Antiviro_O?? box it installs 2 things now, I just want the antivirus like old days where do i get offline installer thanks without that other thing. When i chose free on their website, it installs something small first
     
  10. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the pop up is to instal the new launcher (online essentials) with the free version it will be required to be installed soon. i dont believe there will be a way around it in the free version. the paid one is supposed to have silent flags soon to use and they have told me they may be working on a more basic version without any extras (this is not verified yet though) if you have an old version you can use that but as it updates it will ask you to install the launcher all the time.
     
  11. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
  12. swami

    swami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    Close Avira service host -service, OE is gone and Avira is back as it should.
     
  13. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,635
    Just installed the free version and there are 2 new active processes (this OE thing) and a second interface

    Avira-2.PNG avira-1.PNG Avira-3.PNG
     
  14. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,635
    now I also see a system speed up thing
    that's it, I'm done with Avira . After the slow boot issue some months ago now this...

    Avira-4.PNG
     
  15. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    exactly why I got a full refund for my 4 year license! This is a joke! speedup.exe! LOL Sounds like a virus
     
  16. Joxx

    Joxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,635
    the people in charge of Avira must have been to school with Steve Balmer,
    some of those brilliant MBA holders who now **** about the tech industry,
    or industry,
    or business,
     
  17. ance

    ance formerly: fmon

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,359
    Very nice Avira. Ahm, just uninstalled another Avira Free. :thumb:
     
  18. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
    I hope you guys are filling out the survey when you are uninstalling so they know why people are leaving Avira
     
  19. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    YES please tell them why you are leaving hopefully they will take the hint and get rid if this garbage they are now adding...
     
  20. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,788
  21. Mortal Raptor

    Mortal Raptor Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,013
  22. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    You can disable all this from msconfig>startup, and leave only the original interface.
     
  23. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,903
    Technically, if you really want to use Avira without the bloat components associated with it, I am sure you can do it. However, that's not the point.
    Avira wants to **** around with its users, wants to rape it's customer's opinions, so NO, I will not use it anymore, to show them my attitude towards their aggressiveness and stupidity.
     
  24. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    I don't use it either. Just testing it from time to time.
     
  25. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,772
    I can't remember the last time I used Avira. Still, going a little overboard with our words?!?!?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.