CompuSec - HD encryption

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by iceni60, Dec 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

i'm thinking of installing CompuSec, and i hope someone can answer some questions i have about it?

1) what's the point of it?. is it manily to protected the computer incase it gets stolen?, or/and will it stop a cracker from being able to read data from your HD?

2) is it a running service? and does it use alot of resourses?

3) have/do you use/d it? what do you thing of it?

thanks. :)

heres another link for it...
    http://www.snapfiles.com/get/compusec.html

2. zexton

zexton Guest

I'm not an expert on hard drive encryption, but from what I understand encrypting your hard drive will indeed protect you from a hacker who was able to download the contents of your hd, or from hd/computer theft also.

But here's the problem with encrypting your hd, after encrypting you may have problems doing an image of your hd and may not be successful in your attempts to restore the image made with any program like Ghost, True Image ect... So from what I understand you have to choose one or the other- hd Image or hd encryption. If anyone knows a way around this problem please post it.

3. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

thanks zexton. at the moment i dont do imaging. im not sure if anyone uses it here, i did a search and nothing came up. maybe if we are patient someone will turn up.

4. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

hi, im downloading this now, it says it is important that you disable any anti-virus software during installation, otherwise the install will fail.

and...

CompuSec PC Security Suite is a security software that uses pre-boot authentication and full hard disk encryption as well as encryption of floppy disks and other removable media. The pre-boot access control requires you to enter your UserID and password before the system will boot up.

there's also more here and here