ZoneAlarm Extreme Security beta !!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by stargate2k, Jun 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    What's your laptop's hardware?

    Mine is 512mb and I think 1.73GHz and it takes almost a minute to get to login and about 30 seconds to load up to my user account.
     
  2. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Just need to make sure we are comparing apples with apples.

    Here are the specific details

    Vista Business
    Intel T5250
    2GB ram
     
  3. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Well mine is
    Intel Pentium M 740
    Windows XP Pro
    512mb RAM
    1.73GHz

    I think Vista is the thing responsible for slowing it down. I know someone who's computer is Vista Business and it is horrendously slow, even with (I think) 3gb RAM.
     
  4. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
  5. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    It is but I like the comestic changed, even if they are only that. . But that did get me thinking. ZAEX obviously adds a sandbox but what does the newer versions of ZAIS offer over the old version?
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Better KAV engine control.
    'On-access' exclusion by file/folder and different on-demand scanning options.

    Fax
     
  7. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    Bootup times for me are about 4 min with ZAES on. with it off im at 35 sec from power button to useable windows. ZAES was on a freshly formated system nothing else on it but World of Warcraft and Firefox 3

    Im running a

    2100 XP Athlon
    2 gigs of DDR 3200
    120 Gig Western dig HD with 8 meg cache

    IT SHOULD NOT make a 3.30 sec clime in time to boot and I normally don't reboot for days. but the system hang at boot and shutdown drives me insane lol.
     
  8. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Is your system running XP or Vista? We seem to be experiencing the same increase in boot up times. Maybe it is what fax is suggesting re needing to let program control build up its settings. Is this slow down at the start or after some usage as you talked about before?

    Oh I forgot that. However, this is a standard feature of most AV packages. ZA is really just catching up in this respect.

    Does it bring anything new to the table that differenciates it from the competition?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Sandbox in the Extreme version... optimization in the other versions...
    No radical innovation but incremental innovation as many of the products on the market.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Im useing XP SP3. and I have left the program on my computer for a week. refer to the post above with screen shots. still no improvement :'(



    also fax I see a nother (Fax) on the beta boards for ZAES would that be j00 ? and if so. FIX MY PRODUCT MAHAHA! k im done!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2008
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    the best is to write to beta feedback, they are usually quite reactive... at least they have been with the bugs I have reported. Only drawback is that you need to keep using ZAES to be able to send logs if requested to do so...

    Yeah... I am the same 'fax' of the ZA board... but I have no connection with ZAlabs as anybody else on that board apart from the ZA moderator. So can't fix your product... :p

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  12. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I've been helping them. Will have to reinstall ZA after exams and send them a memory dump.

    I'm not doing beta testing to gain any benefit however, if you help them along the way, do they reward you with a license at all?

    Cheers
    Jeremy
     
  13. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    aye installing ZAES im goin to let it run a bit see what happens and send logs as needed. honestly main reason im beta testing this my self is I plan to move to it as my main security if it holds up well. it has all the options I was lookin for and less bugs then Esets current version that no one seams in a hurry to fix :\
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Don't know... and I don't think so. If I remember well last main ZAFF beta ended up with some licenses sent to testers... I do not personally test ZA products for a license... I do it for fun :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  15. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    304
    Fax... Can you provide any details?
     
  16. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    With Current ZA AV versions, you can only exclude the "on-access" scanning by thread (e.g. you can exclude 'EICAR' test from been detected) but you can't set ZA AV to ignore specific files, folders or drivers. This is finally been implemented in ZA AV.

    In current retail version of ZA AV you have limited control on the way 'on-demand' scan works on your system. For example, KAV will scan all your files as well as compressed/zipped/etc.. unless you manually exclude them. An operation that, depending on the amount of archives contained in your system, can take a long time.

    This latest version have four levels of 'on-demand' scanning... from only scanning of executable up to full in-depth scan. So you can tune your on-demand scanning at your own taste.

    These are the changes that are evident from the interface. Probably there has been improvements in the API dealing with the KAV engine but I don't really know... ZA developers for sure knows better... :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  17. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I do it for fun too but my license for Avira is about to expire so there are things that may impact my decision.
     
  18. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    hi

    new beta version is out :) "ZoneAlarm Extreme Security 8.0.003.000 "

    Download:
    http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/beta/zabeta.html

    and don`t forget beta feedback :)

    http://www.zonealarm.com/betafeedback

    i have not testet the new release so far but i am wondering why they make so a big jump from v7 to v8 !?

    Best regards

    Stargate
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2008
  19. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I tried to help them with feedback. They sent an email back saying that they want me to take a memory dump and told me that they have attached the tools I need to do it. However no tools were attached and I emailed them back asking them to send it to me. I need a program to take a memory dump of my whole computer and a tool to extra the data relevant to the zonealarm exectuables. Do you guys know where I can get them?
     
  20. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    well new version seems to have fixed my boot problem.. the computer is booting much faster im seeing MAYBE at 10-15 sec add on to boot time. and that's about it. also Forcefield is loading in about 1-3 sec now instead of 10-20 so they seemed to nab one problem.
     
  21. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Have you tried the tools here:
    http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/beta/downloads/index.html

    But they are for XP, they may be working also on VISTA (may be not).
    First you need to set VISTA for full memory dump.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  22. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I tried the programs on that link but it doesn't work. The new version is still slow for me... back to f-prot
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Have you tried without other security tools (e.g. Sandbox)
    When testing you have to play with your booting/services to try to detect conflicts...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  24. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for the suggestion. I havent tried removing sandboxie but I won't be using ZA anyway if I have to use it on its own.
     
  25. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Well, its not about running ZA alone or not...its about letting ZA developers know that their software is conflicting with another software...

    But indeed beta testing is voluntary and time consuming and you are, of course, free to give up whenever you want :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.