Zonealarm extreme problem for action center in windows 7 64 bit

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bryan8888, Mar 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bryan8888

    bryan8888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    Hi everyone!

    I have a totally fresh install of zonealarm extreme 9.1.008.000 on my computer with windows 7 64 bit home premium. I have no other security softwares in my system. After I installed, the action center reported that it can find zonealarm extreme as a antivirus software and needs to update. However no spyware software has been found except windows defender( I already manually disabled windows defender). In other words, windows 7 action center can not recognize zonealarm extreme as a spyware software. What can I do?

    I already uninstalled zonealarm extreme using removal tool provided by forum several times. Start a fresh install. but useless...

    Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Hey Bryan,
    I think such a problem would be better handled over at the checkpoint forum. Unless you have already tried over there. Silly question but have you uninstalled it, ran the removal tool and then ran something like ccleaner?
     
  3. bryan8888

    bryan8888 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Posts:
    17
    hi kjdemuth!

    Yes, i had tried everthing you mentioned. I talked to the live support of checkpoint.. They told me I needed to contact microsoft!!!! They thought that was microsoft's problem which it can not recongnize zonealarm!!

    That is why i post here and see if any one use zonealarm . Maybe they have some experiences with this issue.
     
  4. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,960
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Could be that they haven't gotten around to adding it to the security center yet. It's not zonealarms fault. Its microsoft for not updating the list of 64 bit AV and firewalls. They have to be able to recognize it. Not that other way around.
     
  5. Narxis

    Narxis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Posts:
    477
    I have Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit and it says:

    Windows Defender and Zone Alarm Extreme Security Anti-Spyware are turned on.

    Maybe you should use the latest beta(9.1.180.000) version, it has a lots of fixes and it works great. No slowdowns, no problems. I'm using it.
     
  6. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, if you are so stressed about WSC not reporting it just update to the latest ZAX beta :rolleyes:
    [duplicate posting everywhere will not help getting your issue resolved, on the contrary.... just give the impression of little respect for user communities]
     
  7. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    It happens, not that often, that windows security center takes something wrong and it's really hard to make it change "opinion". Once I have tried everything and I was angry enough to reformat. In any case you could try to use a new version of the software, like others suggested here, and see what happens.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.