Avast Versions Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tyrizian, Feb 5, 2017.

  1. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    476
    Think I might try out Avast for Business and see how I like it. I signed up a while back as a "just in case" thing, and while I know you can't sign up NOW, the old accounts should work.
     
  2. avman1995

    avman1995 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    944
    Location:
    india
    Attaching some screenshots.As you can see it blocked the cancer ransom.

    What I do not understand why does it prompt for action at times.I thought IDP is automated.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks.

    I've already had to report HMP.A beta as a false positive.

    No Firefox extension now?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    I custom installed the new free Avast on a laptop running Windows 10 yesterday; only the File, Web, Mail, and Behavior Shields. The Smart Scan is fast, but I'm having a problem with the Full Scan; it doesn't progress past 0%. I've left it running, but nothing happens. There are no other security applications installed. Suggestions as to how to troubleshoot will be appreciated :)
     
  6. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,787
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avast-interferes-with-pc-audio.391892/#post-2651237
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/avast-interferes-with-pc-audio.391892/#post-2651244
     
  7. Using Avast 2017 free as cloud whitelist (aggressive hardened mode using file shield only)
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    I think The cloud av (cyber capture) doesn't work if web shield is not installed, the same happens with the BB
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I found closing the GUI when the scan is running allows the small popup to appear and the progress works with it.
     
  10. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Nice its been finally released. So running ok for everyone overall? Thinking about checking it out. What version would you recommend? Thanks!
     
  11. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    For being the first (final) 2017 release (17.1.2286), it actually runs quite stable.

    I would definitely recommend checking out version 17.1.2286, this release is close to being solid.

    I say close to being solid, because of the minor problems that it does have (GUI animations, loading, dead spaces within' the GUI, etc.)...nothing really alarming though.
     
  12. topo

    topo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Posts:
    146
    after upgrading to ver 17, i noticed scan for pups was unchecked even tho it was checked on previous version
     
  13. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,853
    Thanks man. By version I meant free, IS, Premier etc.
     
  14. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    476
    I personally see no reason for Premier to even exist. I'd probably go free if you don't mind the ads, IS if the ads would annoy you.
     
  15. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Just over 24 hrs and I haven't seen any ads yet, except for their mobile products, but then I haven't seen virus def's update yet either. I know I've received one update since installing but I was away from the machine at the time.

    You used to get a voice telling you your def's had been updated. Has that been removed with newer versions?
     
  16. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    no update voice anymore. we all brought it up and some asked for it so we will see if they bring it back lol
     
  17. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Thanks. That's a shame as it made avast kind of unique, and I liked that. Oh well, ce sara sara.
     
  18. Tyrizian

    Tyrizian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Posts:
    2,838
    I would stick with Avast Internet Security or Avast Free.

    The extra two features that are featured in Premier, can easily be obtained via third party freeware (Secunia PSI or SUMo for software updates, PrivaZer or CCleaner for data shredding).
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2017
  19. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,253
    Location:
    North Texas
    Running fine for 24 hours here....Windows 10 (AIS).:D
     
  20. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    ill keep working on it lol. you should also make it a point to let them know you want it back!! i know a ton of people who want that back as simple as it is. i actually liked it myself. head on over to avast forum and make a post about it. i can tell you they DO read those types of things and they really do want to try to make it what everyone wants as much as they can.
     
  21. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i agree that internet security is really the one most people should look at. but some people do like having everything tied into one single place. so for those premier would be the way to go. but i normally recc internet security for most of my clients.
     
  22. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,001
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Reading some of the posts on the avast forum it looks like an update will be released soon. Being what I guess will be a minor update, is it safe to install the update if prompted by the internal updater and not end up with components / bloat that isn't already installed? Or would it be better to download the off-line installer and upgrading manually?

    Thanks.
     
  23. Ferda

    Ferda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    7
    Avast IS 2017 running perfectly for the last 24 hours on Win 10 64 for me.

    Hardened mode, installed components File System Shield, Behavior Shield, Mail Shield, Web Shield, Real Site, Firewall, Rescue Disk and Game Mode.

    No noticeable impact on my modest system, stable, nice GUI would like to keep it on but I have a major concern with this AV.

    It does not appear to scan downloaded files, detects eicar web links, no problems but does not detect The Eicar Anti-Malware Testfile saved as a document.
     
  24. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,088
    Location:
    USA
    The only bug I've seen so far in Avast v17 Free is the percentage indicator not moving during a full scan. Apparently the scan is actually working, but I think that will concern some people. Hopefully the next build will fix it. Any idea when we will see a program update?
     
  25. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    the updater will only update the components you chose to install when you did custom. it will not add everything else in.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.