Activating a Licence

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by nessy90, Apr 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nessy90

    nessy90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    Well here we go again, to those at prevex Im a beta tester of some security programs I even tried the beta of Prevex v229 hence sometimes I need to reinstall windows why is when I go to the prevex site I cant reactivate my licence, it comes up with some stupid comment in red, I paid for the program I should be able to install it as many times on the one computer as I like. What a way to pee people off and make them want to find another program, wake up you clowns.

    Nessy
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No need to Rant and don't be so harsh as Prevx has been abused in the past and they made their Licensing more strict because of it, either contact Prevx support http://info.prevx.com/service.asp and they will be happy to reset your license or send a PM to PrevxHelp with your license and he can also reset! And also Prevx is spelled Prevx not Prevex! Also see here about when Prevx 4 comes out: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1850363&postcount=385

    HTH,

    TH
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  4. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    I am also a beta / alpha tester for alot of security company's among some program company's I re-image this laptop about every 1 - 4 days This is not Prevx fault or anyone other company's problem. This is something I choose to do to help the company's I support, also Prevx has these precautions in place to protect its end user and to protect it self this is not a uncommon practice as many security company's have these in place and some are more strict then others. Also Prevx 4 has this adjusted to finger print the computer to help cut down on these issues and the use of staffs time.

    Coming in here and ranting because you don't take the time to read the forum or even email support to have this resolved is no one else fault but your own.
     
  5. nessy90

    nessy90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    I dont believe Im ranting, Im stating my total dissatisfaction with a program that is in my opinion one of the best AV's around, except for for some of the programing decions, IE: blocking all sites if a bad website is discovered causing the user to have to restart the browser to go back to where he/she was, I believe this issue will be fixed in v4 thank god, now if you install Prevx a certain number of times you cant activate it unless you talk to Prevx support, this is absolutly rediculous and down right insulting not to mention at 3am in the morning very annoying,IM not a crim.
    I do understand the motive behind the decision and have no problems with reactivating my licence after a number of installs but to be denied use of something until I report to Prevx (Parol Officer) based on the fact that I installed it several times in a short time is IMO pushing the boundaries of good customer relations.

    Regarding Prevx support true it is outstanding and you could not ask for better but that has nothing to do with this issue, Im not getting the protection I not only paid for but require, while Im chasing a fix to an issue Im not being protected in a way that I expect according to what you get in the paid version of Prevx.

    PS: Sorry about the spelling mistake.

    Nessy
     
  6. nessy90

    nessy90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    I have no issues as stated above with the checks if an installation is done a certain number of times but to have to go begging (my feelings only) to activate youre licence because you installed a number of times is beyond belief.
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    This forum is for Program Support and PrevxHelp helps people with licensing issues because he cares for the users that visit here! But true if you have any Licensing issues it is best to contact the Prevx support inbox http://info.prevx.com/service.asp I even have to do this if I need to reinstall! Joe (PrevxHelp) is mainly here if you have problems with the program as he is the Team Leader of the Development Team that is why we don't allow False Positive Reports on the forums also as none of the Prevx malware staff visit this forums so we encourage people with FP's to follow the instructions here to report: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=245129

    And I have read a few of your posts here in the Prevx forums and you are Ranting and calling Prevx representatives CLOWNS, so can you be nice Please?

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  8. nessy90

    nessy90 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Posts:
    103
    Alrirght my anger may get the better of me and I appologise for the insult.

    Nessy.
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great! ;) I have been using Prevx since 2004 and support has never said no to me :thumb:

    When you plan a reinstall just contact support before you do it or even better get some Imaging software and there are some good free one's install windows put Prevx on and activate it and all the other programs that need to be activated and then do an Image so when you are done testing all you do is put on the clean Image and you will not have to go through all this again!

    HTH,

    TH
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.