ZoneAlarm 2017 line (V. 15.123.17051)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fax, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    ZoneAlarm version 15.0.123.17051
    (English) Updated 9-12-2016

    Main changes:
    *Only Chrome Browser is supported and not available in the free version.

    Compatible with Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 7 SP1 and Vista SP2

    Official link to installers of ZAfree, ZAfree+AV, ZAPRO+AV and ZA Extreme at:
    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc...&sg=0&st=694421&documentid=345310&action=view
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is the GUI still unhandy, or has it been redesigned?
     
  3. Impet

    Impet Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    894
    Still unhandy and still uses 400 MB RAM and up to 40 % CPU. I prefer a light AV ... :)
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, I see. Too bad, ZA used to be a decent product, but it got ruined. It needs a major redesign to make it light again.
     
  5. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Just a reality check on RAM usage, here is between 200 and 290. Not 400 as described. Also I see 0-1% CPU usage. The users was either AV scanning the system or may be having heavy torrenting activity in the background (wild guess).

    The memory usage here is similar to other security tools (e.g. Internet Security by EMSISOFT). Also I cannot perceive any impact on the system... so RAM usage is a useless indicator as already discussed here ad nauseam. In fact, The RAM used is by design (load in memory as much as possible) to minimise HD read/write and therefore stress to the system.

    Of course, experience may vary depending on the system... as usual the best is to try it and draw your conclusions. ;)
     
  6. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,285
    I've been tempted to try ZA but haven't found an AV-only version. Does such thing even exist? I can only seem to find info about firewall + av
     
  7. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap, unfortunately there is no AV only version. It always comes with the firewall. You could turn it off but, of course, services will be still running and you will have ZA complaining that firewall is OFF (exclamation mark in the tray).
     
  8. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    267
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi fax, I would like to get your opinion on Zonealarm, specifically the free one. Would you use Zonealarm as your Firewall over Windows FW?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,728
    Location:
    localhost
    IMO, only for outbound control part (ZA application control) not for the inbound as windows firewall already provides a sufficient coverage. On top, nowadays, most users rely on modem/routers that already cover the inbound anyway.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
Loading...