ZoneAlarm Extreme Security beta !!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by stargate2k, Jun 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    ZASP.JPG

    Dont know if that is what you were lookin for or not
     
  2. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh wow that is much better than the current version of ZA! Can you guys do some more screen shots showing some of the configuration options?

    Thanks
    Jeremy
     
  3. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Pic #1
    1.JPG

    Pic #2
    2.JPG

    Pic #3
    3.JPG
     
  4. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Fajo! I know it can be a little pain to take sceenshots, save them and upload them so I really appreciate it!

    Also can you show some of the options with the OSFirewall? I'm interested in the behavior blocker in ZA and want to see how configurable it is.
     
  5. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Unfortantly I Had to unintall it after a few days it seems to run Really Really slugeish I sent a report into ZA about it but for now im goin with more proven protection and will look at this again once it comes into RC's
     
  6. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    Thank you man.
    It seems little better in settings than the actual.

    Mike
     
  7. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    So it was good to start with and just got slower and slower?
     
  8. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    correct. Tho it is beta It could just be that fact. but shutdowns were takin about 50-70 sec to finish boot times incresed by 30 sec. also the Web was takin forever to fire up a browser. anyware from 30-40 sec. on a Modern computer.

    so for now Its uninstalled but I will revist it once it hits RC
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    New ZA beta available.... 7.4.003.000
    www.zonealarm.com/beta

    and as usual don't shoot the messenger :D

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  10. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    bang!!!!!!!! :doubt:
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    LOL :ninja:

    Fax
     
  12. Sjoeii

    Sjoeii Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    1,240
    Location:
    52?18'51.59"N + 4?56'32.13"O
    Great.
    Thanx Fax. Good to see ZA evolving
     
  13. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I've installed the new beta for just the security suite (don't need a sandbox as I'm already using sandboxie). It is quite configurable and you can turn the HIPS up and down levels so that it can be suitable for both novices and wilders folk. What happened to IM encryption though?

    Also this kind of stumped me.

    zonealarm.png

    Why is ebay.doubleclick.net allowed to place cookies on my computer when it will place a tracking cookie on my computer?
     
  14. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Ebay has always been a Site the ZA has allowed sence they started restricting sites and cookies. also dub click host images on some auctions for Ebay. tho your right I dont understand why it would have to leave cookies. Unless ebay has modifyed something to require cookies from them to allow people to use there site. =\

    just remove it then if it comes up you can change it.

    otherwise everytime I install any ZA or ZAS. item I remove EVERYTHING from sites from and from program controles once its installed that way it has to ask me.

    stupid defaults =X


    Also I recall IM Encrp. in the Extream Security but I could be wrong.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 20, 2008
  15. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Nope, as far as I know, IM is gone... it was (is) outdated and creating a lot of problems. For secure communications better to use IM with native encryption (e.g. Skype).

    Cookies pre-list is there to avoid issues with users having trouble to access websites... Program control can be a real pain for inexperienced users. :)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  16. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    hi

    a new beta is out "ZoneAlarm Extreme Security 7.4.006.000 (32-bit)" :thumb:

    Beta Download:
    http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/beta/zabeta.html

    and when you find a bug pleas report it to the beta team:

    http://www.zonealarm.com/betafeedback


    Best regards

    Stargate
     
  17. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
  18. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Still a huge hang in shutdown =( other then that GUI seems more responsive
     
  19. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I timed my start up. With no ZAIS (or any security suite) it takes 2.20 while it takes 5.30 with ZAIS. Tried it 3 times and got the same result. I sent a beta feedback report with a hijackthis log to show them the other software I was running. Hope they can figure something out.
     
  20. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Does 2.20 mean two minutes and twenty seconds or two point two seconds or something else?

    Thanks
     
  21. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    2 mins and 20 secs and 5 mins and 30 secs.
     
  22. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Back to ESET for me. Once you been spoiled by the effectiveness and the speed of it, its hard to use anything else for long.. Ill check this out in a few months. Im a LONG TIME ZA fan, way before checkpoint got there grimy hands on them :'(
     
  23. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    5 minutes!!! That's ridiculously long! :cautious: :thumbd:
     
  24. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Yep, 5 minutes is far tooo long :eek: . Actually, I don't see this here... and latest beta is quick booting as compared to retail version (7.1 on VISTA). Also note that ZASS/ZAES takes some time to adjust to your system settings. You will see booting improvements after the training time of the firewall. Usually you have a delay between 1 to 2 minutes maximum. By the way, 2 minutes to boot without ZA is still very long.... probably you have a very populated boot list :)

    ZASS is not multi-security friendly. So, if you like to run multiple security tools on your system than better to move to something else.

    I personally don't care about slow booting since I boot my system once or twice a day... and I can wait 2 minutes... but if, for whatever reason, you need to boot every hour than probably better to find something faster.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  25. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I remember us having a similar conversation about boot times when I tried the 7.1 Vista version. It takes two mins because 1) my laptop is rather low end and 2) I have a few thinkpad progs that I just cant live without.

    It actually takes 1.30 mins just to get into the login screen. Another minute after that get fully loaded. The only other 'security' software I'm running is sandboxie. Could that be the issue? Otherwise I have no resident security programs running.

    I went back to Avira and tested for startup times. It went from 2.20 to 2.50, a 30 seconds increase which is acceptable. I will give ZA another try when the next beta comes out and will give it a week for the program control to record all the settings.

    I'm not booting on and off much either and usually hibernate. However a 3 minute increase is just TOO much to handle even if reboots are infrequent.

    Cheers
    Jeremy
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.