ZoneAlarm 2009 Products released

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by vijayind, Aug 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Checkpoint, has released ZoneAlarm 2009 series. Available now from their website.

    ZoneAlarm Extreme Security isn't available, but a ZASS and ZAFF bundle is available for $69.95.

    Features:
    But at first, glance looks like they integrated most of the features present in XP version 7.x into Vista now.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  2. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    well i tested their last beta for security-suite and my pc used to hang-up on logging off my pc.
    i had to manually reboot the pc and un-install it....dunno whether its fixed..:blink:
     
  3. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I don't understand something...

    It's my understanding that ZoneAlarm Extreme Security (which included both Forcefield bundled with there regular Suite) was pulled from beta testing because of some serious incompatibilities between ZoneAlarm Forcefield and the rest of the ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite.

    If the above is the case, then why would someone want to buy Forcefield and ZoneAlarm Internet Security separately? Because wouldn't those same incompatibilities still be there??
     
  4. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    From what I heard, ZoneAlarm Extreme Security had some integration between ZASS and ZAFF. That had some major issues.
    So they decided to make them as stand-alone and bundle them.
     
  5. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    And those issues don't exist anymore when installed separately? Sounds kinda strange to me.
     
  6. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Well, they are selling it !! So probably there aren't any major issues with ZASS and ZAFF stand-alone installation.
    Best you download a trial and check it for yourself, before committing.
     
  7. denniz

    denniz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Posts:
    431
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    :rolleyes: sorry I asked....
     
  8. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    No problem, everyone here at Wilders likes to chip in with whatever they know. If it helps, good.
     
  9. Fajo

    Fajo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2008
    Posts:
    1,812
    It has been stated more then once from ZA officially. that the ZAES will be back and will be beta tested Forcefield works fine when the products are sep they had some problems Intergrating it thats all mostlikely they will have to work the code of the 2 from the ground up. this is what seems like a tempoery fix untell they can release the intergrated version.
     
  10. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    So ZA Anti-Spyware is now history?
     
  11. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Yes, replaced by ZAPRO that does the same thing...
    In fact, IMO there was too little difference between the two so I guess not much sense to maintain two basically identical products.

    ZAAS license keys will work with ZAPRO 8

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  12. truthseeker

    truthseeker Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    977
    Is there a FREE Zonealarm version? If so, where can I get it please?
     
  13. QBgreen

    QBgreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    627
    Location:
    Queens County, NY
  14. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    By the way, the leak test 'supporters' should be happy... this version covers more leaks than before... probably ZAlabs tuned ZA to better show in Matousec black/white list... :)

    No...no... not PCflank test... :D

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  15. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    What I am more interested in is the "new scanning technology". Does the AS engine of ZoneAlarm now work full-time in both real-time and context menu scans, or is it still only used in full system on-demand scans as in version 7?

    And is the KAV SDK the same still in ZA 2009?
     
  16. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Post(s) removed.

    Please keep on topic. This is a thread concerning "ZoneAlarm 2009 Products released" not an A vs B thread.


    _ stem
     
  17. henryg

    henryg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Posts:
    293
    It's nice to see that the slight "hanging" problem at shut-down has been fixed... Overall, version 8 of Z.A. Pro is running exceptionally well.... Regardless of Matousec says. :)
     
  18. vijayind

    vijayind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Posts:
    1,413
    Don't know about the AS engine. But KAV SDK is same as in ZASS 7.x (AV engine is 6.0.2.678 )
     
  19. 337

    337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Posts:
    232
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    I just installed zass and like the new gui. However, I fail GRC cause of port 139 being open! I can set the slider to medium and it closes all ports and stealth's a few including 139o_O Weird.. Anyway to manually stealth 139 in zass with the slider set on high??
     
  20. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    I am not aware KAV has released a new SDK.
    They are working now to refresh enterprise products (there are still based on 6 technology) so I guess they may also soon upgrade the SDK. Meanwhile, SDK gets the usual constant driver updates.

    I think ZA AS is still only on-demand, on access antispyware is delegated to KAV.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  21. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I hope so; that SDK badly needs an upgrade....:)

    Frankly, I found it more than a little surprising that their enterprise and workstation products have still not been upgraded to the engine and technology of the home versions. If anything, I had expected those products to be the first to get such technology....
     
  22. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    IMO, its still exceptionally good. Otherwise KAV would not still sell their enterprise retail products with this technology ;)

    ... and then KAV is just one part of the ZA protection and you cannot assess the effectiveness of a security tool only based on one of its components.

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  23. oldshep

    oldshep Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Posts:
    139
    Only problem is ZA Pro costs double what ZAAS costs. And if you don't need the additional functionality of pro, its a waste of money. And a triple waste of money for me since I have ZAAS installed on 3 machines.
     
  24. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Ooops... I see.. probably time to move to a cheaper alternative? ;)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  25. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.