Zonealarm firewall; different versions question

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Fly, May 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Unfortunately Zonealarm doesn't sell it's 'full' firewall without antivirus or other extras.

    They still offer a free firewall, but judging by the comparison on their website, that one lacks the 'advanced rules'.

    Does anyone know anything about it ? What's the difference ? Is it outdated ? Does it filter wireless connections ? Good inbound protection? Good SPI or anything similar ?
     
  2. wigwam

    wigwam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    Zone Alarm Pro has no antivirus etc but has all the advanced firewall rules.
    not sure what stuff you mean??
     
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Going to their website and comparing the different products, Zonealarm Pro includes antispyware (which I don't need), and it's rather expensive.

    Maybe you intended to refer to something different ?
     
  4. Zeena

    Zeena Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Posts:
    409
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Fly :)

    I'm no Firewall expert ... So please check it out for yourself first!

    But what about : PC Tools Firewall Plus

    Here is the PC Tools Website : http://www.pctools.com/

    That's what I'm using!
    Along with AVG 8 Anti-Virus & Anti-Spyware

    PC Tools Firewall Plus : http://www.pctools.com/firewall/
    It's Free and it's just a Firewall :D
    It has Inbound & Outbound protection.
    On installation ... You will be asked if you also want to install PC Tools -Threatfire
    Threatfire is Free too!
    You just make sure the box is Un-Ticked if you don't want Threatfire.


    I was originally going to install....
    AVG - Anti-Virus
    PC Tools Firewall Plus - Firewall
    Webroot Spysweeper - Anti-Spyware

    But a bit like you...
    I found AVG 8 now comes with Anti-Spyware
    So I couldn't have Webroot Spysweeper :doubt:
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2008
  5. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I don't particularly like the free ZA, as I recall it does not have the program rules the paid versions have.

    There is a Product Comparison page.

    The OS you are running also makes a difference. The Vista versions omit many of the features present in the XP versions (still).

    On Vista I run ZoneAlarm AntiVirus (plus firewall). On XP I used to run the Suite, but if I were to go back to XP I would now run ZoneAlarm AntiVirus (plus firewall) on XP, too, instead of the Suite or Pro.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2008
  6. wigwam

    wigwam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Posts:
    45
    my apologies yes I see what you mean.
    I am still living in the past with ZAPro as anything after 5.5 gives my machines terminal illnesses!
     
  7. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
    This is a link to a comparison chart of the various features of ZoneAlarm products. http://www.zonealarm.com/store/content/catalog/products/znalm/comparison.jsp
     
  8. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    So Zonealarm Anti-spyware is not Vista ready?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, it will be after they release version 7.3 (currently in beta)
    No ETA yet.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  10. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    so the za antispyware beta is out now? is it stable? Where do I sign up at?
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, only ZASS 7.3 is in beta.... but missing antispyware elements have been included in the ZASS, so that soon, after the beta, they should be integrated into ZAAS.

    ZASS 7.3.0.13 beta is not stable for me.... but may be is just me!
    In any case better to have a full backup of the system before trying it :)

    You find it here:
    www.zonealarm.com/beta

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  12. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I've had some very bad experiences with Pctools.

    Nevertheless, since the firewall is 'free', I decided to take a look at their forum, firewall section.

    It didn't look good. Many people have had a number of issues, including not being able to connect to the internet !

    So I'll keep looking. I just wish there were more tests regarding inbound protection and handling of wireless connections. And the very complicated/technical firewalls with IP-tables are out of my league.
     
  13. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Well what are you actually looking for in a firewall?
     
  14. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Good or perfect inbound protection (full SPI or something similar), resistant to inbound attacks, must be able to handle wireless connections well, not a real resource hog, not very complicated to properly set up (so no snort rules or advanced HIPS), it should be stable, basic outbound protection, and free or not expensive.

    (And the Zonealarm Pro firewall comes with the Kaspersky antivirus engine, which probably would not work well with Counterspy. And I don't need the Zonealarm antispyware stuff either, I have the Spy Sweeper and Counterspy. It's also expensive.)

    :)
     
  15. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    How about this one? :p Free, has inbound and outbound, not a resource hog, handles wireless and is stable. http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-10878_11-6098592.html
     
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, only ZAAV and ZASS comes with Kaspersky engine.

    Fax
     
  17. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
  18. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    I suppose this is a misunderstanding:

    The FULL Zonealarm Pro version comes with either antvirus, antispyware, or both. (see their website)

    Of course it may be possible not to install the antivirus or antispyware part, but I still need an antivirus. I don't need their antispyware, I suppose it would be overkill since I already use Counterspy and the Spy Sweeper. And I suspect Kaspersky won't play along with Counterspy.

    Or do I perhaps misunderstand you, and does a particular version of Zonealarm Pro come with a different antivirus engine ? If so, which one, and where can that information be found ?

    Just buying the full package just for the firewall is expensive ! (Although that may depend on where you live, IP check etc.)
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2008
  19. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    There are essentially (and simplifying) 4 retail XP installations possible:

    ZA PRO: Firewall + ZA antispyware + Privacy features
    ZA AV: Firewall + KAV virus/spyware protection
    ZA AS: Firewall + ZA antispyware
    ZA SS: Firewall + ZA antispyware + KAV virus/spyware protection + Privacy + parental + etc...

    http://www.zonealarm.com/store/content/catalog/products/znalm/comparison.jsp

    The interpretation is simple: wherever antivirus in mentioned it comes from Kaspersky wherever antispyware is mentioned it comes from ZA own antispyware. ZASS has both...

    There is no FULL ZAPRO, and ZAPRO has no antivirus...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  20. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Thank you.

    Well, I've seen the FULL price in euros, and that makes the firewall expensive !
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Never buy in € but only in $$$
    They have a very weird 1:1 exchange rate! ;)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  22. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Often these companies have a 2:1 exchange rate plus VAT, or worse ..

    It is not always possible to buy in USD, unless you use a proxy or anonymizer service.
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Proxy? Anonymizer? Not as complicated as you can expect :D
    Yes, you can buy in USD... yes you have to pay VAT.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2008
  24. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Not always ;)
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Depends where you are...
    VAT, for example, applies to EU countries.

    Fax
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.