ZoneAlarm Free 8

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by nomarjr3, Sep 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nomarjr3

    nomarjr3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Posts:
    502
    Is this new version an improvement to the previous versions?
    I've noticed that the installer takes less space than the last version of ZoneAlarm Free 7.
    Anyone's using/testing this program? Feedback would be appreciated.
     
  2. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    Not using it, but investigated it. Like its predecessors, it's just basic firewall protection. It will stealth your system, but has poor leak protection if that is important to you. The reason that it's a smaller install than V. 7.xx is that it's a subset of ZAP instead of ZA's Internet Security. Hope that answers your questions!
     
  3. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I was going to have a look at this latest version of the free firewall, but after finding a download link at their website it only downloaded an executable which on execution stated that it would download and install the "Zonealarm Switch"

    ZA_free.jpg


    What is that?
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I'm using it on one of my systems. Based on features it seems essentially the same as previous versions. The GUI is much improved though - I appreciate that they did away with the orange theme.
     
  5. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't heard of Zonealarm Switch. Here is the link I used recently to install the free firewall.

    http://www.zonealarm.com/store/content/company/products/znalm/freeDownload.jsp

    hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Its a downloader... if you push on it will ask if you want to download 'only' the full installer or 'download and install'... of ZA.
    Switch? No idea.. may be they refer to the downloader itsels?

    I think the idea behind is to ensure users do not use downlaod managers or other browsers.

    Cheers.
    Fax
     
  7. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2008
  9. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    I like to know exactly what is being downloaded, I do not know what "Zonealarm switch" is.
    I also like to know exactly how many files and where the files are to be downloaded to.

    Principle and security.
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    localhost
    Aaaaaaah, OK.
    Thanks :)

    Fax
     
  11. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    I understand your concern, but can you ever be completely certain about what is being downloaded? The way I think about is if I'm going to trust the firewall product I may as well trust the downloader. AFAICT, the only function it serves is to automatically determine the OS and offer the correct file.

    Correction: You have to choose the OS (that could be a problem for some people <g>).
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  12. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    Just a FYI after you choose your OS it gives you those options.
     
  13. bonedriven

    bonedriven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Posts:
    565
    Hi Stem.

    You can see what you've downloaded after that step.It's a file named zaSWITCH_Setup_en.exe,version 7.0.483.0,size 44.6MB.You can install it any time.

    I'd really love to see some comments on this new freebie.
     
  14. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
    I don't get it. What does 7.0.483.0 have anything to do with 8.0?
    I count to ten like this: 1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10.
    The number 7 (or 7.0) is the number BELOW 8 (8.0)

    If you want to read ZA comments, here's a link to the Installation, Uninstall and Upgrade section of their forum:

    http://forums.zonelabs.com/zonelabs/board?board.id=inst

    Checkpoint tech support doesn't monitor this forum...that's smart, eh?

    Looks to me that v8.0 (non-free) is another disaster.

    A link to ZA Free Release History:

    http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/information/znalm/zaReleaseHistory.html
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2008
  15. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    What about the quality of inbound protection and handling of wireless connections o_O
     
  16. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    I don't see any 8 version neither.
     
  17. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I believe that if you have an account and sign in that there is a place on the website to download the full version, bypassing the downloader.

    At least there is for the non-free versions. I used it to download the full ZAAV V8.
     
  18. BrendanK.

    BrendanK. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Posts:
    520
    Location:
    Australia
    Errr....What's This?
     
  19. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Good question !

    You may think I´m paranoid, but I don´t fully trust those third party websites.

    Why would that company release a new version of a FREE firewall ?
    The newer versions of their commercial firewall software are much more ´comprehensive´and different, what´s the incentive ?
     
  20. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,133
    Location:
    USA
    The free firewall has always been a way of promoting the "Pro" (for pay) version. The free version IS the Pro version with some of the features turned off. It's not a separately developed program.
     
  21. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Maybe you're right, but I think 'some' is an understatement, it's more like 'a lot'.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.