ZoneAlarm 2017 line (V. 15.123.17051)

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by fax, Sep 14, 2016.

  1. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,776
    Location:
    localhost
    ZoneAlarm version 15.0.123.17051
    (English) Updated 9-12-2016

    Main changes:
    *Only Chrome Browser is supported and not available in the free version.

    Compatible with Windows 10, Windows 8.1, Windows 7 SP1 and Vista SP2

    Official link to installers of ZAfree, ZAfree+AV, ZAPRO+AV and ZA Extreme at:
    http://server.iad.liveperson.net/hc...&sg=0&st=694421&documentid=345310&action=view
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,225
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Is the GUI still unhandy, or has it been redesigned?
     
  3. fmon

    fmon formerly: Impet

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,063
    Still unhandy and still uses 400 MB RAM and up to 40 % CPU. I prefer a light AV ... :)
     
  4. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,225
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    OK, I see. Too bad, ZA used to be a decent product, but it got ruined. It needs a major redesign to make it light again.
     
  5. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,776
    Location:
    localhost
    Just a reality check on RAM usage, here is between 200 and 290. Not 400 as described. Also I see 0-1% CPU usage. The users was either AV scanning the system or may be having heavy torrenting activity in the background (wild guess).

    The memory usage here is similar to other security tools (e.g. Internet Security by EMSISOFT). Also I cannot perceive any impact on the system... so RAM usage is a useless indicator as already discussed here ad nauseam. In fact, The RAM used is by design (load in memory as much as possible) to minimise HD read/write and therefore stress to the system.

    Of course, experience may vary depending on the system... as usual the best is to try it and draw your conclusions. ;)
     
  6. atomomega

    atomomega Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,289
    I've been tempted to try ZA but haven't found an AV-only version. Does such thing even exist? I can only seem to find info about firewall + av
     
  7. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,776
    Location:
    localhost
    Yeap, unfortunately there is no AV only version. It always comes with the firewall. You could turn it off but, of course, services will be still running and you will have ZA complaining that firewall is OFF (exclamation mark in the tray).
     
  8. kerykeion

    kerykeion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Location:
    Philippines
    Hi fax, I would like to get your opinion on Zonealarm, specifically the free one. Would you use Zonealarm as your Firewall over Windows FW?
     
  9. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,776
    Location:
    localhost
    IMO, only for outbound control part (ZA application control) not for the inbound as windows firewall already provides a sufficient coverage. On top, nowadays, most users rely on modem/routers that already cover the inbound anyway.
     
  10. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,225
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  11. Dragon1952

    Dragon1952 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1,337
    Location:
    Hollow Earth - Telos
    It looks like a new update is out today for the free firewall and AV.
     
  12. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,883
    fax i have been using ZA both free and paid for ages and i finally gave up because it was really heavy on both RAM and CPU . even browsing is really sluggish . I love the package and not just one part of it but i wished they switched to another lighter AV to maybe AVIRA or Norton or anything as good as KASPERKY
     
  13. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,776
    Location:
    localhost
    Sorry to hear that Gery... I never experienced such heaviness here but I do understand that, if it is the case, it is frustrating. May be at the next version beta testing it would be useful you participate and feedback the development team about it.
     
  14. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,347
    Can't assume a router on a travelling laptop.
    Can I assume that if you only install the firewall, there will be no AV drivers installed?
    I'd like to know what "bad" you see on screen shot 10. Just curious.
    If it's the "?"=ask me, years ago (v5,6,7,8 ) when you installed ZA you had an option to have ZA set it all up, or do it yourself, in which case ask-me was the mode. Is it not this way now?
    Or is the list confusing? Or that dllhost is allowed out?
     
  15. fmon

    fmon formerly: Impet

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,063
    Still 1 automatic update in 24 hours for the free version?
     
  16. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,883
    that is the price for ZA free
     
  17. fmon

    fmon formerly: Impet

    Joined:
    May 5, 2013
    Posts:
    1,063
    I see, thank you Gery.
     
Loading...