ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by javacool, Mar 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
  2. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Re: ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released!!!

     
  3. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Re: ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released!!!

    Personally, I must admit I love the new Visual-Trace feature that locates where hack attempts came from. (Good thing I waited before buying a seperate software program to do this!)

    I was also interested in a feature that strips the HTTP header information so that things like the "referring page" (and other items, of course) are not sent to websites. (It works quite well in my tests.)

    The ad blocking features work quite like Ad-Shield (i.e. nothing is displayed in place of an ad) - but it doesn't seem to require any configuration to start blocking all ads from major ad networks on the websites I have visited in the short time since it was released. (Ex. While CNN.com will not have ads on it, Slashdot.org still will have its banner ad - but why would you want to remove the main revenue source from a great site like slashdot.org anyway?  :))

    By blocking mobile code, it is meant that ZoneAlarm Pro can optionally block any or all of the following:
    -scripts (JavaScript, VBScript, etc.)
    -embedded objects (Java, Active-X)
    -block mime-type integrated objects (By far, probably the most interesting one.)

    That's about all the information I have right now - enjoy!

    -javacool



    Update: For those that may not know, by mime-type intergrated objects, it is meant (for your benefit, quote is taken from ZAP help):
     
  4. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Re: ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released!!!

    Minor problem with authentication on these forums when the option "block 3rd party cookies" is enabled...

    And adding this site to the "sites" list under the privacy settings, and checking "accept" 3rd party cookies does not seem to fix it.

    Unfortunate...
     
  5. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Oops...another minor problem (I bet ZoneLab's tech support will just LOVE me once I'm done testing out their program  :D*...)

    When turning on "block ad pop-ups/pop-unders" it also disables the main content of www.securitynewsportal.com . I don't know if it does the same thing for other websites (or parts of websites).

    The only current way to rectify it (that I know of) is to disable the blocking of pop-ups/pop-unders (or to not go to www.securitynewsportal.com - which is NOT an option).


    *Could be considered using, but I like to call it "testing" until the 3.1.xxx release  :D
    Disclaimer: The above statement is generalized for ALL software programs I use - not just ZoneAlarm - I don't want anyone to take it the wrong way. ZoneLab's products are high quality IMHO.
     
  6. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    One more minor problem  :D

    Do not set "Privacy Protection" to the "ON" setting for Windows Media Player - it will cause the system to become very sluggish and/or freeze up (tested on a Windows XP system).
     
  7. FarCry

    FarCry Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    82
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I think the Media problems are related to Privacy, Mobile Code Control, Block mime-type integrated objects.
    When I check Block mime-type integrated objects I can't open or save any media files from web sites at all.  

    Copied from ZAPro help:
    MIME-type integrated object

    An object such as an image, sound file, or video file that is integrated into an e-mail message. MIME stands for Multipurpose Internet Mail Extensions..
     
  8. Mike_Healan

    Mike_Healan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Posts:
    302
    Location:
    USA
    Re: ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released!!!

    Well, just FYI, it's not that blocking 3rd party cookies makes the board stop working. I block them by default in Mozilla and don't have the least problem. Something ZAP is doing wrong I guess.
     
  9. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Re: ZoneAlarm Pro 3.0 released!!!

    Not so.  Under ZAP - but before Proxomitron - I could access this board with no problems.
     
  10. Liquid_Fish

    Liquid_Fish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    81
    I'm having no trouble signing into the Board with Zap 3.0,  but when I come back to the board I have to login again.    I have everything enabled for http://www.security-pro.co.uk.
     
  11. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    That is exactly the problem I am experiencing - loging in works fine, but the browser "forgets" the log-in cookie (I believe that ZAP 3.0 is blocking it as a 3rd-party cookie for some reason).

    Sorry if I wasn't more specific.
     
  12. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    you guys actualy bought za 3.0 pro im just curiouse i cant picture everone going out and buying it befor they try it?
     
  13. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Mr. Blaze,

    30 day trial version available here:

    http://zonelabs.com/zap_download_trial_10.htm

    Be sure to read the instructions before installing:

    http://www.zonelabs.com/products/zap/index.html#



    regards.

    paul
     
  14. Mr.Blaze

    Mr.Blaze The Newbie Welcome Wagon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Posts:
    2,842
    Location:
    on the sofa
    wooohhhhhhhhh hoooooooooooooooooooooooo new toy yes yes yes yes thats why you guys are all giddy lol lol 30 days that plenty of time for me to save up my money and buy the box za 3,0pro in the mean time i get to play with it yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
     
  15. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

  16. Liquid_Fish

    Liquid_Fish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    81
    Actually,  I already owned it.  wooohhhhhhhhh hoooooooooooooooooooooooo, Its called a upgrade.
    yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh  ;)
     
  17. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    :D

    Same here - I already owned ZA Pro and used my license key to upgrade (Mr. Blaze: each license key lasts you for a year of free updates - the program will still function after that however, just no new versions)
     
  18. Liquid_Fish

    Liquid_Fish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    81
    Has anyone taken a look at the GRC news groups lately?  Its starting to look like a Battle ground of ZA 3 users.  

    Zone labs really needs to start up their own board.
     
  19. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    Don't tempt me, I might just go troll over there....
     
  20. Liquid_Fish

    Liquid_Fish Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Posts:
    81
    Weird... it works fine today.  I've made no changes at all.  How about you Javac?
     
  21. javacool

    javacool BrightFort Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    3,997
    Works fine for me today also - very unusual...
     
  22. JD

    JD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    12
    I've used ZA/ZAPro for 2 years now and had no problems whatsoever. I "upgraded" to 3.0 and am quite surprised at what a piece of junk it is. The damned thing never should've been released to the public yet.  Zonelabs really shot themselves in the b*lls this time.  I uninstalled version 3 and decided to try Sygate Pro. So far, it looks pretty good to me. Even if Zonelabs gets 3.0 fixed, I'll need alot of convincing to go back to it.    :'(

    They should've done that years ago. The whole time I used ZA, their "official" support sucked big time. It was pretty much non-existent.  A few of the Zonelab employees hang out at the GRC groups and do an outstanding job "on their own time." I guess it doesn't matter much at this time, at least for me and many others who are finding alternatives to ZA.
     
  23. ZAP 3.0 works fine for me, and always has since 1.0.   Some people have no problems, others have plenty. But isn't that the way it is. Take The Cleaner, for example. Never could get the thing to work properly on my machine. But TDS-3 works like a charm. I dunno.....

    -Bob
     
  24. GA

    GA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    35
    When I return to the board it shows me as a guest; but when I go to a specific thread such as this one, I am shown as logged in. ZA Pro 3.0 Win XP Pro. Quirky but acceptable.
     GA
     
  25. GA

    GA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    35
    I can't find the referrer blocking controls. Is it automatically engaged when you set privacy for a program? I really like the components section.
    GA
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.