Ad-Aware free

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by AlexC, May 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    What do you guys think about Ad-Aware free these days?

    Does it use Vipre engine?
     
  2. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    It does use vipre engine plus its own. It takes very long to start its services at system boot, sometimes updates are slow to download and the free version scans only on execution and not on access. Lavasoft has been acquired by another company and we have to see whether free version will be supported in future:)
     
  3. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,786
    Lavasoft acquired? who acquired it?
     
  4. JRViejo

    JRViejo Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Posts:
    20,976
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Bloated and limited. Not worth your time.
     
  6. Kernelwars

    Kernelwars Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Posts:
    2,155
    Location:
    TX
    indeed..and then its uninstall takes a long time too:D
     
  7. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I tried it few days ago in VM. Not bad/bloated IMO as was a year ago. Blocks threats that are catched by Vipre+Its own definitions. On-execution scan is as good as on-access scan because I found no additional threats after scanning. I executed a few many threats. Those which were passed were later disinfected using HMP and MBAM. You can't blame its detection as Vipre detection one of the best in its standards. Lavasoft's own database is a bonus. You can schedule a scan btw. But indeed the update process can take time sometimes as well as loading of services. Also during scanning it does slow down the system somewhat; a pain in systems with low RAM.
     
  8. clayieee

    clayieee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    261
    the product has its potential
     
  9. carat

    carat Guest

    :gack:
     
  10. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    Bloated indeed. :thumb:
    Agreed. :thumb:
     
  11. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,138
    Location:
    R.I.P. Roger(roddy32)
    Many..Many Years ago, that entity did some bad
    weird stuff...[will keep it close to the vest for now]
    and when you have the other top two who would really even
    give it a go is beyond me!
     
  12. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    ot posts removed.
     
  13. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    The other top two (2)...;)
     
  14. AlexC

    AlexC Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Posts:
    1,280
    Thanks everyone for your feedback:thumb:
     
  15. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    494
    Very heavy thing.Version 1.0x was nice ,but this newer versions are quite useless ,it takes all your PC resources for the real time.
     
  16. adrenaline7

    adrenaline7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Posts:
    128
    anyone tried doing a custom install just to use this as an on demand scanner?
     
  17. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    Absolutely useless... The ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ product ever! :rolleyes: :thumbd:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.