ZoneAlarm Extreme Security beta !!

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by stargate2k, Jun 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks! Looks nice. Checkpoint is really moving away from the old ZoneLabs branding hey? I do prefer the white blue and green. Just feels much more sanitized than the yellow and maroon.

    Are they still using the old KAV SDK? (or rather has KAV released a new SDK?)
     
  2. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Well, same SDK with drivers been updated from time to time.
    You find components from KAV 5 to KAV 7. Signature AV has not changed much anyway and AV heuristics is yet to show the great potential... may be in 8 work on AV heuristics signature will move faster.

    I think ZA was really missing an http protection, this has been now patched by Force Field integration.
    Look is more modern... although I am still fun of the old interface ;)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  3. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    So you are saying that the heuristics is not particularly effective and most of KAV's detections are signature based?

    Also what about KAV's PDM. Is this similar to the OS Firewall in ZA?
     
  4. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Well, heuristics as anything else is improving, for the rest, ZA/ZAES and KAV/KIS are two different products with different features.

    Yes, PDM is similar to ZA OS firewall.
    But would not like to enter in the specific comparison. I own and run both and they are great security tools.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  5. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Re PDM and OS Firewall, not looking for a direct comparison. I just wanted to know if they were in the same class of products.

    Re heuristics, I think it is important to make a comparison because it is an important part of the suite. If I get the full ZA suite, I want to know that the AV is strong and it is not the weakest link as it lacks the full heuristics engine in KAV.
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Indeed, heuristics plays (so far) a minor role in overall protection as compared to the other tools you have in the suite from HIPS to the sandbox.

    You have also to consider that the development of ZAFF have pushed a lot of efforts and resources into improving ZA own spyware engine. For example, in one last gigantic tests by Andreas Marx, ZA spyware detection was quite good and on top of KAV.

    Again, at the end of the day they both provide excellent protection, the issue is more which one runs better on your system and which one you like most.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  7. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    have you a link to this test ??

    Best regards

    stargate
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2008
  9. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    For HTTP protection, is there any indication on at what price point forcefield will be included? It seems to me checkpoint is trying to further upsell. Instead of having ZASS being the most expensive and comprehensive, there will be another level up, ZA Extreme. I don't to have to pay for the most expensive package if I want some HTTP protection. Other vendors have HTTP scanning in the mid range packages.
     
  10. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    No idea... sorry.
    I guess ZAES will be cheaper than ZASS + ZAFF.

    Fax
     
  11. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,747
    I was going to try this out until I saw they are still using KAV.
     
  12. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    hi

    and what`s bad on kav ??

    stargate
     
  13. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    KAV was actually a plus for me. Why are you not happy with KAV?
     
  14. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,747
    I have had the much discussed chkdsk issue on multiple PCs.
     
  15. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9

    you have testet it with KAV and not ZASS ?

    i think you should try the new extreme beta, i had no problems there with kaspersky...


    Best regards

    Stargate
     
  16. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Im currently running Extreme so far no PC slow down games seem to be responding well to it. I love the new interface and the intergration of Forcefeild is quite nice.

    so far awsome its useing around 100 megs of mem at peak. witch vs the current feat set it has is not bad at all and means the majority of people now run around 2gigs to 4 gigs of memory. it should never be a issue.

    I also like the intergration of KAV.
     
  17. stargate2k

    stargate2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    hi

    a new beta version is available: http://download.zonelabs.com/bin/free/beta/zabeta.html

    when someone find a bug, please send it to the ZA beta team.

    from ZA forum:

    Best regards

    Stargate
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2008
  18. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    100 megs is still quite bit. Under what conditions does it peak?
     
  19. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814
    Running firefox with about 9 Tabs open. and having a sys scan in the background.. I know 100 megs is alot but comon in the age of people haveing gigs of memory its no diff then a program useing 30 megs with 512 when it was the norm. up with the times 100megs aint bad for system mem. if the program is doin its job right and besides it also has about 8 programs in it you cant expect it to run around 20 megs when its doin 10 diffrent things. :blink: you also have to think what you pay for protection you cant get it for nothing.. you always have to give something its a trade system =) its just what you are willing to live with and at 2gig's of mem It dont bug me

    50 megs of that is Temp as soon as firefox closed that goes away due to Forcefield and its emulation enviorment I belive
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 14, 2008
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    On VISTA dual core and 4Giga RAM

    Zlclient.exe 1.4MB
    ForceField 3.6MB
    vsmon: 45MB
    2 Scanning process: 600kb each (when idle). 12-24MB when scanning.
    ForceField integration: Depending on number of tabs/windows. Varies very much.

    The key issue is how light it runs on your system not how much RAM it uses. Unless you have less than 1 GIGA RAM.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  21. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    I hear what you are saying about the RAM. It doesn't mean though that programs should get bigger too. If developers created software without a 'everyone has more computing power' mindset, we might get cleaner and leaner code. I remember a while back, there was a thread linking to an article on comparing ram requirements of windows 2000 with office 2000 and vista with office 2007. The difference was HUGE!

    Though if 50 megs if from virtualization, that figure of 100 megs seems more reasonable. What about overall system impact?
     
  22. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Always 1 step ahead of me :p
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,899
    Location:
    localhost
    Eheh! :D

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  24. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,814

    honestly I don't notice any slowdown Im a huge gamer so slowdown kills FPS so far World of Warcraft is caped at 60 no surprise there, all the other games I have tryed I have not noticed any fps drop or loading time drop. as for web its still zips around as if I had nothing on my system at all.

    in all honestly I cant wait to see the finished product.

    Edit.....
    also just as a FYI Im not a poster boy for Zone alarm.. infact Norton ZA and a few others I could not stand becuse how slow the system got after installing and how deep into the system they dug them selfs. Im glad to see the system impact is lighting up seems like they are starting to listion to user's about how there products run as for ZAES. I like what I see and hope it continues time will only tell tho. I will be watching this one closely.
     
  25. tec505

    tec505 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Posts:
    284
    Location:
    Romulus, class M planet
    what about av section settings?
    is there an exper mode?

    Mike
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.