ZoneAlarm Free Firewall v10

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Cloud, Oct 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    The safest approach is to wait for your ZAfree 9.2 automatic update to notify you of the new version.
    Automatic update is turned ON only if the update is judged trouble free. ;)
     
  2. HKEY1952

    HKEY1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Posts:
    657
    Location:
    HKEY/SECURITY/ (value not set)
    Cloud, the official release of ZoneAlarm Free Firewall is always Posted Here:

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/information/znalm/zaReleaseHistory.html


    NOT IN THE FORUM

    The Yes..... in my Post is there expressing my agreement with all the Posters that the problems that they are
    currently experiencing are due to the fact that ZoneAlarm Free Firewall is not Officially Released yet until
    Check Point ZoneAlarm publishes the Download Link in the above link in this Post.

    The Forum Download is only avaliable in order to release it to the public in advance as an Release Candidate
    to fine tune it and remove any Bugs that may exist.....I see now that I shoud have been more specific.


    HKEY1952
     
  3. drakhil

    drakhil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Posts:
    24
    turn the alert setting to high bu going to tools >logs>advanced stiings and you see nice no of alerts :)
    this firewall is very smart I am using free version
    regards
    Akhil
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Well,maybe it is smart for a simple and free firewall.But i am smart enough to choose another free FW with HIPS,like Privatefirewall,Online Armor or Comodo,all free.Or if i don't want a HIPS FW and still free,i can pick Rising Free Firewall.I wonder if in this new version they still have pop-ups that nags you when the machine is just started up.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,070
    Location:
    USA
    On Softpedia.com ZoneAlarm Free 9.2.106.000 weighs in at 44 megabytes and it's XP/Vista/7 compatible. Does v9.2 work well, and what does the free v10 offer over v9.2?
     
  6. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
  7. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    432
    Not only that, but what does TCPView show when you start up the firewall? (If you can't stop it from phoning home with ZA Pro, then I doubt if they'll let you in ZA Free).
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    To stop phoning home you need to remove the toolbar, turn OFF web protection, turn OFF smartdefense, turn OFF check for products updates, and many more functions. Once you have basically cut 80% of the internet aware functionalities it will not call home... but whats the point of even install it if you have to turn OFF all the features? Just leave it in peace and choose something else. :D
     
  9. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,126
    i'd rather have ZoneAlarm phone home than a someone else hacking me:thumb: :D :D
     
  10. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    Hallelujah,good piece of advice!:D
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Now it seems been released officially with main changes and bug fixes:

    http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/information/znalm/zaReleaseHistory.html

     
  12. Tarantula

    Tarantula Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2011
  13. jaodsvuda

    jaodsvuda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    160
    Something wicked this way comes...There´s a 4.83 Mb big ( :blink: ) new installer on CNET ( xxtp://download.cnet.com/ZoneAlarm-Free-Firewall/3000-10435_4-10039884.html ) , and a couple of interesting user reviews ...edit : O.K. Major Geeks has a full installer dated 11-11-2011 .
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  14. Zyrtec

    Zyrtec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Posts:
    534
    Location:
    USA

    Hello,


    The ZoneAlarm free full installer can be downloaded from the link below:

    hxxp://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/1025_za/zaSetup_101_065_000.exe

    Just don't forget to replace the two xx on hxxp with tt.


    Thanks,




    Carlos

    EDIT: fixed word uninstaller replacing it with the correct word. Thanks Fax for pointing it out. :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    You mean the full installer. :D
    Btw, the main advantage of the on-line installer (4kb) is that you don't need to download the huge offline installer due language packs. The online installer will choose according to your preferences at install.
     
  16. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    6,070
    Location:
    USA
  17. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,053
    yup, with online installer the download size is only 34mb......:D
     
  18. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,808
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    There is another download link
    -http://download.zonealarm.com/bin/free/1001_en/zaSetup_92_102_000_en.exe-
    size 44.8Mb
     
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Thats a link to an old version V9. Here we are talking about V10. May be mixed up? o_O
     
  20. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    ZoneAlarm version 10.1.065.000 blocked my Atheros "wireless card" and system

    restore.

    ZA has some serious bugs to fix. :rolleyes:

    I'm using OA Free until ZA is safe to use!
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Uuuhm, strange, I have not seen any report of this kind in the ZA forum. If you try to restore your system to an ealier point than its normal. You need to remove ZA before (or Uncheck it at startup). Its a common issue for many security products hooking at kernel level.

    Are you using the native Microsoft Wireless Zero configuration or the software provided in the wireless card? The latter may create problems. At least this was a common issue with previous version.
     
  22. pdexie

    pdexie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Posts:
    5
    Well same problem here, I have a laptop with a atheros wireless card and ZApro 10 can't work with it.
    I have since version 10 serveral problems with that version.

    In the past i reported it at the forum of ZA, but mostely the answer is:
    Sorry, all users here. To know about how ZA works or what it does you will need to contact ZA technical support although I doubt that will know it (this is something development should be aware of).

    Futher mostely posts at that forum are clossed.

    ZApro was a verry good firewall, but since version 10 is a poor firwall, but that is my opinion
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, of course. The forum is useless (all users) from the point of view of detailed reporting bugs, if it is a bug. They can't collect logs for ZA development.

    Anyway, did you report it to technical support? Was not really clear from your post o_O

    What you can't find in the forum is reports of conflicts with the third party software used to manage the wireless connection instead of the standard Microsoft Wireless Zero configuration. However its not clear (for you and ZIP) if you actually using the wireless card software or the XP native support. If so, that is most likely the source of the issue. If not then it is essential to report to them in order to be fixed in later releases.

    Also consider that atheros based wireless card are widely used (using one currently), probably the most used. If there is a general problem with atheros chip then it would be a killing issue for ZA.

    Hope this helps

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  24. carat

    carat Guest

    Does that problem still exist? :doubt:
     
  25. zip

    zip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Mars
    Everything is great in ZoneAlarm Free 10.1.079.000. :D

    My Atheros "wireless card" working beautifully now.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.