ZoneAlarm alert bug

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by StevieO, Jul 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Hi

    Running ZoneAlarm version:8.0.298.000 on Vista

    Can't get rid of that bugging daily alert. Any ideas on how to ?

    TIA
     

    Attached Files:

    • za.png
      za.png
      File size:
      4.8 KB
      Views:
      315
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    set updates on manual? Otherwise, if on auto, tick not to be alerted
     
  3. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Cudni

    Hi, yes updates are on manual.
     
  4. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  5. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    From the link you kindly provided.

    -

    there are many services that need to contact ZA servers.
    What is the exact message?

    Have you turned OFF smartadvisor? Also smartdefense should be turned OFF.
    Also AV/AS updates need to contact ZA servers and you will need to turn OFF them also.

    In summary: to avoid ZA making contacts you should turn OFF 80% of the functionality of your security tool.

    -

    It's the free version i'm using, which doesn't have those features.
     
  6. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    report it to ZA although they might think of it as feature rather than nuisance. Else, tick yes to not to be bothered while it check daily.
     
  7. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    They probably would think that, but it's a nuisance rather than feature for me. Previous versions didn't do this !

    Don't like auto updates on anything.

    If nobody can offer a solution to prevent this loading, i'll look for an earlier version, if there is one for Vista ?

    Thanx for your time
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    I had the same problem with v8.0.298.000 and ZoneAlarm Pro. It had not existed until I upgraded to that version. Tech support did not want to admit it was a bug. I was advised to re-install because of corrupted files. I tolerated it until v8.0.400.020 was released in early June. I then uninstalled the old and installed the new. The problem went away... but I don't really know if it was the new version or the uninstall that fixed it. I think you are probably running the most current version of the free firewall. Good luck.
     
  9. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Page42

    So it's not just me who suffers this. Good to hear your upgrade killed it.

    I'm searching now for a previous version/s. ZA had these on their www before, but i can't see the link now ?
     
  10. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,273
  11. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    act8192

    Thanx for the link.

    As far as i'm aware ALL version 7's and earlier are NOT Vista compatable. The only other 8 on there is v8.0.065.000 which i'm presuming will have the same bugger included !

    Might try Outpost instead and see what it's like. I know it's Very good, but it must be easy to configure/monitor etc, and not frighten regular users with confusing alerts etc.
     
  12. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    When you think about it, all you really have to do is click Do Not Send once a day. Eventually ZA free will come out in v8.0.400.020 and that may fix the bug, as was the case for me. It's a bit easier than installing a new FW. But then again, there's a moment with any software when you pass the point of no return, and it's clearly time to yank it off your computer and go with something else. This is why I have two OA licenses waiting for me... I'm getting a bit tired of little nagging ZAP issues, and I intend to try OA one day soon. Good luck to you. :)
     
  13. StevieO

    StevieO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,067
    Page42

    Yes i suppose it's no biggy once a day, but i'm not the only one using this particular PC. I'm afraid the others are a bit trigger happy, plus they find even that prompt ambiguous.

    Eventually and may, 2 words but who knows when ?

    There are some other things that are also dissapointing in v8 compared to much earlier versions - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=247396

    I've got OA free on an XP PC, and it's an excellent App. I recommend you try it out ASAP, you won't be dissapointed, i'm sure.

    Regards

    S
     
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,729
    Location:
    localhost
    Wait for ZA 9 retail line (currently in beta), stability and usability are the priority for this version :D
    In general, ZAfree line is not anymore up to the competition in terms of functionality. If you mind outbound leaks than OA, Oupost or Comodo will do the job. Just a matter of trying them and see which one you like most!

    Usually ZA free version is offered 3 week after the release of the retails version but may be version 9 got priority.

    Fax
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2009
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.