Adguard - Ad Blocker

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Tyrizian, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Adguard has some additional filters for malicious sites,etc...so it is up to you to use them or not.

    As a beta tester for AdG , i never heard of an official portable version.
     
  2. NiteRanger

    NiteRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2016
    Posts:
    277
    Location:
    Far East
    Thanks for the reply
     
  3. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    4,415
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    I've installed a trial of AdGuard for Windows and I'm wondering why uBO (and Privacy Badger) is blocking just as many requests as it did without AdGuard installed? The AdGuard log shows it is blocking stuff but so is uBO.

    Thanks.
     
  4. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    Why Adguard not blocks in Edge the adnxs tracking cookies?

    i.e. :
    C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.MicrosoftEdge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\AC\#!002\MicrosoftEdge\Cookies\K4WS4VC7.cookie
     

    Attached Files:

  5. OverDivine

    OverDivine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    hxxps://adguard.com/en/promotion.html
    1 year still working
     
  6. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    Did you enabled the feature in stealth mode tab?
     
  7. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    I don't use the stealth mode. But I don't think that is needed in order to block the above mentioned tracking cookie.
     
  8. Duotone

    Duotone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Posts:
    128
    Location:
    Philippines
    can anyone help me why I can't send files in FB while adguard(desktop) is on?!
     
  9. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    I think it does. (check screenshot)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    Why to enable the stealth mode? The following filters are not enough to block just a tracking cookie?

    https://kb.adguard.com/en/general/adguard-ad-filters#spyware-filter
    The most comprehensive list of various online counters and web analytics tools. If you do not want your actions on the Internet be tracked, use this filter.

    https://kb.adguard.com/en/general/adguard-ad-filters#annoyances-filter
    Blocks irritating elements on webpages, including cookie notices, third-party widgets and in-page popups (Doesn’t include social media widgets and buttons, to block them you can still use Social media filter separately). It was inspired by Fanboy Annoyances List, but doesn’t duplicate it, so you can use them both together.

    plus:
    User Filter (Adguard Filter)
    English Filter (Adguard Filter)
    Social media filter (Adguard Filter)
    EasyPrivacy
    Malware Domains
    Peter Lowe's list
     
  11. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    because cookies are not ads...they are data collectors.
     
  12. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    I think that AG blocks not only ads but cookies too (without stealth mode).
     
  13. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    nope, you must use stealth Mode for that, anyway i use Adguard For Desktop also for the stealth mode, some useful stuff there.

    I think the filter block only the cookie's notice not the cookie itself :)
     
  14. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,393
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I think it blocks malware domains without adding any filters to do it.
     
  15. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,786
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Indeed, I think it has been mentioned a few pages back, that malware domains filter is included by default, not to mention, that adding it causes a significant slowdown, probably because of that.
     
  16. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    ...... if you have the Browsing Security enabled.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/adguard-ad-blocker.342850/page-80#post-2645418
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/adguard-ad-blocker.342850/page-88#post-2667966
     
  17. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,393
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I can't find Peter Lowe's ad and tracking server list anymore.
     
  18. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,832
    Adguard > Ad Blocker > Settings > Ad Blocker Filters: Scroll down and select "Add filter" = From the pop up with filters list > Select "Peter Lowe's list"
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 19, 2017
  19. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,393
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    I must have looked right past it a few times and missed it. I had pete's list before, but it seemed to be listed much higher on the list before. Thanks for the post anon.
     
  20. Umbra

    Umbra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Posts:
    3,852
    Location:
    Europe then Asia
    @avatar tested the TLS1.3 draft 18 patch for adguard , works good on malwaretips & Qualys SSL (see screenshots)
     

    Attached Files:

    • SSL1.3.jpg
      SSL1.3.jpg
      File size:
      27.1 KB
      Views:
      14
    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      114.8 KB
      Views:
      12
  21. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,004
    Yep, it will be in the next beta version. We've managed to find a working solution. Although there is still a bug in the WFP platform, we're trying to figure it out together with MS devs.
     
  22. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,004
    Browser extensions (uBO for instance) work inside of a browser, so it can block outgoing HTTP requests *before* they are passed to the network level where AG handles them. On the other hand, AG can modify web pages content before browser receives it, so AG strips ad & tracking scripts *before* browser extensions learn about them.
     
  23. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,004
    Let me repost my comment about TLS v1.3 from Github here.

     
  24. Marcelo

    Marcelo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.
    Should I disable Kaspersky's plugin when using Adguard? I believe it has some other functions, besides ad killing, and I never had any problem using both at the same time.
     
  25. avatar

    avatar Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Posts:
    1,004
    The main drawback of using multiple ad blockers is that it's hard to understand who's responsible when there's an issue with a website.
     
Loading...